We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week trip to rome”
Review of Hotel Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Medici
Ranked #278 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I booked this hotel for a surprise birthday present for my wife, I wanted to be in a central location for visiting all the wonderful sights Rome has to offer without paying a fortune, also not to far to go of an evening for a good restaurant.
All I can say is it was absolutely perfect for us,10 min walk to the city centre 20min on foot to the Vatican and surrounded with restaurants in all the little side streets.
The room was fine clean and a small but working bathroom with clean sheets and towels every day, great breakfast with lots of choice.
Only down side is there where no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and the bar was only open between 4 pm 10.30pm,so if you had been out for a nice evening and fancied a quick night cap or a coffee before bed you were out of luck, otherwise we had a great time in Rome and would recommend this hotel to anyone
Tip restaurant La Locanda di Bacco is a 2 min walk down the street and it was fantastic you must try it
Hope this helps

Room Tip: Don't be put off when they say its a small room, we stayed in one and it was absolutely fine and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I were part of a tour group of 35. The hotel was clean and in a good location to our planned tours. The bed and pillows were not very good. Overall the rooms were very tight and difficult to navigate as bathroom door opened into the bed and unable to move past it when it was open. Venting in bathroom did not work so the door did need to be open. The pillows were flat and very hard (concurred with all travel mates opinion). Tried to use extra pillow but that was worse. 1st night of trip which was already very difficult to sleep we were woken (most members were woken) by loud inebriated men knocking on many doors. Breakfast was ok, but breakfast staff were clearly not satisfied with their jobs and did not make me feel comfortable.

Room Tip: Street side rooms can be noisy until about midnight as a nice little restaurant across the street en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmediciroma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment.
We are glad that you have judged our hotel clean and strategically placed. We apologize for the rudeness of some other hotel guest and we assure you that we will make the most of your suggestions to further improve the quality of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here with a group of 20. It wasn't too far from most of the sites in Rome. We walked all over the city. The rooms were fine for two of us. It was pretty close to the subway system. The breakfast was pretty basic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlebostongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel is located in a government/business area which makes it a fairly quiet location. There are restaurants everywhere with outside dining. It is 8-10 blocks to the major sites. Rome is a beautiful city to walk around in with history being everywhere. The staff was helpful with someone at the desk who spoke English every time I asked a question.

Room Tip: We had a triple room so it was spacious and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyN6415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel was good value for money. We enjoyed the location and managed to walk everywhere, even to the vatican (though this was an hours walk or so) as we were keen to soak up the sunshine. The staff were friendly, recommending us activities and restaurants, breakfast was typical continental fare and the room was clean. Excellent shower which included a built in seat - such a novelty! We were here for 5 nights and loved it. Only downside was the lack of English-speaking TV channels but the air con more than made up for it. Free wifi was brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollieK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We chose this hotel, because it's close to the Termini station and in the walking distance to many attractions. We spent 6 nights and had a pleasant stay overall. The room is very clean and spacious. The breakfast is sufficient with a wide selection. The staff is friendly and helped us to make our trip enjoyable. We will choose this hotel again if we had a change to visit Rome again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yosuke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Medici hotel is locate in very good place,
close to the center (about 10 minutes from Pazza Barberiny &15 min from Trevi Fountain )
The rooms are medium size, the bath is big and new.
The staff at the reception are helpfull and smily.
next to the hotel (next door) there's the best pizza in Rome "Pinsere"
dont miss this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oferu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ranieri
Hotel Ranieri
#307 of 1,271 in Rome
527 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Flavia
Hotel Flavia
#673 of 1,271 in Rome
601 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,271 in Rome
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#304 of 1,271 in Rome
611 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#91 of 1,271 in Rome
1,774 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Lilium Hotel
Lilium Hotel
#237 of 1,271 in Rome
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medici

Address: Via Flavia 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#278 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#290 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £57 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medici Hotel is the perfect hotel for visiting Rome: the building is close some of the major monuments of downtown, about 10-15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain, the Quirinal Palace, Villa Borghese and Via Veneto, the street well known for Fellini's movie "La dolce vita", symbol of "the sweet life" of stars and jet set personalities. The hotel is also close to Termini Station, then thanks to the Metro and public transport it is easily to reach anywhere else in Rome. The Medici Hotel offers to guests large and comfortable living rooms: the TV room, a comfortable meeting room for 8-10 people, the breakfast room where breakfast is served as a rich buffet breakfast (during the summer months it is possible to have breakfast in our beautiful outdoor garden). The rooms have every comfort (Wifi, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Laundry Service, Tv, Mini Bar, Room Service, Private Bathroom). The Medici Hotel is located within the Aurelian Walls, near the The Gardens of Sallust, a significant archaeological site: for this reason inside the hotel are visible some Roman remains found during the renovation works at the beginning of twentieth century. The area is lively and well served by bars, restaurants, pizzerias and shops during the day, it is quiet and peaceful at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medici Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing