We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not Great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Ranked #191 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed at the Royal Santina over the Christmas Holiday Season of 2013. The room was very modern and bed was comfortable with a fridge & good service. The hotel has very modern furniture but no drawers to put things in. Only the closet for clothes. The worst thing about this hotel was the shower. It has a tub and shower combo with NO curtain or glass for protection of water going outside the shower. Who would do something so dumb? Every time I showered the floor was soaked & drenched with water. I had to use a towel to wipe it up. Bad design. This really needs correcting. The breakfast was very good and fresh. The room was very on the small side but was nicely furnished. WiFi was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a Corner Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamond6Phoenix_AZ_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    498
    102
    21
    18
See reviews for
208
402
56
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelsonville, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Last year we stayed at Hotel Royal Santina for two days in December. We were not impressed and did not plan on staying at the hotel again. This year we were back in Rome and since the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean, we decided to give it another try. Our experience was once again unsatisfactory. The hotel feels modern and tries very hard to be upscale so the staff behave in a manner that is off putting and rude. When I complained to the hotel manager about a staff member, I was told that I didn't understand and was being treated that way for my own good. The room we stayed in was very, very small with out a tub, just a shower - Room 508. When we asked to move, they put us in a room just as small. This room had a terrible bathroom (mold included) with a tub only - Room 406. Lesson learned - if you are unhappy with this hotel, don't complain. Your stay will get worse. Next year when we return to Rome, we will not be staying at Hotel Royal Santina.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank athenscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear athenscou,
Thank you for having spent some time to write a review.
I sincerely regret to read you had some issues while staying at our hotel for which I apologize.
However, as you have not signed the review, it is not possible to trace your booking and understand what had actually occured.
Though, it is necessary to underline that our staff is most kind and helpful to the customers infact I find very hard to believe someone had acted caddishly to you because that's just not our standard.
That can be easily checked by reading other guests opinions on Tripadvisor.
I believe you might have perhaps been a little too harsh in your comment.
I remain at your disposal in the event you'd wish to contact me so to explain directly the discomfort you had suffered.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The BW Royal Santina is a very good hotel. It is completely renovated (modern and stylish). The room was very clean and comfortable. The lighting system (you can choose between standard white lighting, red, green or blue) is a nice extra. No negative remarks possible. The staff was very friendly and helpful, at the reception desk as well as in the bar and the restaurant. Breakfast was good (a lot to choose from). I also had a snack in the bar and I ate in the restaurant once. Both were very well and at reasonable prices. The location of the hotel is very good (close to Termini station). The station area itself might be a bit "scary" at night though. But at the hotel itself you notice nothing from this. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. In fact, I booked it again for my next trip myself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joris27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear joris27,
Many thanks for your nice review.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay here.
Hoping to have soon another occasion to welcome you, I'd like to wish you Happy New Year.
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Excellent setup, new and contemporary. The location is super convenient, just opposite the central station and airport shuttle bus is right at the door too. About 15mins walk to the nearest Metro line (Loretto). Very spacious room setup, and very comfortable. Very satisfy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fai Fai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Fai Fai L,
I am really content to read you were satisfied with your stay at our property and I thank you for your nice review.
Looking forward to see you again soon, I'd like to wish you Happy New Year!
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This hotel was definitely a good find and when in Rome, I would go there again! After travelling for many weeks, we wanted somewhere close to the train station so we didn't have to lug our bags too far and this hotel is nice and close. There is also a shuttle bus to the and from the airport outside the train station which is handy. We loved the rooms and thought they were beautiful! Lots of space and there were no complaints with any of the facilities. Breakfast was a good spread, can be a little busy, but there was ample food and it was pretty good too. We had one meal at the restaurant and that was pretty good too. Service was great and I couldn't fault them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brissyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear brissyell,
Many thanks for your lovely review.
Hoping to see you again soon, I'd like to take this opportunity to wish you Happy New Year.
Warmest regards.
Cinzia
BW Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

I surprised my partner to a long weekend away for his 30th. The lady who checked us in was helpful, polite and friendly. Location - good. Next to termini station, easy to find and didn't need to carry cases far! There are a lot of homeless people near this area (like kings cross in London)
Rooms were very nice, mood lighting very quirky, clean,tidy and fresh. Couldn't hear the noise outside. Bathroom was very nice.
Only area for improvement would be the breakfast (don't get wrong it was ok) selection is good, hot food could have been better. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelinspector121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Hotelinspector121,
Thank you for your comment and for the opinions and suggestions which we have really appreciated.
We look forward to another occasion to welcome you.
Wishing you a very Merry Christmas!
Warm regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
Best Western Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Writing this from my room now. The room is simply great and very comfortable! My room 318 overlooks the street which was really lovely. We love the modern design and to be able to change the color of the lightings. The bathroom is big with a nice partition between the shower/toilet bowl area and the basin area. This allows the use of the basin while another is bathing.

The hotel itself is just a stone throw away from roma termini. Very easy to locate! This really helps when you are leaving the crowded train station while dragging your luggages. No worries about losing your direction at all.

Great place. We would definitely want to stay here again the next time we are in Rome!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin_Lim79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Edwin_Lim79,
Many thanks for your lovely review.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed our lodging offer and the hotel location.
We are looking forward to another occasion to see you,
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#104 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Artdeco
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina

Property: BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Address: Via Marsala 22, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#130 Business Hotel in Rome
#142 Family Hotel in Rome
#165 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2011, the BWP Hotel Royal Santina is located near the Termini Railway Station, a short walk from the historic center of Rome, in a strategic position that allows you to better enjoy the atmosphere of Rome. The hotel has a convenient paid parking adjacent to the property. In rome historic centre, close to the main public transportation, with a short walk from the hotel is possible to visit some of the most interesting monuments and places such as the Baths of Diocletian, the Roman Museum, the Patriarchal Basilica of St. Mary Major, Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli and the Palazzo delle Esposizioni. Nearby there are shopping streets such as Via Veneto and Via Nazionale. The hotel offers 118 rooms ,equipped with all the comforts , which have a relaxing atmosphere thanks to a chromotherapy system with a customised lighting. The hotel pays special attention to disabled guests with equipment, rooms and dedicated services. The hotel also has a fitness center with natural light and the latest equipment and an outdoor patio with a smoking point. The bar and restaurant offer the opportunity to complete your meeting with personalized menus for every kind of guest. Menu for vegetarians and coeliacs are available. Wi-Fi is available and totally free in all public and private areas of hotel. THE BWP Hotel Royal Santina: the ideal location in a strategic position to organize national and international meetings in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Santina Rome
Royal Santina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing