We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, delightful rooms”
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #138 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

A friend and I spent two nights at Hotel Smeraldo. The twin room was a small but comfortable and air conditioning appreciated. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day. The staff were brilliant, helping with every request. We were able to drop our bags off at 8am and got our room early. We reserved places at dinner with reception and they gave lots of help on where to visit.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank FlaneurJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Smeraldo. Loved the location, close to Campo di Fiori. Lots of shops and restaurants. And, close to our favorite gelato shop - GROM. While Rome is more spread out, this location was within walking distance to many of the sites. Another favorite was Piazza Navaro. Lovely fountains, enjoyed the artists. The hotel staff was attentive and helpful. Breakfast was above average with pastries, meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, etc. Nice to have breakfast before leaving for the day. Bathroom was a little small, with the smallest shower I've seen. But, we made it work. Would recommend Hotel Smeraldo.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent five great nights at Hotel Smeraldo. The location was close to all the major attactions and restuarants in Campo di Fiori. The staff was attentive and helpful and the rooms were clean and neat. We really enjoyed the two roof top terraces after a long day of seeing the sites. There are several small markets nearby that sell cheese and olives and wine and we enjoyed them nightly on the roof. I strongly recommend the gellato place just at the end of the street. They had a great selection and made us feel welcome. My only complaint, and it's not a major one, is that the breakfast could have used a little more selection. Over all this was a great place to stay and a real bargin. I will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street. It was a little noisy late at night but then it may just h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spectra72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were graciously greeted at this little gem of a hotel and while a balcony room was not available we were moved to one on our second night. The rooms are efficient and the bathroom was new and modern with great design. Breakfast was ample. The two terraces had intimate and wonderful views. Everything is in walking distance. Never need to research another hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 261Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here at the recommendation of a (priest) friend who stays here when in Rome. Near the Largo Argentina The Hotel Smeraldo has a wonderful, central location accessible to the tram, buses and within walking distance of the Campo, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, etc.The people are extremely nice, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and always kept in top condition by the smiling staff. The windows really shut out any unwanted noise and make it pleasantly quiet. They have several terraces which provide nice views to the adjacent domes of San Andrea della Valle and San Carlo and make for a great 'picnic'. They had a little difficulty with the (free) internet when we arrived but the problem was solved before we left.
Continental breakfast was excellent - much more than expected, with meats and cheese, pastries and rolls, etc. They are happy to make cappuccino or hot chocolate along with the american coffee and tea.

Room Tip: I am not sure if it makes a difference but we stayed on an 'inner courtyard' room. Though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJH109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice 3 star in old part of Rome. Easy walking distance of all main attractions, absolute glut of restaurants for all tastes and price ranges within minutes. Public transport not the best in this part of town so unless a 40min walk appeals it will be a taxi back to Termini (train station).

As of mid June the hotel is part way through renovation. Our intial double room (204) was tiny, 12 inches between bed and wall all the way round, tiny shower (60cm x 70cm). We are both slim and average build, anyone bigger would have really struggled to shower adequately. Room very much in need of redecoration, noise from shower and toilet in room above very loud. Adjoining door to next room, only closable from one side.
Asked to change room, no hastle but could only happen the next day. New room (304) completely different, plenty of space, very modern "open" decor (no closed wardrobes, plenty of rail space and shelf space. No noisy plumbing.
The fire escape plan, showing the layout of the hotel, showed that the 06 rooms are the smallest in the hotel on every floor. My suspcion is that they are actually supposed to be a single room and as they are attcahed to the adjoining room are perhaps designed for families.

Breakfast adequate, but basic.
Staff friendly.
Supermarket 2min walk.
Good restaurants - Pallardo up the road, authentic Roman, cheap but quality.
Da Pancrazio just of the Fiori square, nice food but quite expensive.

Summary, would recommend but avoid the small rooms

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jimbo159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Smeralado for 6 nights upon arriving in Rome. The staff were very helpful with our queries for closest BNL bank, travel agent (for train tickets) etc. We were given a newly remodeled room and were pleasantly surprised. I had picked the hotel because of location as the photos of the room were just fair. The room we had was modern and bathroom totally updated. Loved the shower with the large overhead rain spout and the multiple heads shooting from the sides. One could pick how one wanted to be showered. The windows are sound proof as we were over looking the cafe and restaurant a few feet across the street, Heard nothing when windows closed. Air conditioning worked great. The location of the hotel is perfect. Near Campo de Fiori, Piazzo Navonna, The Argentine etc. We were able to walk everywhere including the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, The Colisseum etc. For a 3 star hotel very reasonable and would highly recommend it. Clean and comfortable. Note: Artisanal Gelato stand next to BNL Bank with fabulous gelato and fresh fruit cups. Try the Limon with a hint of basil. Wonderfu!!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room. We were on the second floor. Nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#73 of 1,272 in Rome
831 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#112 of 1,272 in Rome
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#127 of 1,272 in Rome
1,597 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#44 of 1,272 in Rome
1,064 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#38 of 1,272 in Rome
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Address: Via Dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#315 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £86 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing