We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, neighbourhood restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lo Convento

Lo Convento
Ranked #1,146 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: US$13 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, neighbourhood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Lo Convento was recommended to us by staff at our hotel (Pulitzer) as its nearby and pretty good. Its a little hairy to get to it you're walking (you basically have to walk down a slip road) but its a friendly, family oriented place with reasonably priced good food. I had the fettucini with mushrooms with roman artichoke on the side, both of which were excellent, and my wife had the fried calamari, which were frozen so a little chewy but with good flavour and the spinach with butter and parmesan, which she didn't care for but I loved!

With dessert (pannacotta) and a couple of large bottles of water it all came to around €43 which is pretty reasonable for Rome!

The only downside was the service which was 'relaxed', lets say. But that was partly because there only seemed to be 4 waiters in action for a big place that was soon packed out. And waiting to be told what was for dessert does give you plenty of time to digest your main course.

Overall, then, the food was good, the atmosphere was great and so what if it takes a little longer to get the bill. Or the bread …!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SRDFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    235
    103
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal when you dont feel like going into Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Found this "little" place one night where we dint feel like going all the way into center of Rome, exceptionally good value and decent meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kritrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
“Excellent Italian dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Excellent Italian dishes
pizza, meat, fish and various types of pasta served by waiters called cappuccino.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bad service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited the restaurant based on the reviews on trip advisor. It started well the house wine was ridiculously cheap €5 for the bottle! The drinks and bread which we ordered came out straight away then my main came out, which was pizza. My husband ordered the sea food risotto.. I had started mine (after waiting until i could wait no more as it would have been cold) and finished and still no main for my husband, the waiter came over and asked 'anything else?' I said my husband hasn't even received his main! No apology was offered and then 30 minutes after my pizza was served then finally the risotto arrived! Even though the food was lovely the service was shockingly bad! My advice for any couples would be don't bother visiting here unless you plan to eat separately

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsCrossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food and Cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

My Mom and I discovered this restaurant by chance as we were walking near the area of our hotel. The restaurant is a traditional family Italian restaurant. The food is good and the service is excellent. We paid almost half the bill we paid on other restaurants we dined in down town near the Spanish steps (the tourist’s district) and the food is as good as the others if not better. We went again the second night and we had same good experience…

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KhalidAfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lo Convento also viewed

 

Been to Lo Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing