We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #174 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel and the staff is extremely nice. The rooms are great for Italy, the wifi actually works (also great for Italy), and the location is excellent. The only thing stopping me from giving it five stars is that the breakfast and coffee is horrible. Luckily there is an amazing cafe about fifteen feet away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank skynetZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    476
    147
    52
    28
See reviews for
159
469
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a few days in Rome after a cruise. Stayed here last year and enjoyed it so returned. Love the location. Walking distance to many attractions. The roof garden has been redone with great furniture. Buy a bottle of wine from the bar across the street or from the fabulous bakery around the corner and enjoy it in the roof garden.
The bakery has the best pizza and the breads etc. are heavenly.
Not the fanciest hotel but great for the price and location. Slowly being remodeled.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 114sueinflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Smeraldo Hotel and loved our visit to Rome. The hotel was clean and quiet, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was in walking distance to most of the sights we visited. We did not care for the coffee served at breakfast, however we found a bar around the corner where we got a wonderful cappuccino. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Although smaller than our other Roman hotel, they were currently under construction on the rooftop terrace, so we couldn't enjoy that. However, this hotel is in the heart of great restaurants! Great location for walking. Everything in the room seem to be new, cleanliness was great. Hotel lobby has a computer if you need to print out reservation tickets, etc. The breakfast is okay, however, we found a great bakery up the street so we skipped the hotel breakfast a few mornings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwade2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the Smeraldo and found it was a great location for walks along the river and to the Pantheon. Also it's not to far from the main shopping district and then war memorial. My wife and I found to we could walk to the Coliseum in about 1/2 hour and ended up never taking a bus. There's a great cafe across the street (15') for morning espresso or evening wine & prosecco. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was very good except for the coffee (Get a cappuccino across the street).

This is NOT a luxury hotel, but it's clean, quiet and safe and provides great value in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in Hotel Smeraldo (party of two) during Palm Sunday weekend and really enjoyed it! Rome is very busy at this time of year but thanks to the location of our hotel it was very easy to get around the city. The farthest place to walk to (Vatican City or Colsseum) is about 22 mins or 10 euros on a cab. The staff was very friendly and helped us book tours and taxis whenever we needed one. It is only a 2 min walk to Campo di Fiori and 10 min walk to Trastevere, where the nightlife is in full effect! We will definitely stay here when we come back to Rome.

Room Tip: Single room (1 pax) in Europe means "one person" not one bed. Please make sure to book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The location is perfect for tourists who want to be in the historical center since it is situated between the Vatican and the Colosseo near the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. It has a friendly and helpful staff, small but clean rooms. I look forward to staying there again, and I always recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several different rooms and have liked each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#231 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#25 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#124 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#135 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#94 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Property: Hotel Smeraldo
Address: Via dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#316 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing