We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Trastevere”
Review of Hotel Trastevere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Trastevere
Ranked #477 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Hotel Trastevere A fine little hotel close to many restaurants in a fairly quiet neighborhood – hey you are in Rome. We booked the “quad” room, which was small - the two singles really being a bunk bed ala Murphy’s wall unit. It was a hoot with two 20+ boys and we survived, so if your travel companions are younger kids it’s a great bargain. All was clean, cool and quiet. The location is equidistant from the Vatican and the Coliseum and all the fountains and piazzas of Rome. Lovely walks, but nonetheless walks. I’d prefer walking vs the trams & buses, especially if you are new to Rome and a relatively inexperienced traveler. Might be slower but infinitely less a hassle. We utilized the H bus to get to and from the train station with our luggage. Just be real careful and mindful of crowded rides, yes the pickpockets or pros. Frequency of the transportation is sketchy, so give yourself plenty of time if you so chose this route. Online reservation, check –in and check-out went flawlessly. For a reasonable, non-pretentious restaurant try II Tulipano Nero around the corner, oh and did I mention the morning coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bransom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Trastevere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hotel Trastevere is a great hotel with very kind staff that where helpful and kind to assist us and make us feel welcome. The hotel is close to everything, and we found some awesome resturants that was all in walking distance from the hotel. The area of the the hotel was appealing and the piazza right next to the hotel was charming and the little market too.

the breakfast was ok and expecially the coffee really made the morning extra good.
In our rooms there where two large towels and 3 smaller ones and we all agreed that the hotel was clean and not dirty at all.

A great hotel for the price that really made our vacation to Rome a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emil_Yumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is one we will definately return to. The most accommodating of staff. We were required to check out of our apartment nearby at 11.00am. However, our flight was not until 10pm. We decided to look for a day room and found one at Hotel Trastevere. We were able to deposit our luggage as early as 9.00am allowing us to have a half day sightseeing, lunch at a great nearby restaurant, a rest, a shower and relaxed trip to the Rome airport (a whole other, not very edifying story). The cost was $90 and well worth it. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. We overlooked the Trastevere market and were able to watch the kids play soccer - it was fun. Minutes to Trastevere and a good 2 hour walk to the Vatican!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedroMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Clean, quiet, good neighborhood; next door to two fine restaurants. Lovely farmer's market. Air conditioning is excellent. They do have an elevator but you'll have to ask. Price extremely reasonable. One problem--one night clerk spole no English (and he was still there when we checked out).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoyalsFan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Most of my dozen or so visits to Rome I've stayed in the Termini area for budget reasons. Never again! It's simply delightful to wake up in the heart of Trastevere and feel in the middle of a safe and friendly community, full of light and good restaurants and conveniently placed for all the major sites. Even reaching it from Fiumicino is easier and cheaper than going to Termini (a train every 15 mins. costing 8 euros instead of 14; then tram 8 to Piazza Mastai: cross the road and take the left fork. Don't hesitate to ask directions. )

There's a big, beautiful wall fountain at the end of Via Manara. A few feet to the left of it you'll find steps that take you up the Janiculum Hill. Or take the road just opposite the hotel and you arrive in the Piazza of S.Maria in Trastevere. Every road in every direction seems to have restaurants recommended by the guide books. You need never repeat yourself.

Distances are much less than you think, looking at the map. Even walking to S.Maria del Populo we didn't need transport (you're passing so many interesting things en route.) It's a 20 min. walk max to Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. We enjoyed lunch at Miscellanea at the right hand side of the Pantheon, just down from a wonderful gelateria called Cremeria di Monteforte (no queues; a bench outside or sit by the Pantheon.)

The hotel staff are friendly and efficient. The decor is sweet in the public areas (floral stencilling) but dull in the rooms (very brown and heavy) The beds are comfortable, the tv works, the shower room is luxurious and breakfast the freshest I've ever enjoyed in an Italian b&b: cappucino, espresso and chocolate as in a bar; crisp, warm croissants and pain au chocolat.

Our only problem was on the last day when the service was overwhelmed by a mass of young Americans on a college trip, who started breakfast 20 mins earlier than programmed and ate everything. Arriving promptly at 7.30 (when brkfast was supposed to start, continuing to 10.30) there was no table for us, no choc. croissants, and no Nuttella. So on my next visit I'll check that they don't have a huge party in.

Otherwise: I'll stick with this for my next visit to Rome!

Room Tip: overlook Piazza Cosimata - there's always something interesting going on. If you find it noisy j...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishstroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank patjwheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have traveled to Rome, 7 times. Hotel Trastevere is among our favorites. We booked directly, after having horrible experiences with Expedia. They were helpful with booking, suggested ways to get to the hotel and places to eat near the hotel. The breakfast was good, the coffee great and the server very attentive. The shower was slow to drain, we told the hotel clerk, it was fixed when we got back from a day of touring. The air conditioning worked very well, the room was quite and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maclin_63112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#628 of 1,267 in Rome
171 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#521 of 1,267 in Rome
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#287 of 1,267 in Rome
697 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#511 of 1,267 in Rome
262 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trastevere

Address: Via Luciano Manara 24-25, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #477 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £79 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Trastevere is located in the heart of Trastevere and it's within walking distance to all major landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trastevere Hotel Rome
Hotel Trastevere Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing