We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice and Accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Ranked #187 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Marana, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice and Accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We enjoyed staying here. Everyone from the maids to the owner were welcoming. They spoke pretty good english and were helpful with my italian. An excellent breakfast came with the price of the room. It is an excellent location near the Vatican and other sightseeing areas. At the time of the year the room became a little warm until we alerted them to leaving the A/C on during the night. They have WiFi, but check your emails in the lobby. We would stay there again if we go to Rome.

Room Tip: Any room would be good because the hotel is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hubedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    74
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
85
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Have see this hotel a number of times when visiting vatican and was on my list to stay there. Was not disappointed. Reception staff very welcoming during my stay and an excellent breakfast was available. Room comfortable with marbled bathroom and air conditioning throughout. A stone's throw from Vatican and have no hesitation in making a retun booking

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olovemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder, colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

My yearly routine rarely varies: a train from Assisi to Rome, a taxi through the city passing by St. Peter's Square and in a few more moments I'm standing in front of the Hotel Sant Anna Roma on Borgo Pio feeling as though I have returned to a sweet oasis. I'm greeted warmly by the wonderful front desk person in a lovely reception area (and I often see other Americans that I know there). I take the tiny elevator upstairs to a beautifully decorated room and relax for about ten minutes before zipping down the stairs and out the door to walk the very short distance (past a couple of shops and restaurants) to St. Peter's Square. Of course, the Vatican museums are very close by also, and the gorgeous religious articles and book stores that line Via Conciliazione. When I return I will enjoy a shower in the spotlessly clean bathroom, and then take a walk to one of the many outdoor restaurants for a terrific Italian dinner. The hotel is small, elegant...but also warm and inviting, and they serve an excellent breakfast in the downstairs dining room. I have no desire to ever stay in another hotel in Rome. This one is just perfect. The location allows me to go back and forth to the Vatican, to visit lots of shops and museums, restaurants and then get a great night's sleep in a quiet and lovely room. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hiker030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hotel Sant Anna has always been our hotel of choice when visiting Rome (we have stayed here at least four times). The staff is most helpful and friendly, and the location can't be beat. Breakfast is a treat as well. The location is exceptional - you are close to St. Peter's, Castelo San Angelo, Piazza Navona across the Tiber, and many other sights. Ask the staff for restaurant recommendations: we were not disappointed when trying their suggestions. I would say to venture off the hotel's street for meals, as the restaurants are touristy. There are many others nearby that are good. Also, be sure to get directions to Giolitti, a great gelato shop near Piazza Navona.

When we are fortunate enough to return to Rome, we will chose the Sant Anna.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter. But rooms in the front let you watch the street scene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

This is a charming hotel 2 blocks from the Vatican on a nice street with restaurants, shops and local activity. It is not a noisy street. The hotel offers a nice breakfast and staff are friendly and very helpful. Our quiet room next to the small elevator had a little balcony overlooking courtyard with standard amenities but no English speaking channels on tv. Nearest Metro is about 15 min walk. We enjoyed our 4 night stay and recommend this family operated hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ncc1701a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The Hotel Sant Anna is truly extraordinary. Located less than a minute walk from the Vatican wall and 5 minutes to St. Peter's, the location alone would demand any traveler's attention. But, there are many more outstanding reasons to stay at the Sant Anna.

The staff is exceptionally professional, experienced, welcoming and helpful. In particular, Visgardo and Elizabetta were exceptional. This family owned hotel is a small, intimate and meticulously cared for treasure in the shadow of the Vatican. When you step out of the beautifully decorated lobby and entrance - look to your right and up Borgo Pio - you'll see the Swiss Guard at their posts. Look to your left and enjoy the lively street atmosphere of small shops, cafes and restaurants.

The location is only one of the many reasons why government officials from other countries, Cardinals, church officials, their families and friends, as well as seasoned visitors to Rome return to the Sant Anna every time they're in town. The artwork adorning the public spaces is museum quality. The marble foyer and stairs make you feel as though you're a guest at the residence of your country's ambassador. The garden area - tucked in the back of the hotel - is a very quiet and private retreat, perfectly furnished with comfortable chairs and a small fountain. A perfect place for a third cup of coffee or tea in the morning or a late night glass of wine. The full breakfast - which is included in the daily rate - was consistently delicious with a choice of eggs, hot and cold meats, cheeses, fresh breads (including amazing crusty rolls), cereals, fresh fruits, juices, coffee and tea. If you'd prefer to have breakfast in your room, they will gladly provide you with a stunning silver plated set to carry your selections.

From mid-morning to late evening the street (Borgo Pio) is filled with people coming and going from the Vatican, as well as visitors to the shops and restaurants. While it's a busy street, it's not noisy. Vehicles are not allowed unless picking up or dropping off so all you really hear (if you open the window in your room) is the wonderful sound of people talking and enjoying themselves along with occasional singing accompanied by music from an accordion and guitar.

Our room was located directly above the center of the hotel overlooking the flags and provided a great view of the lively street below. It was simply beautiful - large and nicely arranged and furnished with a very comfortable king bed, pillows and covers. A small window seat and an additional built-in, banquette-style cushioned seat complemented two chairs. Plenty of closet space and drawers, as well as a good-size desk that included a small refrigerator. The ceilings and walls appeared freshly and carefully painted - one with a stunning mural of ancient roman soldiers. The attention to detail was remarkable. We took at least 20 photos of the bathroom in the hope of replicating some of the beauty in our master bathroom at home. The fixtures were elegant and modern and the shower was nothing short of fantastic - marble throughout from floor to ceiling.

Highly recommended and surprisingly affordable. One tip: make your reservations as far in advance as possible. Elisabetta was a joy and assisted us with many related details.

Room Tip: Any rooms in the front provide a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMCurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

If this is what you want, then just a mere few steps away brings you to the centre of St. P
eter's square.
We were there for 3 days only, so being central was of the utmost importance.
On the Wednesday morning we were lucky enough to be just a few feet away from the new Pope at his general audience.
The hotel was extremely well run, very pleasant staff, with a more than adequate breakfast room.
It was also very clean.
I highly recommend it and would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the and exceptionally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#60 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#368 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#107 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#33 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Hearth Hotel
#95 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Anna Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Anna Roma

Property: Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Address: Borgo Pio 134, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Rome
#143 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#147 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Anna Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the monumental setting of the Rome of the Popes, in a 16th century building in the shadow of St. Peter’s Basilica, the Hotel Sant’Anna offers gracious hospitality in the best hotel tradition. The salon and the enchanting courtyard offer pleasant setting for meetings and relaxation. Hotel Sant’Anna, a superior three star Rome hotel, will certainly offer to its guests a very nice and comfortable atmosphere.The Hotel Sant’Anna has 3 floors served by an elevator and rooms for disabled people on ground-floor. An American buffet breakfast is served In the charming breakfast room, where decorative murals evoke view of the city. The hotel has also a pretty courtyard and some rooms with terrace. A garage is available close to the hotel from 23 Euro per day. Possibility to book tours of Rome at the hotel’s desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sant Anna Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Anna Rome
Sant Anna Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing