We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Central Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Ranked #125 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The perfect location for our visit to Rome. Down the street from the Pantheon, walking distance to the Collosseum and a short ride to the Vatican.

Very clean, intimate reception with an outdoor seating area.

The rooms are well appointed with good beds, solid bathroom and rockin' WiFi.

Tremendous breakfast with everything you need a short hop away.

We couldn't ask for more.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank slungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    315
    72
    24
    6
See reviews for
174
252
65
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We got lucky, and got the room with the courtyard. Felt like I was a queen! Everyone was super lovely, and it was well worth the price. Almost all staff members spoke English and were super helpful. They sell the bus tickets at the desk, which I recommend getting! Our room was always clean and I was on the couch bed they made up for me, my parents on the queen size bed. It wasn't noisey at all, ask for the courtyard rooms! And modern, which I appreciate. Free WiFi is great so I didn't use all of my data and the breakfast in the morning was good!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Excellent hotel, perfect cleaning , great mood all employees.

The hotel is located just few meters from the Pantheon in the heart of Rome

Excellent hôtel, un nettoyage parfait, bonne humeur tous les employés.

L'hôtel est situé à quelques mètres du Panthéon, au coeur de Rome

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff at Albergo Santa Chiara was so welcoming and helpful I felt I found my home in Rome. The location is behind the Pantheon in the center of the historic district a short walk from great restaurants, shops and most of the great shrines of western history. Room are simple and immaculate. Public spaces are ample and are great for quiet conversation. The furniture could use an update.

The WIFI rocks. I measured over 10 Mbps in my room, enough for a crystal clear video chat with folks back home.

You are also 200 meters from a Michelangelo in the church nearby. No lines or crowds there.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was travelling alone, and chose this hotel for a one night stay because of the price and location. The staff were particularly nice and helpful, and the room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed.
It is an extremely basic hotel, which was OK for what I needed. The location is fantastic - near the Pantheon - but no view to speak of. I couldn't get my phone to work with the hotel's free wifi. I asked for a renovated room with a balcony, but just got the balcony. In retrospect, a renovated room would have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keshet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms here in April 2014 travelling with three kids plus Grandparents. The location is perfect by the Pantheon and puts you in the heart of the historic centre. We found the rooms spotlessly clean and the staff extremely helpful. Hard to beat.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ihpt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The staff was extremely helpful with directions. The neighborhood was perfect. Lots of places to eat, stroll, shop and linger with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. Near many attractions by walking and also located close to a major bus hub to get to anything else.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#53 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#294 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#99 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#43 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara

Property: Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Address: Via di Santa Chiara 21, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Rome
#137 Family Hotel in Rome
#184 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who we are The history of the Albergo Santa Chiara begins in 1939. At the first it was a "wine-shop" then changed into a small inn, enlarged in the following years, the 10 rooms of the first days have become now 96, distributed in 3 adjoining buildings. In one of them is located the Saint Catherine from Siena's Chapel. The old lobby, on the contrary, has become a theatre. You can't miss a short chat at one of the table of our open-air bar, quiet and private, that overlooks the Minerva Square. The most affectionate guests love the wide and classic styled rooms, younger prefers the modern and high-tech ones. The hotel service is impeccable, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. You will find this is a friendly, relaxed hotel that will make you feel right at home. The hotel has been in the same family ownership for nearly a century. The ground floor hall has seen the proclamation of the Popular Party by Don Sturzo, the rooms have counted the steps of Noble prizes such as Amartya Sen, Franco Modigliani and clergy men later be became Popes, politicians then elected Republican President, philosophers, artists, writers from Fogazzaro to Sartre to Banana Yoshimoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Santa Chiara Rome
Albergo Santa Chiara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing