We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fredericka great concierge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Ranked #111 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Fredericka at the desk was wonderful organizing each day for us, getting tickets at Borghese gallery, directing us,answering questions with smiles. Room facing courtyard is quiet. Want to go back! Walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcouple97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for our second time in October but we won't be back. Some of the desk staff this time seemed somewhat surly and, until our last morning, this was true also of the dining room staff, and, although we had asked for a quiet room, our room was noisy every night with the sound of partying down in the street below. We requested that the air conditioning be turned on and that helped somewhat. Also, our room was located in the annex which involved the use of two elevators and lots of walking. Our experience during our first stay a few years ago was not like this at all. In our opinion, something has happened to the Albergo Santa Chiara and it isn't good.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex unless you like mazes and stairs and make sure you request a quiet courtyard room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phcpr379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is right next to the Pantheon and in the heart of Rome, within walking distance of most tourist sites. The hotel is nicely decorated, but appears to be a combination of more than one building since it seems you at times go through a rabbit warren to find your room. The staff is very helpful from printing boarding passes to making dinner reservations. The breakfast room was very noisy and the breakfast buffet was somewhat limited. Our room was very comfortable, especially our bed. The bath was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It's more a 3.5 rating. We stayed here due to it's proximity to the Pantheon (our favorite site in Rome). The location was the best part. The room was large and clean but definitely no frills. I would stay here again but suggest bringing ear plugs if you are light sleeper due to the night life (I am a very light sleeper, my husband had no problems). One of the front desk workers (I think her name was Francesca) was wonderful, a huge help during our stay - she gets a 5 rating in our book! One of the other front desk men was not too friendly, seemed annoyed when we asked him if we would need a reservation at a local restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a tough one to rate.

On one hand, I can say this is a solid 3-star hotel in a great location, with very nice rooms, and a good breakfast.

On the other hand, the men working at the front desk staff were awful. From our fist contact upon checking in, to help with dinner reservations, to checking out, they were cold and emotionless and at some points quite rude. I observed them treating other guests this way as well, and a group of us later commiserated about it.

With that said, I did notice that the desk staff rotates. We, unfortunately, always dealt with the same group of grumps. Perhaps not all the staff are this way. Otherwise, I don't know how you explain other reviews where they mention a friendly staff.

I should also add that Federica, who I dealt with a lot on the telephone before arriving, is very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately, we never saw her during our stay. If we had, perhaps it would have been a different experience.

Before I wrote this review, my wife and asked ourselves if we would ever go back to this hotel. For sure, there is a lot to like about it. But in the end we agreed we wouldn't. The staff was just too unfriendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in a quad room with our two kids and loved it. It was up under the roof with exposed beams...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We wanted to stay in the Centro Storico and found the Albergo Santa Chiara on Trip Advisor. Not as expensive as many others in the area but every bit as good. Tucked in behind the Pantheon, one of our favourite buildings in the world, it could not have been more convenient. We had a lovely big room, spotlessly clean with extremely comfy bed. Room to move around and we didn't need a view as we were out all day. Breakfast was very good and the staff helpful and friendly. My husband left his computer power cord behind the desk and the hotel posted it back to Australia for us at no extra charge - now that's what I call service. We'll stay again when we return to Rome.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have a view of the inside courtyard - try for one on the outside.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaraAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our travel agent booked us into this hotel for 3 nights in late September 2013. The best thing about the hotel was the location near Piazza Navona and within walking distance to historic sites, shops and restaurants.The room was spare but very clean. The breakfast was adequate, and on request they'll make you a capuccino. However, the front desk personnel was not friendly or accomodating. A request to change a large (100) euro note met with 'We have no change', an unacceptable response for a business hotel in a major city. A gelato shop in the area was able to do this upon purchase. When we checked in, we attempted to confirm that our room (superior) had a shower of some type, which had been requested when the reservation was made.The front desk personnel waffled on this, saying "yes', but upon inspection, the room only had a tub. Thus we were unable to check in for several hours until they could get us a room with a shower. I'd also suggest requesting rooms in the main portion of the hotel, as there is an annex that requires multiple stairs and elevator trips to reach the rooms, not at all convenient for hauling luggage or for those with physical impairments.

There are many hotels in Rome with greater charm and hospitality. If you are traveling for business, this is an adequate choice. If you are looking for more atmosphere, charm, ambiance, and an accomodating staff, make a different selection.

Room Tip: On booking, request a room in the main part of the hotel, not in the annex.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliviaava08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#49 of 1,267 in Rome
993 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#108 of 1,267 in Rome
1,575 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#132 of 1,267 in Rome
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,267 in Rome
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara

Address: Via di Santa Chiara 21, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Rome
#137 Family Hotel in Rome
#184 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £125 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who we are The history of the Albergo Santa Chiara begins in 1939. At the first it was a "wine-shop" then changed into a small inn, enlarged in the following years, the 10 rooms of the first days have become now 96, distributed in 3 adjoining buildings. In one of them is located the Saint Catherine from Siena's Chapel. The old lobby, on the contrary, has become a theatre. You can't miss a short chat at one of the table of our open-air bar, quiet and private, that overlooks the Minerva Square. The most affectionate guests love the wide and classic styled rooms, younger prefers the modern and high-tech ones. The hotel service is impeccable, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. You will find this is a friendly, relaxed hotel that will make you feel right at home. The hotel has been in the same family ownership for nearly a century. The ground floor hall has seen the proclamation of the Popular Party by Don Sturzo, the rooms have counted the steps of Noble prizes such as Amartya Sen, Franco Modigliani and clergy men later be became Popes, politicians then elected Republican President, philosophers, artists, writers from Fogazzaro to Sartre to Banana Yoshimoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Santa Chiara Rome
Albergo Santa Chiara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing