We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location at Campo Dei Fiori” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #183 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Location at Campo Dei Fiori”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Something around every corner. Walk, walk, walk everywhere. 8- 10$ cab ride from Roma termini. We love staying in this location. The Jewish Ghetto and Trastevere are interesting and an easy walk. Nothing particularly special to say about the hotel, but clean rooms, nice bathroom, and the location can't be beat! The breakfast was our poorest during our 2 week Italy stay. Canned fruit! Hard to believe when you are right next to the beautiful market at the Campo dei Fiori. Free wifi, which we couldn't get to work but we were only here for one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belllasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    473
    147
    52
    28
See reviews for
156
464
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We arrived lated in the evening, greeted by a friendly staff who provided restaurant recommendations in the nearby Campo dei fiori and a warm welcome to Rome. Breakfast in the morning was simple, but the pastries were fresh from the well known bakery across the street. We were going to stop there anyways so it was a bonus. We enjoyed a beer on the upper roof garden which was nice. Rooms are dated, but clean and overall good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Good location, front desk people were disappointing when asked questions, they seemed to be preoccupied and one didn't know what the other was doing as far as payment for driver from the airport and directions to places of interest. The driver was rude, flipping other drivers off, didn't speak a word to us on the way to the airport. Before that we were expecting to be picked up at the airport from Prague and we had a 2 hour delay upon which I sent the hotel an email stating that. No driver , so I called the hotel, no answer, I showed the front desk the number and they said it was correct. There were many drivers waiting at the airport for their passengers, not ours, so we had someone else. The driver from the hotel still wanted to be paid, we did but I feel it was not warranted, they seemed dishonest. The shower is very small and had mildew, otherwise the room was comfortable and the air was welcomed after a hot day of touring. I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

One year ago we stayed at Hotel Smeraldo and we chose to stay there again on this visit. Although the rooms are on the small side they are clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The AC gave us a welcomed break from the hot, Rome streets.

The main building was full and we were offered a room at the "annex" which is 50 steps around the corner. The rooms are identical to the main buidling so it made no difference. Check-in and breakfast are located in the main building.

Aside from a being a reliable friendly hotel, Smeraldo is ideally located. It's 4 minute walk to Campo di Fiori or the other direction to the bus stop at Largo Argentina. We timed a 10 minute walk to the Pantheon and about 8 minutes to Piazza Navona. The neighborhood is safe and quiet with a bakery and shopping adjacent to the hotel. Smeraldo also has a roof top terrace at the main building and the annex - so you can sip your wine while overlooking the streets of Rome.

A cab from Termini cost us 10 euro (w tip) but you can also take the 64 bus for 1,50 euro pp if you have the time and light baggage.

Room Tip: Rooms in Annex or main building provide the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Tucked away in a little alley, it comes as a surprise when you turn the corner of this hotel and are straight into a flurry of local activity. Good value for money and the closest restaurant (Trattoria Moderna - look out for the handsome and charming Florintino here) is 2 steps in front of the main entrance. Turn into the busy shopping street leading to the fabulous Campo dei Fiori with its courtyard restaurants and street bands in the evenings - and then onto Piazza Novona, Pantheon - and on the other side, across Via Arenula and straight to where all the tourist buses stop. Very central location for sight-seeing. I was lucky as I was there on a Saturday when the Farmer's Market came alive in Campo dei Fiori.

Beware of the micro shower stall in the bathroom - if you drop your soap, you will not be able to bend to pick it up, the stall is so small, the shower curtain remains stuck to your derriere ;) Good breakfast included in the cost, with buffet tables groaning under the huge spread.

Costs just about 10 euro from Rome Termini, taxi to/from Fiomicino airport organised by hotel costs 48 euro.

Highly recommend this hotel to budget-conscious travellers looking for convenience. Do try to get a room in the front, the ones at the side overlooking the bakery are noisy as revellers wandering in from Campo dei Fiori party all night long!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in front are quieter and get one with a balcony specially if you are a smoker as the entire ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spent 10 nights at the Hotel Smeraldo from August to September 2013. The staff could not have been nicer - Walter and Eugenio at the front desk were incredibly helpful, kind, and made us feel like family. In fact, Walter ran down the street to change our 500 euro bill and sent us to his favorite boyhood restaurant. Eugenio sent us to another fabulous restaurant across the street. He walked over and introduced us to the chef personally.

The housekeeping staff was out of this world good. I wish I knew the lady's name with short dark hair who works in the dining room and housekeeping. She was so friendly and helpful.

The location was incredible, walking distance (though possibly sweaty when you get there) to anywhere, or less than a 10 euro taxi ride to almost anywhere you would want to go. The breakfast was basic but good (i.e., yoghurt, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, pastries, rolls, juices, ilk, water, espresso, cappuccino, tea, coffee, etc.). You have to ask for the espresso and cappuccino, but the ladies in the dining room were always happy to get it for you.

The rooms are small, but generous according to European standards. The beds are also what you would expect, as is the AC in the heat of summer. If you are a big person, I would suggest requesting a room with a bathtub. The staff certainly can't accommodate all requests since few rooms have tubs, but they certainly do the best that they can. Most of the rooms on the 4th floor have balconies, so request one of those if you like. Don't worry if you don't get one, because those with balconies (we had one) rarely use them since two rooftop spaces on the 4th and 5th floors are available up until 7:00 pm. Around the corner is a nice grocery store with a pretty good wine selection. We often bought some cheese, proscuitto and wine and enjoyed it on the roof gardens. We ended up not going out on our balcony once.

No matter what, bring ear plugs. The hotel is near Campo d' Fiori, and people in Rome like to party and have a great time. If you read this and decide to come to Rome, then please don't complain to the staff about the noise. They can't change this.

Room Tip: If you're a big person (really big), ask for a room with a bath tub. Bring earplugs. Any outer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillandPeterFromNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

9.2Rana 30 August 2013
-Location! Right at the center of Rome everything is at a walking distance. Keep in mind that you need to walk to see Rome. Forget about the bus and the metro: so, you need a hotel with a really good location, Smeraldo fits this category perfectly! -Free Wifi, good connection.
-Breakfast could be better with more variety. One type of cheese is not enough for me :/ -Shower rather small

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#215 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#23 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#119 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#87 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
#469 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Property: Hotel Smeraldo
Address: Via dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#316 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing