We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Kent Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kent Hotel Rome
Ranked #496 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Choose this hotel if you are looking for a reasonable price and a good location - in the sense of not too touristy but near enough to the sights.

The area around the hotel, near Porta Pia, is authentically Roman - nearby you can enjoy an expresso at a "Tea Room", an ice cream at a "gelateria" or look on bemused as the waiters at the local "Trattoria" disappear to watch the replay of a goal AS Roma has just scored. This is the authentic experience, a hint of real Rome, and I'd recommend that to any traveller. For all this, Piazza Repubblica is just 15 minutes' walk away and a bus will have you at any of the Colisseum, the main station (Termini) or the Vatican in half an hour.

As for the hotel itself, it has good and bad points. On the good - the receptionist was very good at directing us to the sights and advising on public transport; the information was good; the basics in the room were fine (a minibar for a hotel of this size is a plus). On the bad - the whole place is very compact (ok, it's small!); there is barely space to walk around the bed and the bathroom is small; the breakfast room is tiny and, on occasions, you need to wait for service (that said, there is an advantage to this as we got to chat to other guests and compare tourist notes); the television is also small and (as of October 2012) offers only Italian channels. Also, our view was terrible, there was no hint of WiFi, and the bed was a rock.

Nevertheless, I would recommend it on balance, particularly if you will be doing a lot of walking around Rome (in which case you won't need a TV and you won't notice the bed!) - I feel our visit to Rome was greatly enhanced by being able to see the sights (we feel we saw everything we wanted to see in our 72-hour stay, so the hotel is certainly close enough to accomplish that) while staying at a fairly authentic inner-city location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

After reading few less than favourable reviews over Internet, I had mixed feelings coming to this place. But it turned out to be very nice hotel, spacious room, quiet surroundings. Free but a bit slow Internet access. There is no parking space in the hotel, but they have agreement with the garage nearby. Breakfast is typical Italian one, which means almost no breakfast, however coffee is excellent. At the time Kent had very reasonable prices, but it is not in the centre and connection to the old city takes a while. Bathroom and especially shower is very small, but for short stay it is possible to survive :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

It´s a very nice hotel, big and clean rooms, with everything you want from a 3 stars hotel. But what is really fantastic of this hotel is the excellent attention from the people who works there, they made us feel at home. We really enjoy staying in this hotel, the distance from the city centre is not a problem, it´s not so far away from it and you have buses that can take you there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santiago T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stumbled on this place by mistake, and I am really glad that I did. It is just outside the city center but only a 15/20 min. walk (with luggage) from Termini Station. The surrounding neighborhood is clean, friendly and quiet. You will see more locals in the restaurants and streets than tourists. I preferred this type of location to the tourist crowded "fake" areas of Roma.

Our room was nice and the front desk agent, Alessandru, was really great to us. He had no problem moving beds around to accommodate three of us, fixing a late breakfast and cafes or even sitting down and chatting.

The room rates were very good, especially if you are staying more than one night, and the rooms were very clean, spacious and had air conditioning. Don't be afraid that it is not in the exact center of Roma, the neighborhood is safe and it is not to far to the nearest metro. We just walked everywhere and were fine. Despite being very familiar with Roma, Alessandru was quick to give us advice on things to do and how to get there. he spoke English well (and other languages). The staff members were very kind and helpful.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Kent to anyone looking to escape "tourist trap" hotels and environs. It is worth it just for Alessandru!!!

I usually stay with my friends who live in the city, but whenever I need to stay at a hotel, I will definitely go back to Hotel Kent. If possible make a late night trip to the nearby town of Frascati, for some of the best porchetta in the world.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is not in the center of rome, but it's calm and public transports aren't far away. The staff is very nice & helpful and they speak a good english; they gave us really good advices about bus lines, booking etc.
The room is a little small but well equiped (minibar, air conditionner...) and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dupont N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We went to Rome in October 2011. We were by our travelagency promiced a hotel in the center of Rome, and a 3 star hotel. Kent Hotel was not in the center of rome, its barly in the map of the center of Rome, and you should expect almost 30 minutes by bus, or 15-20 minutes by taxi to get to the "real" center of Rome. We did not experience this hotel to be a 3'star hotel.

The people who worked at the hotel was really helpful. They did not speak good english, but were able to understand and speak in a such matter that we also understood what they tried to say. They explained how to get to the different parts of the city, and wrote down which bus to take where.

The rooms were fine. Clean, relatively big, nicely decorated, and a ok bathroom with hairdryer. The beds were hard as rocks. There was a small TV, with only italian channels. -But who travels to Rome to watch TV anyway? ;) The area was quiet, and there was no noice in the hotell during our stay.

The free WIFI did not work in the 3.floor where we had our room. So if you are depending on having free internet-access, you should ask to get a room in the 1. or 2. floor.

The breakfast was the worst part of this hotell. Cold coffie, toast, dry crossaints, jam and nutello. We only ate breakfast one morning during our stay, and I reccomand you to order without breakfast. (If you are staying at a B&B in Rome, you have to pay 3 euro/night/person in tax. You must pay directly to the hotel when you are leaving). The breakfast was not worth it.

All in all, I reccomand a hotell closer to the center of rome so you don't have to use so much time on transportation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnicely190499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spend 3 nights i Hotel Kent and was met by a very accommodating staff in the 100 years old building. The rooms were clean, the beds good and the bathrooms very modern with all amenities neccesary. We loved the fact that the hotel is placed in a residential area because there are lots of reataurants, trattorias and gelaterias.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the back of the building which meant it was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Apogia Lloyd Roma
#312 of 1,272 in Rome
548 reviews
Porta Pia Hotel
#569 of 1,272 in Rome
81 reviews
Testaccio
Crossroad Hotel
Crossroad Hotel
#594 of 1,272 in Rome
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#174 of 1,272 in Rome
922 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#223 of 1,272 in Rome
698 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#200 of 1,272 in Rome
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kent Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent Hotel Rome

Address: Via Reggio Emilia 71 | Piazza di Porta Pia, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #496 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kent Hotel Rome 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kent Hotel is a nice and quiet 3 stars hotel near the famous place of Porta Pia.Surrounded by a pleasant ambiance, the hotel is located in a peaceful neighborhood, filled with elegant restaurants and villas with gardens, convenient for reaching the major sights of the capital. In front of the hotel is situated the Museum of Contemporary Art,Macro. Our hallmark is the cleanliness of the rooms enriched by a machine that sanitizes the environment by uploading ozone to eliminate it from all forms of bacteria , and make rooms more accessible to an audience that has allergic people. The health of our clients first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kent Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing