We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Rome”
Review of Villa Irlanda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Irlanda
Ranked #97 of 1,118 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Tyrone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Rome”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

As the others have said, this is a wonderful place to stay! The area is quiet and relaxing and yet is very centrally located. The Vatican, Spanish Steps, Colosseum and Forum are all within walking distance.

The rooms are nicely decorated and the en-suites are very large. With tea and coffee facilities all day, what more could you wish for....

The biggest attraction of Villa Irlanda is the staff. Alison assisted by Chiara are extremly pleasant, helpful and friendly.

I got married in the Bapistry of St. John Lateran, and Alison was there every step of the way helping to provide recommendations for musicians, drivers, hair, make up, florists, organising tickets for the Audience with the Holy Father, booking restaurants , the paperwork and everything else!

My guests loved their stay and we will all be recommending friends and family to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TyroneCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This accommodation is a hidden gem, a truly tranquil place in the heart of the bustling city! A five minute walk to the colosseum and five minute walk to the nearest underground station. A relatively big room, a substantial en-suite and tea and coffee making facilities any time if the day. What more could you want in Rome?? It's very good value too and the staff are ultra friendly! There is also a swimming pool for use during the summer months. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Róisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai,United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Love this place, safe & secure, very pretty and clean and inviting. Lemon and Orange trees pave the high walls surrounding the property, grounds itself stunning. Rooms basic but clean and cosy. Tea & Coffee making facilities very handy after a day of trecking around Rome. It was the perfect place to get married! Location absolutely perfect, Coloseum right on your door step and a 2 minute walk to the Lateran Palace/ San Giovanni Laterano. Will be back! Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bananaireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, UAE
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in the run up to and just after our wedding which was also organised through the Irish College. Alison was very helpful throughout all the planning and everything went perfectly! Our families were able to stay at Villa Irlanda for the few days as well and took over the place, which was appreciated! There is a swimming pool which is open seasonly and a tennis/5 a side court which they have equipment for.
The rooms are simple but well appointed and clean.
There is a nice continental breakfast on offer and tea and coffee available throughout the day.
As other reviewers have said, perfectly located and peaceful haven while not being too far away from the hustle and bustle.
A big thank you to Alison and Chiara who were superstars and looked after all our requests, from booking the church, booking cars to and from the airport and a bus to take the trip on a vatican tour, flowers for the wedding and even a wheelchair rental for my granny!

We will be back and we will be recommending to others!
See you soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minmaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is one of the true hidden gems of Rome. The Irish College has spent a great deal of time, effort and money in converting this old convent to a modern, comfortable and extremely convenient home away from home. The facilities include a swimming pool, tennis court and five aside football pitch. The rooms are generously sized with lofty ceilings and large windows which open onto the gardens. In the morning the birds provide a lovley spectacle in the tall trees in the grounds. The staff couldn't be more helpful.

There are many fine restaurants in the environs, the colloseum being about seven minutes walk away (downhill). St John Lateran is just around the corner and I would commend the little electric busses which leave Lateran Square and conduct you to the Spanish steps in about 15 mins.

The Villa is an ideal location to stay in Rome - and very good value! I hope t be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chevalierjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Had great few days in Villa Irlanda. Was recommended the place by a friend who has often stayed there. Loction was great, as was quiet as well as being not too far from the centre. A very handy bus service was close and buses leaving very frequently. We were meant to spend just 2 first nights in a cottage (Cottage Catriona), because the rooms were booked out. It was a more expensive option as there was only 2 of us, but it was very nice. But as they had a cancellation for the cottage for our last 2 nights, Allison gave us the cottage for the same price as rooms would have cost for 2 last nights. Thanks a million for that!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aranhelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

On the recommendation of a friend we booked Villa Irlanda for a 4 night stay in Rome and we weren’t disappointed. Access to the Villa is via a side gate, accessible by residents only, behind the Irish College which is approximately 5 minutes walk from the Colosseum. Although the villa does have a religious flavour you don’t have to be a Catholic to stay here – it simply offers a calm and peaceful facilities in a very busy city.
We were warmly welcomed by Giorgio and were shown to our nicely appointed air conditioned room with small ensuite, large, comfortable bed, writing desk, fridge and a wardrobe with a safe. There is free wireless internet and it works well in the room with a decent speed. TV was also available in the room but surprisingly there was absolutely no English speaking news channel. Breakfast was plain but fresh and plentiful and access to tea and coffee making facilities was available to guests 24 hours a day. The grounds are lovely, well tended, and there is an outdoor pool (not available in November even though temperatures in Rome were equivalent to a pleasant summer’s day in Ireland!)
We found it to be a very good location for sightseeing as the hop-on hop-off buses all stop at the Colosseum and there’s a great little bus (No. 117) which travels from Piazza di San Giovanni to the Spanish Steps and runs until the early hours of the morning. There were plenty of places to eat nearby and there was also a little Carrefour Express store at the Colosseum end of the street where you can purchase items that can be stored in your fridge.
We would love to return to Rome and would certainly stay in Villa Irlanda again and have already highly recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#365 of 1,261 in Rome
417 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,165 of 3,691 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,738 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,261 in Rome
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Irlanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Irlanda

Property: Villa Irlanda
Address: via san quattro nr Irish College | nr San Giovanni Laterno, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 1,118 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing