We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and great service!”
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #146 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were graciously greeted at this little gem of a hotel and while a balcony room was not available we were moved to one on our second night. The rooms are efficient and the bathroom was new and modern with great design. Breakfast was ample. The two terraces had intimate and wonderful views. Everything is in walking distance. Never need to research another hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 261Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here at the recommendation of a (priest) friend who stays here when in Rome. Near the Largo Argentina The Hotel Smeraldo has a wonderful, central location accessible to the tram, buses and within walking distance of the Campo, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, etc.The people are extremely nice, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and always kept in top condition by the smiling staff. The windows really shut out any unwanted noise and make it pleasantly quiet. They have several terraces which provide nice views to the adjacent domes of San Andrea della Valle and San Carlo and make for a great 'picnic'. They had a little difficulty with the (free) internet when we arrived but the problem was solved before we left.
Continental breakfast was excellent - much more than expected, with meats and cheese, pastries and rolls, etc. They are happy to make cappuccino or hot chocolate along with the american coffee and tea.

Room Tip: I am not sure if it makes a difference but we stayed on an 'inner courtyard' room. Though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJH109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice 3 star in old part of Rome. Easy walking distance of all main attractions, absolute glut of restaurants for all tastes and price ranges within minutes. Public transport not the best in this part of town so unless a 40min walk appeals it will be a taxi back to Termini (train station).

As of mid June the hotel is part way through renovation. Our intial double room (204) was tiny, 12 inches between bed and wall all the way round, tiny shower (60cm x 70cm). We are both slim and average build, anyone bigger would have really struggled to shower adequately. Room very much in need of redecoration, noise from shower and toilet in room above very loud. Adjoining door to next room, only closable from one side.
Asked to change room, no hastle but could only happen the next day. New room (304) completely different, plenty of space, very modern "open" decor (no closed wardrobes, plenty of rail space and shelf space. No noisy plumbing.
The fire escape plan, showing the layout of the hotel, showed that the 06 rooms are the smallest in the hotel on every floor. My suspcion is that they are actually supposed to be a single room and as they are attcahed to the adjoining room are perhaps designed for families.

Breakfast adequate, but basic.
Staff friendly.
Supermarket 2min walk.
Good restaurants - Pallardo up the road, authentic Roman, cheap but quality.
Da Pancrazio just of the Fiori square, nice food but quite expensive.

Summary, would recommend but avoid the small rooms

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jimbo159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Smeralado for 6 nights upon arriving in Rome. The staff were very helpful with our queries for closest BNL bank, travel agent (for train tickets) etc. We were given a newly remodeled room and were pleasantly surprised. I had picked the hotel because of location as the photos of the room were just fair. The room we had was modern and bathroom totally updated. Loved the shower with the large overhead rain spout and the multiple heads shooting from the sides. One could pick how one wanted to be showered. The windows are sound proof as we were over looking the cafe and restaurant a few feet across the street, Heard nothing when windows closed. Air conditioning worked great. The location of the hotel is perfect. Near Campo de Fiori, Piazzo Navonna, The Argentine etc. We were able to walk everywhere including the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, The Colisseum etc. For a 3 star hotel very reasonable and would highly recommend it. Clean and comfortable. Note: Artisanal Gelato stand next to BNL Bank with fabulous gelato and fresh fruit cups. Try the Limon with a hint of basil. Wonderfu!!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room. We were on the second floor. Nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect for a quick tour of Rome. Clean, helpful staff, good breakfast, new/updated, location within walking distance of all the major sites. Rooms were wonderfully air conditioned. Off of a quiet, quaint street. Rooms were tight, but where in Rome isn't? Besides, the point is to be out and about anyway. Great value and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel was just fine. I was travelling with a group of 16 (8 rooms) and we stayed here for four nights. The location was great - we walked to and from all of the major attractions. We all felt very safe. This was my second time in Rome. The previous time we stayed within an easy walk to the train station in a far 'faster' area of the city. I got a totally different impression of Rome this time, largely due to the great neighbourhood around this hotel. The only downsides I can see were: 1) Smell in some of the rooms. I believe this was a 'newly renovated' smell that went away once the window was open but those with environmental sensitivities should be aware. 2) The staff is pleasant enough but couldn't be termed as 'friendly'.
One the other hand, there are comments here giving a negative review of the breakfast which all of our group thought was just fine. I was expecting terrible coffee based on some of the comments but found it was just fine as well and I consider myself as picky about my coffee. The rooftop terrace is a great amenity - we spent a lot of time up there (if you feed the gulls the woman next door calls to complain to the hotel management though) and it was a good way to meet and converse with other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rclip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Room newly refurbished. Comfortable but corridors are too noisy. Very central at walking distance from many monuments. Good breakfast included with the room......................................................

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Guillaume W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#43 of 1,270 in Rome
821 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#121 of 1,270 in Rome
1,137 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#47 of 1,270 in Rome
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#32 of 1,270 in Rome
761 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Fiori
Casa de'Fiori
#541 of 1,270 in Rome
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Address: Via Dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#315 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £85 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing