We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location”
Review of Hotel Abruzzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abruzzi
Ranked #52 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location, location”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I am about to leave Hotel Abruzzi after a brilliant 5 night stay. I asked for a rom with a view of the Pantheon - got room 304 which has direct views that I can see from my bed. The room is neat and more spacious than I was expecting with a comfortable double bed. The shower is small but is to be expected. Breakfast is at a small cafe in the square and is ncluded in the price. I filled up each morning on eggs, fruit, pastries and juice and was good for a large part of the day. The square is quiet in the morning so perfect to just sit and look at the Pantheon! The staff are brilliant both Antonio and Simone helped with any of my questions and were great at directing me to see different things. Although there is lots of noise in the square the windows block out 90% anyway so you can sleep when you need or open them up to hear the world below - great to just people watch! The free wifi was brilliant!
Best location as I haven't used taxis or public transport once everything you would want to see is within a 10-20 min walk and you see amazing buildings, shops or things you didn't realise we're in Rome along the way.
Walk early in the morning to the Trevi Fountain or Piazza Navona great without the crowds!
I'd come back and stay in Hoel Abruzzi again!

Room Tip: Ask for a Pantheon view - on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinksy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    262
    57
    25
    10
See reviews for
234
500
60
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Great location in Rome. Right next to the pantheon and central to all the sights. Rooms are small but that Is expected. Very clean and cool at nights. Not convinced we got the best deal on price but would still stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for 1 night before cruise and 2 nights after cruise! We stayed at the actual hotel (across from The Pantheon) and the view from our window was amazing. Room was small but comfortable. Upon our return we were sent to the "Annex" which is not far
from the hotel but in a narrow very busy street in a building that was right above a great restaurant but there was no elevator and we were on the 2nd floor. Rooms (1 of 2) were big, newly renovated and a/c was functional. My real complaint is that the price for hotel, annex 1 and annex 2 are the same. Surely the inconvenience should be somehow taken into account.
As far as location though - right in the center of everything and walking distances to many of the
wonderful things to see in Rome!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UNHAPPY0146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here about a year ago and whilst the location was good, I felt this place was a bit too overpriced. The room we had was incredibly small, and the bathroom even smaller. The rooms were dated and felt rather claustrophobic. The hotel itself was small, and because the walls are thin you can hear anyone walking past your door and their entire conversations. The real winner is the location but besides that I'll probably look for some place larger for more breathing space next time I visit Rome.

Room Tip: Use the internet sparingly, turn off your wifi when you aren't using it to conserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eXmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I agree with all of the reviews about the location. It's hard to beat. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Valentina. We had a view facing the pantheon. I highly recommend it. The daily breakfast was just ok. Sometimes the eggs were very dried and the juice seemed to be at room temperature. The reg and chocolate crossiants were hard to beat.
The pantheon area is a busy area. The music is really nice from the musicians. We read a lot of reviews that mentioned how thin the windows were at hotel abruzzi. Well, we stayed on the second floor and it wasn't bad at all. We would definitely come back and stay at this hotel.
The Internet is very good.
One more thing I'm not sure what's going on with hotel Abruzzi's air condition. It seems like they are on timers. In the middle of the night it was always off. I had to turn it on again. This happened for 7 nights. Also when we leave the room and return 3 hours later it would be hot again in the room. That was my only big negative complaint. It was definitely not that big of a deal since it cooled off pretty quick.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family of 6 stayed at the Hotel Abruzzi July 2013 and were thrilled with our decision. The location was beyond belief. We were literally steps from the Pantheon and walking distance to everything you could possibly want to see. It was located in a charming little square with a beautiful fountain... picture perfect! The hotel was small, quaint and lovely. Very authentic. We arrived early in the morning and Simone was kind enough to let us store our bags until the room was available. We booked a quad room (for 2 adults, 2 teenagers) which was a good size. And the bathroom had a shower stall which was a plus. The shuttered windows opened up to the most beautiful view of the Pantheon and the charming street below. You could look out the windows for hours. My parents had a superior double and were quite pleased as well. You do have to carry your bags up one flight of stairs to where the lift is (but Simone and staff were very willing to help us). There was free wifi (which the kids loved) as well as a nice buffet breakfast that was served at a little café right on the square just a few feet from the hotel. It was lovely and hit the spot right before our early morning tour. If you want a real taste of Italy with the most spectacular views of the Pantheon and good service... the Abruzzi Hotel is a great choice. Thanks again to Simone and his staff. J. Foster

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My family and I stayed here on a short break and I have to say it was excellent. The location of the hotel is second to none, opening the windows and shutters in our room gave us a view that was quite simply breath taking. The staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Although breakfast is taken in a restaurant across from the hotel, this was not a problem as it was a lovely way to spend each morning looking out over the square and Pantheon and the food was plentiful and delicious. The rooms were lovely and clean and having air conditioning was an absolute blessing. At night the square was very busy, with music and tourists but the noise was never a problem because as soon as you closed the windows, you couldn't hear a sound. I would highly recommend Hotel Abruzzi to anyone travelling to Rome. An absolutely wonderful experience. A very big thank you to all at Hotel Abruzzi.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite small so if you want more space then I would recommend that you request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,553 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,261 in Rome
774 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#124 of 1,261 in Rome
1,071 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,261 in Rome
1,198 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,261 in Rome
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abruzzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abruzzi

Property: Hotel Abruzzi
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Rome
#109 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abruzzi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing says Rome like this view! Open your window at Albergo Abruzzi and you are greeted by one of Rome’s most famous landmarks, the Pantheon.Set in the heart of the historic centre, this hotel is ideal for those of you who really want to get a feel of Rome. The historic building is typical of those found in this area. It now features modern facilities, including Wi-Fi access throughout.Breakfast is an American buffet and is served in a local bar.The friendly team of staff at Albergo Abruzzi are always on hand to provide helpful tips and tourist information. This fantastic location means you are just a short stroll away from Piazza Navona and the exclusive shopping area around the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Abruzzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abruzzi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing