We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Smeraldo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,136)
Filter reviews
1,136 results
Traveller rating
365
532
156
53
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
532
156
53
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcampo di fioriwithin walking distancerooftop terracemain buildingrooms are smallaround the cornerstay there againtiny showerpastriesmajor sitesfront desk staffthe air conditioningminute walkstreet noisewalked everywherefourth floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 1,136 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Something around every corner. Walk, walk, walk everywhere. 8- 10$ cab ride from Roma termini. We love staying in this location. The Jewish Ghetto and Trastevere are interesting and an easy walk. Nothing particularly special to say about the hotel, but clean rooms, nice bathroom, and the location can't be beat! The breakfast was our poorest during our 2 week Italy stay. Canned fruit! Hard to believe when you are right next to the beautiful market at the Campo dei Fiori. Free wifi, which we couldn't get to work but we were only here for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belllasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We arrived lated in the evening, greeted by a friendly staff who provided restaurant recommendations in the nearby Campo dei fiori and a warm welcome to Rome. Breakfast in the morning was simple, but the pastries were fresh from the well known bakery across the street. We were going to stop there anyways so it was a bonus. We enjoyed a beer on the upper roof garden which was nice. Rooms are dated, but clean and overall good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Good location, front desk people were disappointing when asked questions, they seemed to be preoccupied and one didn't know what the other was doing as far as payment for driver from the airport and directions to places of interest. The driver was rude, flipping other drivers off, didn't speak a word to us on the way to the airport. Before that we were expecting to be picked up at the airport from Prague and we had a 2 hour delay upon which I sent the hotel an email stating that. No driver , so I called the hotel, no answer, I showed the front desk the number and they said it was correct. There were many drivers waiting at the airport for their passengers, not ours, so we had someone else. The driver from the hotel still wanted to be paid, we did but I feel it was not warranted, they seemed dishonest. The shower is very small and had mildew, otherwise the room was comfortable and the air was welcomed after a hot day of touring. I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fergie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

One year ago we stayed at Hotel Smeraldo and we chose to stay there again on this visit. Although the rooms are on the small side they are clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The AC gave us a welcomed break from the hot, Rome streets.

The main building was full and we were offered a room at the "annex" which is 50 steps around the corner. The rooms are identical to the main buidling so it made no difference. Check-in and breakfast are located in the main building.

Aside from a being a reliable friendly hotel, Smeraldo is ideally located. It's 4 minute walk to Campo di Fiori or the other direction to the bus stop at Largo Argentina. We timed a 10 minute walk to the Pantheon and about 8 minutes to Piazza Navona. The neighborhood is safe and quiet with a bakery and shopping adjacent to the hotel. Smeraldo also has a roof top terrace at the main building and the annex - so you can sip your wine while overlooking the streets of Rome.

A cab from Termini cost us 10 euro (w tip) but you can also take the 64 bus for 1,50 euro pp if you have the time and light baggage.

Room Tip: Rooms in Annex or main building provide the same quality.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Tucked away in a little alley, it comes as a surprise when you turn the corner of this hotel and are straight into a flurry of local activity. Good value for money and the closest restaurant (Trattoria Moderna - look out for the handsome and charming Florintino here) is 2 steps in front of the main entrance. Turn into the busy shopping street leading to the fabulous Campo dei Fiori with its courtyard restaurants and street bands in the evenings - and then onto Piazza Novona, Pantheon - and on the other side, across Via Arenula and straight to where all the tourist buses stop. Very central location for sight-seeing. I was lucky as I was there on a Saturday when the Farmer's Market came alive in Campo dei Fiori.

Beware of the micro shower stall in the bathroom - if you drop your soap, you will not be able to bend to pick it up, the stall is so small, the shower curtain remains stuck to your derriere ;) Good breakfast included in the cost, with buffet tables groaning under the huge spread.

Costs just about 10 euro from Rome Termini, taxi to/from Fiomicino airport organised by hotel costs 48 euro.

Highly recommend this hotel to budget-conscious travellers looking for convenience. Do try to get a room in the front, the ones at the side overlooking the bakery are noisy as revellers wandering in from Campo dei Fiori party all night long!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in front are quieter and get one with a balcony specially if you are a smoker as the entire hotel is non-smoking!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews