We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #152 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel is quite nice, but not very large. Rooms are not large and the elevator is tiny - it can take one person with a couple of suitcases or two persons who don't mind close encounters. The street outside is not large either but narrow and winding, with cars and people and scooters and restaurant tables sharing the public space. Yes, we are in Rome.
The location is simply perfect, midway between Piazza Campo de' Fiori and Largo di Torre Argentina. The hotel has a roof garden with a good view over the surrounding area, perfect for a drink before you go out in the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seltirningur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Convenient, reasonably priced for location. Taxi back to hotel from the Vatican museum cost €20. Easy access to trains. Walking distance to major sights including Vatican, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Roman Forum, Parthenon etc. I'm overweight and unfit, just so you know this really does mean easy walking.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a splendid choice for a tourist who needs lots of help with directions for getting to Rome's spectacular sites and wants to be in a quiet and convenient location. The room was tiny but clean and modern. The breakfast buffet was copious but not a gourmet's delight. The front desk help was outstanding.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Dashmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Smeraldo for seven nights over the holidays in December 2013. We chose this hotel for its reasonable cost, excellent location, and recommendation from Rick Steves' travel guide. We were not disappointed.

Room: We stayed in a two person room on the 3rd floor overlooking a small street. It was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was compact, but everything worked well. The hotel provides shampoo and soap. There was a small closet with a shelf and a safe. The safe was handy. We locked up our passports after we arrived and just carried photocopies with us during the week. It was big enough to also hold our two iPads while we were out during the day. There was also a small desk in the room and a mini refrigerator. We're from Minnesota, so we thought that the 55 degree weather was warm. We did not use the heat at all, and slept most nights with the windows open a little bit. There can be some street noise with the windows open, so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. The windows have a very good seal so it's not an issue of the windows are closed.

Amenities: There is a beautiful roof top terrace. We had a picnic lunch up there one day and had it to ourselves. The breakfast buffet is great. It's pretty typical of European breakfast buffets, but the quality was good. The buffet has buns, rolls, bread (w/ toaster), sweet pastries, meat and cheese, cereals, juice, yogurt, fresh fruit, and coffee/tea. The most important feature for me was free wifi. It worked great the entire time. You must pick up a username and password from the front desk for each device. Each username/password lasts for three days.There is an elevator, but it is quite small. The weight limit is about 500 pounds. You could fit two people or one person and luggage in it.

Service: The housekeeping staff did a great job of keeping our room clean and stocked, and they were very friendly. The front desk staff was helpful. They answered a few questions and called a taxi for us when we left.

Location: This is by far the best feature of this hotel. It is just a couple of blocks from Campo de Fiori - a great place to eat and stroll in the evenings. It's just a few more blocks to Piazza Navona. We walked to the Christmas market there almost every evening. Other places that we walked to include Pantheon, Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, Victor Emmanuel Monument, Capitoline Hill, and the Forum. The hotel is also a couple of short blocks from a major bus hub at Largo Argentina. I recommend getting to know how the bus system works right away because it will save your time and energy for enjoying the sights.

We enthusiastically recommend this hotel. We had a wonderful week in Rome, and it was so helpful to have a peaceful retreat to come back to every night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the pouring rain. The directions we were given by the hotel were not too good so we spent some time looking for the hotel with all our luggage and were dripping wet by the time we found it. For other travellers getting there by bus, cross the road at the bookshop (at the bus stop) toward the ruins. If you are facing the ruins, the hotel is down the alley after the theatre on the right of the ruins.

The hotel was clean and neat. The bedroom and changing room were an average size, not too cramped. However the bathroom was very small. The shower has a shower curtain (pet hate) and because the shower is so small, the curtain sticks to you when you have a shower.

We discovered over the 5 days we spent at the hotel that if you want hot water, you need to have a shower at 6am. It seems like most people have a shower later, and the hot water gets depleted. In the hotels defence we did not complain so they did not have a chance to rectify.

There is free wifi but you need a new password from the front desk every day.

The location is very central, and safe. There is a fantastic bakery to the left of the hotel that sells thin crust pizza by weight. The hotel is also within walking distance from major attractions and very close to main bus stops. Which makes transport easy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enn_Cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel has a great location, walking distance to everywhere. The rooms are small (as most hotels in Rome are), but clean. The breakfast was ok, but you're better treated at a local bar. The desk staff was helpful and nice people. Good e-mail service (detailed and fast answers) while ordering both the room and transportation from/to the airport. Here's a tip for the "non mainstream traveller" - their facebook-page offers plenty of tips for travellers (not "top ten sights in Rome" - stuff), but smaller and more hidden secrets! Like new cheap and good restaurants, bakeries, cafe's, churches, walking trips, smaller museums etc. Definitely worth flowing them to pick up these great tips. For us, who had been to Rome several times before, these tips was very welcoming :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We chose this hotel based on its location, it was a short walk from the majority of the monuments we visited.
The rooms were basic with comfortable beds. The shower was small and the taps made a noise when used however this was a minor inconvenience.

The breakfast was a typical continental style and very nice fuelling us for the day ahead.
The receptionists were polite and answered all of our questions.

If in Rome again I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#126 of 1,269 in Rome
1,109 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#31 of 1,269 in Rome
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,269 in Rome
1,014 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#118 of 1,269 in Rome
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Address: Via Dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#315 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £81 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing