We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tutti bene”
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #179 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tutti bene”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed a Thursday to Sunday. A great price for the best location in Rome. Quiet, but with all you need at arm's length. The rooms were big, clean and comfortable. Staff were nice and open to help with anything from guiding to arranging cars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godofadvertising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    493
    150
    53
    29
See reviews for
161
490
37
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

As I lay here in my bed under a constant assault from a barrage of noise coming from the street below I feel it is my duty to warn you , if you are offered room 103 in the annex or any room facing the "street" refuse it. It is non-stop yelling and laughing and Vespas zooming by and at 1:12am I am unable to get to sleep. The room Is clean and typically European in size for a hotel of this rating but the noise is ridiculous and I think the hotel has a nerve to put unsuspecting guests in a situation like this. I am very disappointed.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank iscreamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmeraldoroma, Direttore at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review: we are always intersted about your opinion as we want to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

And it is just for that reason that we are sorry that you did not explain us your disappoint for the room once you where here: we would have done the best to find a better solution for your needs.

As we are in one of the quietest streets in the neighborhood we are also in the heart of the ancient city and the streets around us are vibrant and full of life.

All our windows are double glazed and once closed are 100% soundproof, but if this is not enough we have also rooms facing the backyard: it depends if you prefer a total calm or a nice view. Our staff is 24 hours here at your disposal for all your needs.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Small room (111) as normal in an italian city hotel, but everything works. Shower cabin small, water not very hot. Bathroom nice and clean though and WC effective. Super clean towels and bed sheets, good beds. Nice view to the street below from this room through a juliette balcony. Breakfast more than normal italian (= chocolate croissant and coffee): ham, cheese, salami, fresh bred, canned fruits, cereals. No fresh fruits or vegetables. Lovely little roof terraces on 4th and 5th floor, the one on 4th floor open at night too. You can enjoy your own drink there. The best point is still the location, in the middle of everything. The less good point is the price. PS: a very good (and cheap) wine bar to the right of the entrance on the next corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinikka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a typical Rick Steves-esque property. It is a great location, no fuss, reliable service, clean place to sleep. I loved the location - easy walk to the Pantheon, Piazza Campo De Fiori and lots of public transportation. The Campo De Fiori was one of my favorites during my stay in Rome. It has some good restaurants surrounding the Piazza, all with the obligatory outdoor seating, and a market that seemed to be open until around 2:00 in the afternoon that served both locals and tourists. It was a great people watching location. If you decide to stay here one tip I would give is regarding getting a taxi to the property. My taxi dropped me off a distance away from the hotel stating the streets were to small for him to drive into. The walk would have been fine except for pulling along the ole roller bag on the cobblestone streets. Later we saw lots of taxis out in front of the hotel, usually smaller ones and we did see one car get kinda stuck on a sharp turn. So if you taxi insists it can't take you right to the door at least they can drop you off at the intersetion of Via Florida and Via di Torre Argentina (street name changes to Via Arenula at some point). There is a major bus stop and even a sign for the hotel. The intersection is really big but the street Via di Sant 'Anna which also feeds into the main streets in this area takes you right to the hotel - a few blocks walk. Way easier to find than the winding streets around the hotel/Piazza.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sassytraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at Smeraldo Hotel for 3 nights. We were three couples and all three rooms were very clean and comfortable. Yes, the bathrooms were small but not a real problem. The location is absolutely perfect and you can walk everywhere. We enjoyed the rooftop terraces and were pleased to find out one remained open in the evenings. We enjoyed sitting up there with a glass of wine and meeting new people.

The breakfast was basic but perfectly fine and cappucino was available if you asked.

When we arrived quite early our rooms were not ready yet, but we were able to leave our luggage and when we returned a short time later everything was ready. On check-in staff were very friendly. However, we did not find them that helpful with recommendations for restaurants, directions etc. Checkout was a bit slow and there seemed to be some confusion with the computers at that time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rescue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was my second stay at Hotel Smeraldo. Convenient, friendly & professional staff, reasonable rates. Rooms are small but clean, comfortable and relatively quiet for being in such a compact neighborhood. Improvements since last stay: left luggage area which was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvwhct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmeraldoroma, Direttore at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very happy to read that you returned to our Hotel and enjoyed your stay.
Regarding the improvements we are happy to announce that this year besides the luggage room, we have revonated some rooms plus the roof top terrace and for sure if you'll come back you'll find more than these... working hard to improve service & structure day by day!

Looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here for the last three nights of our vacation in Italy. The rooms are compact but were very clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was very helpful with directions and touring suggestions, one even offered to take us in his car for an evening hilltop view of Rome! The breakfast buffet was plentiful with cereal, pastries, fruit (even prunes) american coffee, tea and cappuccino when asked. The location of the motel was within walking distance of all attractions we saw. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbcbwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#129 of 1,256 in Rome
1,053 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#29 of 1,256 in Rome
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#114 of 1,256 in Rome
1,466 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#115 of 1,256 in Rome
749 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
#175 of 1,256 in Rome
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Property: Hotel Smeraldo
Address: Via Dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#316 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing