We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Ranked #129 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a gem of a hotel!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We wanted to stay in the Centro Storico and found the Albergo Santa Chiara on Trip Advisor. Not as expensive as many others in the area but every bit as good. Tucked in behind the Pantheon, one of our favourite buildings in the world, it could not have been more convenient. We had a lovely big room, spotlessly clean with extremely comfy bed. Room to move around and we didn't need a view as we were out all day. Breakfast was very good and the staff helpful and friendly. My husband left his computer power cord behind the desk and the hotel posted it back to Australia for us at no extra charge - now that's what I call service. We'll stay again when we return to Rome.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have a view of the inside courtyard - try for one on the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    321
    75
    24
    6
See reviews for
176
257
67
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our travel agent booked us into this hotel for 3 nights in late September 2013. The best thing about the hotel was the location near Piazza Navona and within walking distance to historic sites, shops and restaurants.The room was spare but very clean. The breakfast was adequate, and on request they'll make you a capuccino. However, the front desk personnel was not friendly or accomodating. A request to change a large (100) euro note met with 'We have no change', an unacceptable response for a business hotel in a major city. A gelato shop in the area was able to do this upon purchase. When we checked in, we attempted to confirm that our room (superior) had a shower of some type, which had been requested when the reservation was made.The front desk personnel waffled on this, saying "yes', but upon inspection, the room only had a tub. Thus we were unable to check in for several hours until they could get us a room with a shower. I'd also suggest requesting rooms in the main portion of the hotel, as there is an annex that requires multiple stairs and elevator trips to reach the rooms, not at all convenient for hauling luggage or for those with physical impairments.

There are many hotels in Rome with greater charm and hospitality. If you are traveling for business, this is an adequate choice. If you are looking for more atmosphere, charm, ambiance, and an accomodating staff, make a different selection.

Room Tip: On booking, request a room in the main part of the hotel, not in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviaava08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Santa Chiara this past September. The service is impeccable, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. The shower was a little tight in our bedroom but all else was fine. The bellboys are helpful, extremely courteous and they smile no matter how heavy your bags are. Great, friendly staff at this hotel. They provide a hearty and well laid out breakfast and they have a nice outdoor patio for relaxing at the end of the day. The location of Santa Chiara a just a few blocks from the Pantheon and many local piazzas to find great restaurants. I would plan on staying there again if I do get back to Rome.

Room Tip: A corner room might be larger. You might want to view a couple of rooms to suite your taste for spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel but feels like a business/commuter hotel. The rooms are pretty small which isn't a big deal because you aren't hanging out in your hotel room while in Rome.

We stayed here for the last two nights of our honeymoon before heading back to America. I don't think they knew it was our honeymoon as there was no pomp and circumstance about our arrival, which was fine.

One of the concierges, Federica came out immediately to advise us that the walking tour we had booked was trying to cancel as there were heavy rains forecasted for that afternoon and we were the only two people on the tour. After we settled in and decided that cancelling was best she was very helpful in facilitating this as well as making a reservation for dinner close by.

The weather held off and we decided to try and switch our reservations from where Federica suggested to a place that numerous people had suggested to us. I called downstairs to see if they could do this for us and the man on the other end seemed totally perplexed by my request. I felt like this was something they wanted me to handle myself. In the end he said he would and would confirm back to me once completed. An hour later we heard that the reservations had been switched.

The room overlooked a newspaper stand that was pretty bustling early in the AM but as we were staying for two nights it didn't seem like a big enough deal to ask for a new room.

The hotel was lovely and although we didn't have a chance to have drinks on the little terrace before dinner, it looked really cute. I think it's just good to know it's more of a "do it yourself" type of place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
647 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

One of those od style, fairly simple and elegant hotels we can only find in traditional cities, such as Rome. Friendly and very efficient staff, fairly comfortable rooms, perfectly situated behind the Pantheon, fairly honest breakfast. Good place, silent, old style.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed five days in this great location hotel! We loved the room, the location, and the non desk staff! When we asked the desk staff questions it was hard to get answers or help. No concierge service should be expected in this hotel. It was clean and the bell staff and cleaning staff were great. It is a do it yourself kinda place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowboyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

All hotels by the Pantheon are not equal even at same price. We checked out of another and into Albergo Santa Chiara and so glad we did. Staff pleasant. Room great-spacious and clean as was bath. We had a great view out our window. A/C fully adjustable or open windowy to hear sounds of Rome. I required Wifi and the signal in our room was full bars! This hotel is less than a block from Pantheon and lots of restaurants and gelatorias more importantly. Happy with our choice.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dusty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#57 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#307 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#104 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara

Property: Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Address: Via di Santa Chiara 21, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Rome
#137 Family Hotel in Rome
#184 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who we are The history of the Albergo Santa Chiara begins in 1939. At the first it was a "wine-shop" then changed into a small inn, enlarged in the following years, the 10 rooms of the first days have become now 96, distributed in 3 adjoining buildings. In one of them is located the Saint Catherine from Siena's Chapel. The old lobby, on the contrary, has become a theatre. You can't miss a short chat at one of the table of our open-air bar, quiet and private, that overlooks the Minerva Square. The most affectionate guests love the wide and classic styled rooms, younger prefers the modern and high-tech ones. The hotel service is impeccable, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. You will find this is a friendly, relaxed hotel that will make you feel right at home. The hotel has been in the same family ownership for nearly a century. The ground floor hall has seen the proclamation of the Popular Party by Don Sturzo, the rooms have counted the steps of Noble prizes such as Amartya Sen, Franco Modigliani and clergy men later be became Popes, politicians then elected Republican President, philosophers, artists, writers from Fogazzaro to Sartre to Banana Yoshimoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Santa Chiara Rome
Albergo Santa Chiara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing