We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly, helpfull staff, very comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Ranked #61 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly, helpfull staff, very comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

You can't beat the location at the top of the Spanish Steps! Very short walk to the Metro, very convenient. Very clean hotel and our rooms were excellent! Great breakfast and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We will likely stay here on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    102
    12
    6
    12
See reviews for
105
154
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel has beautifully decorated rooms. The location is ideal, central, and next to a metro station only a few stops along from the railway station (there's a lift from the metro station that takes you up to the top of the Spanish steps, where the hotel is). The service is friendly and the English spoken is excellent. The array of options in the buffet breakfast is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgia002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcock, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Fabulous little boutique hotel and the location is brilliant, it's literally right at the top of the Spanish Steps and 1 minute walk from boutiques and shops. Our room was quite small but so opulent with gorgeous antique furniture and big windows. Breakfast included in price in the lovely little garden room upstairs. Lovely bowl of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal, bacon & eggs, cheese & ham, croissants & cakes, fresh coffee etc. Juice was awful though! We were in room 2 right beside reception and I was worried it could be noisy but it was fine. I highly recommend this hotel, I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyGleeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A good small hotel. Room with charming decor. Simple but anyway OK breakfast served in a little room and roof terrace with good view. A perfect location at the top end of the Spanish steps. Reception staff was friendly. The only con in my opinion was the quality of the shower - water temperature and pressure varied very much. Not a big issue, I think. The hotel also provides transportation - we used their Mercedes when getting to the airport. The price was 2 euros more than a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKa1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very comfortable hotel in a great location at the top of the Spanish Steps. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was perfect in size and comfort. Could not ask for more. Breakfast was adequate. Bathroom good size with tub.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely and cosy hotel. The room and bathroom are small and the shower door did not work very well and I had water all over the bathroom. There was only a small desk in the room and I ended up working on the bed. But the lovely decor and free wifi more than make up for these inconveniences.

The front desk guys were very friendly and their suggestions for restaurants were spot-on! They gave me a warm welcome when they allowed me check-in at 8am in the morning, after a tiring 10-hour flight.

Breakfast was a simple, continental spread and the outdoor eating area was cool and lovely (need to watch out for scavenging birds). Great location and we were able to walk around the lovely city. Overall, a much better place to stay on my 2nd business trip to Rome. Thanks to the warm and hospitable folks!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the dining area if you do not want to be woken up early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is perfect in every way! The staff is absolutely amazing and treat you like a friend. Couldn't beat the location - so easy to get to so much in Rome, or steps away from metro or bus stop. The breakfast was great, and loved the views from both the rooftop eating area and from the rooms. The room did not feel like a hotel at all, loved the decor. I hope to go back to Rome and stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#112 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#291 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalinata di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalinata di Spagna

Property: Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Address: Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 17, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in Rome
#248 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scalinata di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the best location in Rome, at the top of the Spanish Steps, 3 star hotel Scalinata di Spagna offers a warm and elegant atmosphere as well as the most beautiful view of the Eternal City. Following extensive renovation works, the hotel is now ready to welcome guests in a more exclusive and elegant ambiance. Mentioned by the best tourist guides such as Fodor and Frommer, the Scalinata di Spagna is the best accommodation choice for those in search of a tiny and elegant hotel in Rome city centre equipped with all the necessary facilities for a comfortable stay in this outstanding ancient city.Guests will easily reach on foot all the main historical and tourist sites as well as the most exclusive shopping areas, such as Via Condotti, Via Frattina or Via del Corso boasting the best Italian fashion boutiques. The area also offers a wide choice of bars and restaurants, and Via Veneto, the famous street of La dolce vita, is just a few blocks away.Scalinata di Spagna Hotel facilities include a panoramic terrace, free wireless internet access and an Internet Point. Furthermore the hotel's staff is at your complete disposal in order to make the most of your memorable holiday in Rome.Please note: Complete renovation of the guestrooms and of the public areas has been completed in March 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Scalinata di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalinata Di Spagna Rome
Scalinata Di Spagna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing