We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay here again.”
Review of Hotel San Giusto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Giusto
Ranked #1,088 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Will not stay here again.”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The best thing the Hotel San Giusto has going for it is its relatively convenient location. It is just steps from Metro line A, which runs directly to Termini station, the Colosseo and Circus Maximus. There is also a full-service supermarket (with a fantastic bakery and deli) just outside the hotel entrance, which was great for picking up snacks and bottled water.

Now the bad stuff. The room was TINY and very difficult to move around in, and while it had an ensuite bathroom with shower, it took over 5 minutes for the shower water to warm up. The room did have a private air-conditioner, which worked well. The cable tv is all Italian tv stations, with the exception of CNN in English. There was a good-sized fridge in the room, with plenty of room for non-mini-bar items. The room was not very clean -- it had a musty smell and every day, the maid left the windows open to air out the room.

We had problems at the very beginning with the Hotel San Giusto, which were sort-of fixed, but it was very frustrating. When I booked the room, I made sure to reserve a double-bed room. And my reservation stated on its face that it was a double bed room reservation. When I called to confirm, the hotel clerk said that it was a single twin bed room! After much arguing with the clerk, I thought it was resolved. Until I got there, and they told me that it was a 2 twin bed room, not the double bed room I had booked. Also, despite the fact that reservation states that check-in is at 1:00pm, they will not let you check-in until 2:30pm, which was a huge hassle. Every day there were guests in the lobby waiting to be able to check-in. The breakfast provided is plentiful, but average. They have bread, cold-cuts, cheese, sweet rolls, juice and coffee (often cold). Tables were often not re-set after earlier diners had eaten breakfast.

While the location was convenient, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsbchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    93
    126
    94
    62
See reviews for
39
89
57
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

As frequent visitors to Rome, my wife and I have just returned from another trip having stayed at the San Giusto for the 3rd time. Our last stay was over 5 years ago and I must admit that having read some of the bad reviews on this site, I was concerned that the hotel had changed during that period. I need not have worried.

We were also accompanied by our friends and when we arrived we were given two very comfortable rooms on the 4th floor. The rooms were clean and were cleaned daily. They had Air-Conditioning units and we kept our room at a very comfortable 21C throughout our 7-day stay whilst the Roman temperature soared to 32C by the end of the week. The double glazed French windows and the outside shutters kept the noise levels from the street to a minimum and therefore sleeping was not a problem.

Some of the staff at the hotel can be a little curt and this may come across as being rude to some guests, however I personally think that this may just be a "city phenomena" which I have also experienced in Paris and in my own hometown, London. Having said that, there is a charming gentleman receptionist called Fabio who is was extremely helpful and very friendly to us.

The San Giusto also provides a wonderful breakfast each day (from 7am to 10 am) in a clean and airy breakfast room. The lovely Signora who lays out the breakfast and makes tea and coffee for the guests, constantly replenishes any items that may have run out (even towards the end of service) She is another member of the team who is always polite and helpful to her guests. The breakfast buffet consists of cold meats; cheese; bread; yoghurt; eggs; cereal; fruit juice; fruit cocktail and the most wonderful cakes (cornetti).

My only complaint about the hotel is that there is no lift until you reach the 1st floor. We were offered the services of a bell boy but we managed to carry our cases to the 1st floor as the stairs are not steep. The corridors were always very hot on our floor but there were windows that could be open if needed.

When I return to Rome again I will have no hesitation in booking a stay at the San Giusto again.

Piazza Bologna is a heavily populated area, as is Rome in general but it is a nicer than the area around Termini where there are many other hotels. P. Bologna has quite a few restaurants, pizzerias and cafes nearby, so there are never a shortage of places to eat. The metro is very handy for getting into the centre and there are many bus routes which pass through the area. (However both the metro and buses get very busy so personal security must be a priority at all times)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony_orrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malverne, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I stayed here for several nights while on a tour of Italy. It is well situated in Rome, right near the subway station. There is great food just a short walk away, in almost every direction you go. The room was frequently cleaned, and well maintained. One warning, the elevator is only accessible from the second floor and up, which means that you have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs before you can reach it! That could be difficult for some people...

There is a nice terrace on the 4th or 5th floor that has some outdoor seating, and there is also some space on the roof of the building (accessible via elevator).

Overall, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImraanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

It certainly is good value for the money - room are ceaned daily, as it should be, the breakfast is nice and the lady serving it is really friendly. We read the reviewes before going and I am gratefu to the person who had written to try to be far from the elevator - he hadn't explained why, so we just took it - and thank God! :) because we found out that this strange elevator anounces in very high volume every time it reaches the first floor. :)
But otherwise the hotel is nice, clean, and the staff is friendly. We liked it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mira_minkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

On first entering the lobby there is a distinct smell of damp - it's an old building and renovation is patchy in places. If you like 60s decor then this is the place for you. The shower in the room didn't work properly - we had to wait 5 minutes for hot water to arrive and the cubicle didn't drain immediately. The room wasquite shabby with 60s bedspreads and as it was at the back of the hotel with a depressing view of tenements / pigeon droppings / cigarette butts down below. The door to the bedroom was slightly off its hinges with evidence of a botched diy job as an attempt at repair. Breakfast was really nothing special - no hotplate for coffee / hot water just one of those awful machines. Mini bar / fridge in room had some black mould - yuk We did have some drinks on first night and made a really careful note of what we'd used so I was really annoyed when I went to settle that they'd calculated slightly differently from us - I know it's just a couple of euros but it just seemed to sum up the place.
This is also the only hotel I've ever been to where they make you settle up in advance - now I can see why.
Staff are superficially polite but the thin veneer rubs off if you interrupt them at the wrong time or dare to complain about anything
My advice is shop around - there must be better than this for your money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hyperreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The room is small and very dirty. I can feel the dust on the table! also the carpet is very dirty with some dirty water. The air-conditioner was not working!!!! How to stay in Rome in summer with out air-conditioner, we argued with hotel, however, they rejected with very rude attitude. All these are not the large problem. The largest problem is that in the room, the ghost exits...I can really not belive what I experienced. When I was sleeping, the whole room shaked just like earthquake. At that time I though it was earthquake maybe and continued to sleep, however, it shaked again. i could not sleep anymore and went down with my bf and stayed the night in the lobby. The service person in the hotel said they did not have any spare room so we had to stay in the lobby. What a rubbish hotel.!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukgloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My 17 year old daughter and I stayed here for her graduation trip while in Rome. The night we arrived we were greeted by the moldy smell of the lobby and the smell of cigarette smoke everywhere in the hotel. The elevator wasn't working so we had to lug our suitcases up 2 flights of stairs and nothing but the lobby was air conditioned. The room was clean enough but the air didn't work very well. I brought this up to the night desk clerk and he was extremely rude and said " just turn it on and it will work"!

We got absolutely nowhere with him the entire time we were there. We actually observed him get quite angry with a guest because she was asking for directions to a restaraunt and he told her he didn't have time to help her and she was taking up to much of his time. We did get some help from the day clerk who gave us some direction and answered our questions. The water pressure in the shower was terrible, the selection of breakfast food was quite odd. It was very hot while we were there and the maid would turn the air off everyday while we were out so the room would be quite hot every time we returned.

The only good thing about this hotel was the location to the metro and the Gelatoria that was about 3 blocks away. I would NEVER stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tattoolady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Laura
#636 of 1,258 in Rome
290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Siviglia
Hotel Siviglia
#949 of 1,258 in Rome
263 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bled
Hotel Bled
#983 of 1,258 in Rome
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#972 of 1,258 in Rome
325 reviews
Monti
Hotel Edera
Hotel Edera
#771 of 1,258 in Rome
391 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,065 of 1,258 in Rome
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giusto

Property: Hotel San Giusto
Address: Piazza Bologna 58, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,088 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giusto 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Giusto is located next to Piazza Bologna Metro Station, 3 stops from Termini Station and 5 stops from the Coliseum. It offers rooms with minibar and air conditioning. Outside San Giusto you will find several bus stops, which allow direct connections to Villa Ada and the shops of Corso Trieste and Piazza Fiume. San Giusto Hotel also has a bar, 24-hour reception and a TV lounge. Breakfast is a continental buffet. Piazza Bologna is a great choice for travelers interested in monuments and ancient sites, historical and art centers, but also for food and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Giusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giusto Hotel
San Giusto Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing