We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Ranked #172 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice during trips to Rome. The first time my husband and I traveled as a couple during the peak summer season, and the second we traveled with my mother and our two small dogs during the low winter season. We have stayed in both the business traveler room and the junior suite, my mother stayed in a double single use room.

Rooms:
- very clean
- mood lighting (fun!)
- look just like pictures on hotel website
- moderately quiet
- one of the best rates/value in the city
- junior suite is perfect for traveling with pets, outdoor balcony was very convenient

Service:
- the front desk is helpful, but slow
- they will help take your luggage up to your room
- the first time we stayed they parked our car for us in the garage next door, but the second time we had to park it
- you can book tours through the hotel, although we do not recommend it (the first time we booked a Vatican tour through the hotel and the tour guide was late and disorganized, the second time we did a private tour and had a much better experience)

Transportation:
- we traveled to Rome by car both trips and the left it in the garage for the duration of our stay
- the hotel is across the street from the train station, bus stops, and taxi cabs

Surrounding area:
- many, many shops a five-ten minute walk from the hotel
- restaurants ranging from take away pizza and kebabs, to sit down cafes and restaurants (one of the cafes down the street has the best cannoli we've had in Italy!)
- some of the major sites are within walking distance (if you don't mind walking for 30-45 minutes), we walked to the Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese, and the Colosseum
- walking is an excellent way to see the city and the "real" Rome

Food:
- hotel breakfast is adequate, hot and cold options
- hotel bar serves snacks and drinks
- we dined at restaurants nearby and further into Rome for dinner

Negatives:
- no gym or pool

Room Tip: Junior suite perfect for traveling with pets
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tudoepossivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear tudoepossivel,
Thank you very much for your comment and for having given us the preference for your second stay in Roma.
I loved the details and the hints you've given in the review; I am certain they will be a big help to all travellers who are planning a visit to our beautiful city.
We look forward to your third visit and to have the opportunity to serve you and your family once again.
Arrivederci!
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Hotel was incredibly clean and modern. It was quite spacious and had amenities (such as a pillow menu!) which went above and beyond! The hotel was directly across from the train station, which unfortunately meant that there was not a lot going on around us and restaurants were quite limited. However, not a long taxi ride to the major sights and all in a walking distance (30mins to Colosseum). Major downfall of this hotel was the staff. In every hotel we stayed in, we were greeted when we walked through the door, every single time. However, even when we greeted the staff first, IN ITALIAN, they would often look at us, and look away!!! How incredibly rude. The only helpful staff member was the lady that answered the room service phone. Further, although breakfast was quite nice and had a great selection, the staff literally stood around talking to each other and did not refill the milk or eggs the entire time we were there! They didn't even set the tables properly and we had no napkins. The room service food was also quite a let down but they did go out of their way to make us a fruit salad (not on the menu) which was nice. Nice hotel overall, and would consider staying again if staff improved their attitudes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The light mood in the room was fun to play around, and comfortable bed. The breakfast selection was good.
The Hop On Hop Off main stop is right in the front of the hotel which made us so convenience to explore the city.
There were many restaurant near by and easy to go around.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rungsan_Hme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Rungsan_H,
Many thanks for your comment.
It's nice to know we have been able to come forward to your expectations.
Hoping to have again soon the pleasure to serve you, I remain
Yours faithfully,
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights, the staff were all friendly and helpful. The room whilst not big was nicely furnished with a great shower room complete with rain shower. Two things were particularly great, the location being right next to the termini ( railway station) was ideal for exploring Rome and the buffet breakfast was excellent, great for setting you up for the day and all the walking. Whilst in a busy area we experienced no noise whatsoever .....would thoroughly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Alan T,
Many thanks for your lovely review.
I am really pleased to read your stay was comfortable hence offering a nice and comfortable vacation.
Looking forward to welcome you again,
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, 2 mins walking distance from Rome terminal station (if u come out from the correct exit), very convenient location. Room is spacious with a large openable window. With escalator so you don't need to worry your luggage. Breakfast with lots of choices. Taste is fair but I feel it's comparable with most hotel in Italy. One comment is the room didn't serve a complimentary bottle water and no slipper provided.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Andy C,
Thank you for the comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad to read it was comfortable and up to your expectations.
I take this opportunity to inform you and all TripAdvisor readers that at our hotel slippers are provided on request to all our customers free of charge.
Looking forward to see you again.
Kind regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here for 5 days in june 2013, very good location,practically across the road from the main train and bus station, tour buses depart from the stand on the other side of the road, breakfast is nice lots of fresh fruit and cereals, the dinner menu seems nice but we found the food itself wasn't quite up to the standard of the many eateries outside, service was excellent as was the room spacious and clean,we had a problem with the window not shutting (probably my fault to be honest) but a chap came up within 10 mins to fix it, and did. we were able to leave our cases in a secure location after we checked out so we didn't have to lug them around on our last day and were even offered an umbrella on departure as it was hammering down with rain (on the understanding it would not be returned as we were leaving) every staff member had a smile and a greeting for us. The shower was awesome also, very powerful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Roscioli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear allan p,
Thank you for having spent some of your time to write a review about our property.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that we have been able to provide you a nice experience.
I have taken notice of your comment about the quality of the food served at our restaurant.
I was actually quite surprised as we have recently changed all our suppliers in order to offer the best quality possible.
However I thank you for having reported it, all the negative comments are important to us in order to improve our services and offerings.
I do hope there will be soon another chance to welcome you, in the meantime please accept
Best regards.
Cinzia
Guest Relations
BW Premier Royal Santina
Roscioli Hotels Group - Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Will be checking out today after a 3-night stay and honestly don't want to leave.

Modern, clean, comfortable, and an excellent location next to the Termini station, I have nothing but praises for this hotel.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The lady who checked us in was exceptionally nice and set a standard that was by and large upheld by other staff members.

The room was excellent, sporting the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on while on holiday, a bathroom with bath and rain shower; everything clean and new.

Breakfast offers a very ample spread and the wifi is free and speedy.

Highly recommended for anyone looking for comfort and convenience at a very reasonable cost. We will most definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simon James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#103 of 1,267 in Rome
3,081 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina

Address: Via Marsala 22, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#130 Business Hotel in Rome
#142 Family Hotel in Rome
#165 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £92 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2011, the BWP Hotel Royal Santina is located near the Termini Railway Station, a short walk from the historic center of Rome, in a strategic position that allows you to better enjoy the atmosphere of Rome. The hotel has a convenient paid parking adjacent to the property. In rome historic centre, close to the main public transportation, with a short walk from the hotel is possible to visit some of the most interesting monuments and places such as the Baths of Diocletian, the Roman Museum, the Patriarchal Basilica of St. Mary Major, Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli and the Palazzo delle Esposizioni. Nearby there are shopping streets such as Via Veneto and Via Nazionale. The hotel offers 118 rooms ,equipped with all the comforts , which have a relaxing atmosphere thanks to a chromotherapy system with a customised lighting. The hotel pays special attention to disabled guests with equipment, rooms and dedicated services. The hotel also has a fitness center with natural light and the latest equipment and an outdoor patio with a smoking point. The bar and restaurant offer the opportunity to complete your meeting with personalized menus for every kind of guest. Menu for vegetarians and coeliacs are available. Wi-Fi is available and totally free in all public and private areas of hotel. THE BWP Hotel Royal Santina: the ideal location in a strategic position to organize national and international meetings in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Santina Rome
Royal Santina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing