We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in Rome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aphrodite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aphrodite Hotel
Ranked #445 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long weekend in Rome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Checked into the Aphrodite Hotel for my girlfriend's 30th birthday in Rome. Whilst we took a conscious decision to spend a little less on the accommodation so we could spend more on going out, despite this we were not very impressed with the Aphrodite Hotel. The location is fine, and the hotel is perfectly functional. However that is about all I can say for this hotel. The room was clean but very basic (certainly not 4*, maybe 3* at a push). The breakfast was basic to say the least- we found that where was an extremely limited choice of food and we had to keep asking for more to be brought out when things ran out as the staff did not top up very quickly. The staff did their job but certainly no real customer service focus. Overall, I would say the hotel is OK, but personally I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 659chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    293
    211
    52
    53
See reviews for
126
270
75
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just opposite Termini Station. An excellent location if you need to take a train to visit other italian cities, as We did. We got the suite on the 6th floor and very pleased to have a jacuzzi bath after a day walking and visiting Rome. Nice staff and good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

In Via Masala which is directly opposite Rome Termini (the main Rome Station), this is perfectly located if you are intending to travel on by train or want to get the bus to the Airport - again right outside the door. There is a big difference in the single to double room, so unless you are happy in a small space where you could almost touch both walls, then I would book a double.
You can walk to pretty much everywhere from here or just pop out the door and take the metro which only costs EU$2.50 for a 2 hour ticket and stops at all major attractions (Trevi, Spanish Steps, St Peters, The Colosseum, etc).
There is a Despar supermarket in the station complex, which makes it perfect for picking up wine, cheese and everything else you may want.

Room Tip: As its opposite the Rome main station (Termini), you can walk to pretty much everywhere from here or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CzechSkippyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The only plus for this hotel is its great location, which is just opposite to Termini Station Exit A. You can also get all other public transport if you step out of the hotel .Forum, Palatine Hill and Colosseum area, Spanish Steps or Trevi Fountain are within walking distance.

Rooms are definitely small but, equipped with modern furniture, TV, minibar, electronic safe, direct dial telephone and hair dryer. Internet connection is not available in the rooms. The corridors were too narrow and there were lots of twists and turns to reach the room.

The hotel serves a complimentary buffet breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, ham, pastries, croissants, apple juice, milk, tea, coffee etc. Hotel has a 24hrs coffee/snack bar. A bar/lounge is also open for drinks. There are plenty of restaurants and bars on the same street.

The staff were not that friendly, especially at the reception, however check in and checkout were easy.

I might be staying here again for it’s great location If you are spending a longer holiday in Rome, I would recommend some other place away from the hustle and bustle of the city. For the small rooms and average staff, I won’t rate this hotel as 4star.

Room Tip: Rooms by the side of the road can be bit noisy and disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The room was a little bit small, but it´s fine anyway. The noisy was a strong, due to the Hotel is close to Termini Station. Maybe they have to change the windows for others more strong againts noisy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Borja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

A very basic but comfortable hotel, recently re-decorated. The beds are VERY firm which was great for us. Breakfast was lovely and varied, buffet style. Staff were polite, very helpful and conversed in a number of different languages. We had a triple room (302) which had a fantastic little 'nook' for the 3rd bed - great for our 12 year old to have her own space and privacy for mum and dad too! Immediately outside the Termini (main train & metro station), Bus station next to it too so brilliant hotel for transport links. Don't bother with the tour bus in Rome though - expensive, poor quality audio and traffic in Rome is a nighmare and the city is great on foot / metro.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I spent two nights at this hotel last week and found it to be an excellent location. It is less than two minutes walk from Termini. The hotel is basic, but clean and welcoming. The rooms are functional but spotless, although it would have been good to have a kettle. The breakfast is good with reasonable selection of items, pastries, cake, ham, eggs, toast, tea, coffee, juice. It is not a hotel designed for guests to be spending lots of time in their rooms, but a perfect base from which to check out all the sights of Rome. My only downside was the fact that my room was at the top of the stairs and it was a little noisy with people coming and going, particularly as the corridors and hallways are not carpeted. Overall, a good hotel and I would consider returning.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms directly at the top of the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#273 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#334 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gioberti
Hotel Gioberti
#653 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,084 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#116 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#173 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Hotel

Property: Aphrodite Hotel
Address: Via Marsala 90, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Aphrodite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aphrodite
Aphrodite Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing