We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Ranked #117 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel before we left for our cruise. We were very happy with the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. We booked the room that sleeps 4, it was my husband and I and our 2 adult age daughters, 19 & 24. It was spacious and the layout was perfect, set up with 2 king beds in separate areas with 2 flat screen TV's! The hotels common areas were charming and cozy and the breakfast each morning was quite good, and included. Almost forgot- free wifi!! As for location, we couldn't have asked for better! Almost everything was walking distance, the Pantheon was right behind us. Plenty of shops and places to eat all nearby. Overall our experience was fabulous and we would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Rome and wants to be in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: For privacy, ask for a courtyard view- it is so adorable and charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We travel annually from our home in Seattle to our home in Lecce in southern Italy. Because Rome is so fascinating we always make sure to spend several days there either going or coming. We invariably stay in the Albergo Santa Chiara, nominally a "three star" hotel. Don't be fooled by this modest rating, the Santa Chiara is a wonderful smaller hotel and easily the equal of a lot of four star- and more, hotels here in the US. That's often the case in Italy with many hotels in this category. They simply deliver more personalized service and greater living appeal than much more costly "higher rated" big brand hotels whose names you might recognize.
The Santa Chiara is located just a bit more than a block from the Pantheon and easy walking distance to a host of attractions, shops, galleries, boutiques, notable churches, and good restaurants. If you want to spend a grand evening it is just a 10 minute or so walk to Piazza Navona where Rome comes alive with artists, hucksters, mimes, puppeteers, musicians, happy strollers, and enthusiastic diners. The block long square is also home to Bernini's stunning Fountain of the Four Rivers and lined with restaurants--including our favorite, Tucci.
Rooms in the Santa Chiara are spotlessly clean, well appointed and offer comfortable beds. The hotel's personnel are invariably polite, helpful and knowledgeable. Just off the main desk area there is a comfortable reception area with a small bar that gives onto an intimate outdoor patio that's perfect place to stop for a drink before or after being out and about. Room rates are extremely reasonable and include VAT (value added tax) charges as well as an ample buffet breakfast with a lot of choices in a friendly breakfast room. Here's a tip that could add to the pleasure of your stay: Ask at the desk about Carrani Tours (check them out here at Travel Advisor.) They are a superb tour service that can take you touring locally to the Vatican or nearby places around Rome, or for that matter all over Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The perfect location for our visit to Rome. Down the street from the Pantheon, walking distance to the Collosseum and a short ride to the Vatican.

Very clean, intimate reception with an outdoor seating area.

The rooms are well appointed with good beds, solid bathroom and rockin' WiFi.

Tremendous breakfast with everything you need a short hop away.

We couldn't ask for more.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank slungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We got lucky, and got the room with the courtyard. Felt like I was a queen! Everyone was super lovely, and it was well worth the price. Almost all staff members spoke English and were super helpful. They sell the bus tickets at the desk, which I recommend getting! Our room was always clean and I was on the couch bed they made up for me, my parents on the queen size bed. It wasn't noisey at all, ask for the courtyard rooms! And modern, which I appreciate. Free WiFi is great so I didn't use all of my data and the breakfast in the morning was good!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Excellent hotel, perfect cleaning , great mood all employees.

The hotel is located just few meters from the Pantheon in the heart of Rome

Excellent hôtel, un nettoyage parfait, bonne humeur tous les employés.

L'hôtel est situé à quelques mètres du Panthéon, au coeur de Rome

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff at Albergo Santa Chiara was so welcoming and helpful I felt I found my home in Rome. The location is behind the Pantheon in the center of the historic district a short walk from great restaurants, shops and most of the great shrines of western history. Room are simple and immaculate. Public spaces are ample and are great for quiet conversation. The furniture could use an update.

The WIFI rocks. I measured over 10 Mbps in my room, enough for a crystal clear video chat with folks back home.

You are also 200 meters from a Michelangelo in the church nearby. No lines or crowds there.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was travelling alone, and chose this hotel for a one night stay because of the price and location. The staff were particularly nice and helpful, and the room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed.
It is an extremely basic hotel, which was OK for what I needed. The location is fantastic - near the Pantheon - but no view to speak of. I couldn't get my phone to work with the hotel's free wifi. I asked for a renovated room with a balcony, but just got the balcony. In retrospect, a renovated room would have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keshet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,269 in Rome
1,015 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#110 of 1,269 in Rome
1,583 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,269 in Rome
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,269 in Rome
1,567 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara

Address: Via di Santa Chiara 21, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Rome
#137 Family Hotel in Rome
#184 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £129 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who we are The history of the Albergo Santa Chiara begins in 1939. At the first it was a "wine-shop" then changed into a small inn, enlarged in the following years, the 10 rooms of the first days have become now 96, distributed in 3 adjoining buildings. In one of them is located the Saint Catherine from Siena's Chapel. The old lobby, on the contrary, has become a theatre. You can't miss a short chat at one of the table of our open-air bar, quiet and private, that overlooks the Minerva Square. The most affectionate guests love the wide and classic styled rooms, younger prefers the modern and high-tech ones. The hotel service is impeccable, the rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. You will find this is a friendly, relaxed hotel that will make you feel right at home. The hotel has been in the same family ownership for nearly a century. The ground floor hall has seen the proclamation of the Popular Party by Don Sturzo, the rooms have counted the steps of Noble prizes such as Amartya Sen, Franco Modigliani and clergy men later be became Popes, politicians then elected Republican President, philosophers, artists, writers from Fogazzaro to Sartre to Banana Yoshimoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Santa Chiara Rome
Albergo Santa Chiara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing