We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Ranked #117 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We're traveling with a young child and decided on this hotel based on other family reviews. We got a triple which was perfect for us. For a big city the room was very nice. We had no issue with air conditioning and the room was very comfortable. The location is perfect. You can walk anywhere. They have breakfast but it didnt seem very appetizing. Our only complaint was the staff was lacking. They seemed just bothered if you asked them anything. They were never rude but just not very friendly. I understand the language barrier can be an issue, and I understand city attitude but in an international hotel you would think that would not be the case, and it was, more than once. That being said, I wouldn't not stay here again. I just wouldn't ask the staff for recommendations or help.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank travelinwithbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were a large family traveling together - 8 adults - 1 toddler. We booked a triple room and the family room. The triple room was a standard hotel room. It was clean, comfortable, modern. The family room was a bedroom (with a king bed) and then 2 single beds in the living room area. We were provided a portacrib for our daughter which had fresh linens. The family room had a terrace that was fantastic. We were able to have a glass of wine and gather outside rather than being crowded in a room. The room was also clean and modern and the shower was phenomenal. The location can't be beat. In a quiet area, but tucked right behind the Pantheon and a few blocks from Piazza Navona.

The staff here was friendly and helpful. On our first day in Italy, our daughter woke up jet lagged and grouchy and wanted milk - the front desk worker was so kind and went into the kitchen to fill her sippy cup with milk even though breakfast wasn't being served yet.

I would say that the concierge could probably step up a bit with having tours and activities info more available. We wanted to book some tours and a) the front desk said they didn't have any info (maybe a language barrier on my part?) and b) by the time I realized the concierge did indeed have tour info, I'd already popped into the Hotel Minerva next door and they had more info available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The Santa Chiara is a nice Hotel perfectly located for exploring the city by walking in the Heart of Rome. Rooms are pretty quiet compared to city center standards. Some Rooms in front have a beautiful church view. Still the Rooms are getting old and need some makeover. Breakfast Room with no windows, but good quality food and variation. Lobby is nice and even has a small terrace to the piazza. Guys at the Lobby could be more friendly.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davemuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel has one star less than the memorably dreadful Hotel Genio (of the Leonardi Group) where I stayed two years ago. Prices are pretty much the same however, for better quality. The location is ideal, behind the Pantheon, but on a relatively quiet street, in a beautiful ex-convent building - not that you notice this in the spotless but average rooms. Staff is friendly and helpful; breakfast plentiful and served nearly the whole morning, with very bad reservoir coffee - but you can order better Italian coffee from the waiters. Upon my arrival in the evening, my room - on one of two cortiles - smelled of sewer. Opening the windows was a relief, but sleeping like that proved impossible because of a noisy airconditioning machine outside. The one inside is not quiet either and blows cold air right into your bed. Staying there in summer must be a problem, and whoever likes to sleep with an open window should avoid the rear rooms of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jarnefelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

A nice welcome, the staff speaks differents languages and give good advises to enjoy Rome.

Beautiful hotel and room, generous breakfast and a pretty good service.

The location is perfect if you want to visit Rome on foot.

This hotel has contribute to spend a great stay !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We started off our holiday in Rome and were thrilled with the hotel especially the location.
We stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly.
A few days after leaving I discovered I had left a small mirror behind (it was quite special)
I emailed the hotel asking if it was found. They did find it and mailed it to me in Florence, taking great care with the packaging they even phoned the hotel to check if it arrived. There were a few emails back and forward, I was very impressed with the care and attention given to my property. So thank you Federica for the exceptional service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

I went on a class trip and this was the first hotel we stayed in. And the best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. It was SO good! The rooms were quality. The bathrooms were nice and it was just a plain and simple kind of boring hotel. But amazing location. Also service was wonderful! It was a little weird how there were so many different elevators that was confusing but other than that it was great:)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,269 in Rome
1,015 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#110 of 1,269 in Rome
1,583 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,269 in Rome
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,269 in Rome
1,566 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara

Address: Via di Santa Chiara 21, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Rome
#137 Family Hotel in Rome
#184 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £129 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who we are The history of the Albergo Santa Chiara begins in 1939. At the first it was a "wine-shop" then changed into a small inn, enlarged in the following years, the 10 rooms of the first days have become now 96, distributed in 3 adjoining buildings. In one of them is located the Saint Catherine from Siena's Chapel. The old lobby, on the contrary, has become a theatre. You can't miss a short chat at one of the table of our open-air bar, quiet and private, that overlooks the Minerva Square. The most affectionate guests love the wide and classic styled rooms, younger prefers the modern and high-tech ones. The hotel service is impeccable, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. You will find this is a friendly, relaxed hotel that will make you feel right at home. The hotel has been in the same family ownership for nearly a century. The ground floor hall has seen the proclamation of the Popular Party by Don Sturzo, the rooms have counted the steps of Noble prizes such as Amartya Sen, Franco Modigliani and clergy men later be became Popes, politicians then elected Republican President, philosophers, artists, writers from Fogazzaro to Sartre to Banana Yoshimoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Santa Chiara Rome
Albergo Santa Chiara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing