We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Location for a Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Ranked #162 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Perfect Location for a Charming Hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2005

Hotel S. Anna is a small, friendly, extremely clean and comfortable hotel literally just around the corner from St. Peter's. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. At the last minute they were able to help get us on a tour in the afternoon, and offered great recommendations of places to eat and where to buy wine nearby to take home. Our room had a very small balcony off of it, but for our last night in Rome, after taking our last walk through St. Peter's Square, it was delightful to sit out on our little balcony enjoying the pleasant summer evening. There is also a courtyard to enjoy at the hotel with tables and umbrellas. I would not consider staying someplace else when returning to Rome. If you are heading to Florence or Paris from Rome and like Hotel S. Anna, you may want to consider looking at Hotel Casci in Florence or Residence Foch in Paris. All three of these hotels were similiar in their small at home feeling with the staff fluent in English and eager to help to make your stay in their city an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
53 Thank mabards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    74
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
84
86
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2005

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Sant'anna on the Borgo Pio a stones throw from St Peter's. I have to say that the rooms were clean and comfortable and larger than expected. They also have a nice, simple breakfast buffet included in the price. The rooms in front of the hotel had some street noise. The Borgo Pio isn't really a through street so there isn't constant traffic, but there are restaurants and shops that open early and close late. So you are a light sleeper, get a room in the back.

The front desk was more than helpful. Mario, who is on during the day is more than adequate with his english.

There are 6 or 7 Trattorias just outsde the door, one of which ROMANELLA is to be avoided due to its mediocre food and its shameful practice of bringing you the bill and then advising you that the tip is not included in the price and adding on a non-existant 10 Euro "Tax" to the bill. I'm sure that they feel that with so many options you will only eat there once, so get every nickel they can squeeze out of you.

But, aside from ROMANELLA's deceitful practice, which by the way was not recommeded by the Sant'anna staff, it was a delightful stay.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank Altajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 June 2005

The location was perfect for us, as we were in town for only 3 days. We appreciated being able to walk over to the Vatican area early in the morning and easily back to to hotel to cool off in the heat of the day. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with all kinds of travel information and dining suggestions. There were 3 couples in our group and we were all very pleased with our rooms and the hotel in general. It's a really nice little oasis amid the crowds and busy streets of Rome.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2005

Enjoyed a short break in Rome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.Excellent decor and furnishings,quiet location and an ample breakfast to start your sightseeing !

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank Simma14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2005

We recently enjoyed 4 nights at the hotel S. Anna. The staff were very friendly, and when we checked in were asked if we would like a larger room than we booked, at no extra cost. During our stay the staff allowed us to use their computer to check our e-mail at home. The neighborhood is fun, losts of small shops, a bakery, fruit store, wine shop and many small eateries. It really is a block from St. Peters, and is close to the metro and a major bus and trolly stop. It is also a short walk across the bridges to other major tourist attractions and great neighborhoods. We would stay again when going back to rome.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
51 Thank buoybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland , Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Sant'Anna and loved it!!!! Five minutes from Saint Peter's.
Clean. Good breakfasts. Pleasant staff.

Helpful?
30 Thank historybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2004

My family just returned from Italy, and spent 4 nights at the Hotel Santanna. We all loved our time there. The location was perfect, a quiet pedestrian street, two blocks from the Vatican. The staff was extremely helpful with whatever we needed, including arranging for a taxi to meet us at the airport. The rooms were cheerful and had ample space. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The rate included a lovely breakfast of fruit, cereal and pastries, and cappucino's on request. Our three teenagers like it the best of all our Italian hotels. I thought it was a great bargin and would definitly stay there again!

Helpful?
50 Thank joey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#66 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#363 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#121 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#37 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Hearth Hotel
#96 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Anna Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Anna Roma

Property: Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Address: Borgo Pio 134, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Rome
#143 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#147 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Anna Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the monumental setting of the Rome of the Popes, in a 16th century building in the shadow of St. Peter’s Basilica, the Hotel Sant’Anna offers gracious hospitality in the best hotel tradition. The salon and the enchanting courtyard offer pleasant setting for meetings and relaxation. Hotel Sant’Anna, a superior three star Rome hotel, will certainly offer to its guests a very nice and comfortable atmosphere.The Hotel Sant’Anna has 3 floors served by an elevator and rooms for disabled people on ground-floor. An American buffet breakfast is served In the charming breakfast room, where decorative murals evoke view of the city. The hotel has also a pretty courtyard and some rooms with terrace. A garage is available close to the hotel from 23 Euro per day. Possibility to book tours of Rome at the hotel’s desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sant Anna Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Anna Rome
Sant Anna Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing