We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Smeraldo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$648
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,067
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$604
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveller rating
384
537
157
53
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
537
157
53
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcampo di fioriwithin walking distancerooftop terracemain buildingrooms are smallaround the cornerstay there againtiny showerpastriesmajor sitesfront desk staffthe air conditioningminute walkstreet noisewalked everywherefourth floor
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect for a quick tour of Rome. Clean, helpful staff, good breakfast, new/updated, location within walking distance of all the major sites. Rooms were wonderfully air conditioned. Off of a quiet, quaint street. Rooms were tight, but where in Rome isn't? Besides, the point is to be out and about anyway. Great value and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel was just fine. I was travelling with a group of 16 (8 rooms) and we stayed here for four nights. The location was great - we walked to and from all of the major attractions. We all felt very safe. This was my second time in Rome. The previous time we stayed within an easy walk to the train station in a far 'faster' area of the city. I got a totally different impression of Rome this time, largely due to the great neighbourhood around this hotel. The only downsides I can see were: 1) Smell in some of the rooms. I believe this was a 'newly renovated' smell that went away once the window was open but those with environmental sensitivities should be aware. 2) The staff is pleasant enough but couldn't be termed as 'friendly'.
One the other hand, there are comments here giving a negative review of the breakfast which all of our group thought was just fine. I was expecting terrible coffee based on some of the comments but found it was just fine as well and I consider myself as picky about my coffee. The rooftop terrace is a great amenity - we spent a lot of time up there (if you feed the gulls the woman next door calls to complain to the hotel management though) and it was a good way to meet and converse with other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rclip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Room newly refurbished. Comfortable but corridors are too noisy. Very central at walking distance from many monuments. Good breakfast included with the room......................................................

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Guillaume W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The location of this hotel was excellent for touring Rome. Walking distance to most venues, although a lot of walking there is very much to see. What a incredible unique location. Tucked away in an alley with the fantastic bakery next door. There were also many restaurants very close by. A grocery store around the corner and Piazza Navonna nearby. The hotel room was very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Hotel staff very accommodating. This is definitely a hotel we would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowboybic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Smeraldo. It was perfectly located near the Campo de' Fiori and Piazza Navona. Easy walk to all the great sites. Great restaurants and lively and night. The hotel is very clean and the staff was always helpful when we needed directions. Also had a great rooftop patio.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony with views of the rooftops of Rome.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dalecat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews