We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Trastevere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Trastevere
Ranked #474 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Everyone working there was very nice and helpful, they gave great directions and advice on where to go and how to get there. The rooms are bigger than expected from most of the other three star hotels i have been to and more comfortable. so to make it short and sweet, i loved it and if i go back to Rome I'm staying there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beavers215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our first stop on our honeymoon. It was perfect for our budget. The staff is excellent. The location is great. The room was fine. The breakfast was very good. Our favorite thing about staying here was the sidewalk cafe right around the corner. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The bed was two twins pushed together. This is typical for hotels in this price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were please with the level of service at the hotel. They arranged a car to and from the airport (a little more expensive than the standard regulated taxi price but no additional costs e.g tipping, extra for luggage) - really good service.
We were on the first floor overlooking the square which has a few market stalls and good restaurants / gelateria. Room was a bit basic, but the air con was effective (and quiet) bed was OK (a little firm).Well appointed bathroom / shower.
The area around (Trasatavere) comes to life at night, lots of shops and good value restaurants. Some might find the concentrations of young people worrying but we didn't.
We walked from the hotel to the Vatican in about 30 minutes, to the Coliseum in about 20 - but we are used to walking and 9even in our 60s) relatively fit. The hotel did give hints on public transport but we walked!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wren104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After reading the hotel reviews on TripAdvisor we made sure we got a room in the main building when booking. This was confirmed by e-mail from the hotel. Nonetheless, when we arrived late in the evening we were taken to our room in the annex in the next building. What a shock! Our tiny room had no exits besides the main door. The windows were high up on the wall covered with grey plastic foil allowing no sunlight to shine through. In addition they were closed by grids and shutters outside (see picture). A fire outside the door would have been catastrophic, as we would have been trapped! We told the night porter that this was not acceptable, and that we wanted a room in the main building as we were promised. He suddenly spoke no English and asked us to see the manager the next morning. Needless to say it was a night with poor or no sleep at all. After a discussion with the manager the next morning we were finally moved to a room in the main building. Our new room was clean and decent, and had a view to the square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hirondelle67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco c, Direttore at Hotel Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Madam and Sir we are very sorry that you had a so bad impression of your first night in Rome, I am the Manager but, I don't remenber of your stay with us, anyway If you have reserved a room in the main building, you were definitely in the main building. Probably your room was on the ground floor and not on the first floor, all of our rooms have the same furniture as specified in the reservation and the difference is that the rooms on the first floor overlooks over the Piazza. I do not know what you mean "Our tiny room had no exits besides the main door" the rooms have a door and a window, and I think this is normal in every hotel in the world. Anyway as you say the staff was very helpful and we tried to satisfy you as soon as possible, changing the room, we are not used to discuss with our guests and we always try to please them as much as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I've been to Rome many times and on this trip I specifically wanted to stay in the Trastevere neighborhood. This is one of my favorite neighborhoods in the world. It's a true Roman neighborhood filled with locals. It's also filled with great local restaurants, pubs and people just hanging out in the warm summer nights. Getting to the historical sights is real easy from here as well. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but comfortable and everything is very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzoF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It's hard to write this review, because for the first 2 days of our stay at Hotel Trastevere, we were very happy, but by the end, we were furious. It's a very basic Roman hotel. Quiet at night, which was most important to us. Beds were not very comfortable but very common for Italian hotel rooms at this price. However, when we decided to stay an extra night, the hotel said we could stay in the "Annex" room, located only 100 feet away from the main hotel. They confirmed that it was on a "quiet street," and that there wouldn't be noise at night. When we made the move, the "annex" room was blocks away, above a noisy bar playing loud music, on the corner of two very busy streets. When we explained that they had mislead us, they refused to listen. It didn't help that the front desk contact pretended he didn't speak English once this happened. Needless to say, at 11:30pm at night after a long day of tourist activities, we had to find another hotel to stay at so we could sleep. It was unfortunate because, again, we thought the hotel was a good deal for our first two nights, but we left very frustrated and upset and their customer service and unwillingness to work with us when we realized they had mislead us.

Room Tip: Make sure it is an insider room (not looking out onto the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millbank8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco c, Direttore at Hotel Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Madam and Sir,
we are always happy to receive suggestions from our guests, I'm sorry that you have not enjoyed the accommodation, but Trastevere area is very popular overnight, unfortunately, were no longer available rooms in the main building. However, no one has misled you, probably it was not clear that you wanted a room with a window not on the road.








Annulla modifiche






we are always happy to receive suggestions from our guests, I'm sorry that you have not enjoyed the accommodation, but Trastevere area is very popular overnight, unfortunately, were no longer available rooms in the main building. However, no one has misled you, probably it was not clear that you wanted a room with a window not on the road.








Annulla modifiche















we are always happy to receive suggestions from our guests, I'm sorry that you have not enjoyed the accommodation, but Trastevere area is very popular overnight, unfortunately, were no longer available rooms in the main building. However, no one has misled you, probably it was not clear that you wanted a room with a window not on the road.








Annulla modifiche




Dear Guests,
we are always happy to receive suggestions from our guests, I'm sorry that you have not enjoyed the accommodation, but Trastevere area is very popular overnight, unfortunately, were no longer available rooms in the main building. However, no one has misled you, probably it was not clear that you wanted a room with a window not on the road, however we will do our best to improve our customer service
We hope to have you as our valued guests in a future occasion in Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

For Americans, especially, this is a great hotel, as all the front desk employees speak English. They are very helpful & it was the first place in Italy that helped me with my bags! Good thing as there is no elevator. The rooms are clean with good size shower in our bathroom...no tub, which was fine. Our room was a tad small; with the Murphy bed down you could barely get in the bathroom, which has steps to get into. Don't know if they are all like that. This Hotel is in a great area, when you learn your way around. Close to MANY restaurants, and busses. The beds were typical Italian hard mattresses, but the pillows were a little fluffier than normal (nice!) for Italy. The bedspreads could use washing! Our window had a view of another part of the building and some trash.

Room Tip: If you want a view, make sure you ask. Top floors are better as kids seem to run up and down steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnTheresa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#488 of 1,272 in Rome
193 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#277 of 1,272 in Rome
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#559 of 1,272 in Rome
285 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#167 of 1,272 in Rome
430 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#538 of 1,272 in Rome
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trastevere

Address: Via Luciano Manara 24-25, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #474 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £61 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Trastevere is located in the heart of Trastevere and it's within walking distance to all major landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trastevere Hotel Rome
Hotel Trastevere Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing