We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Bottom Hotel Close to Vatican”
Review of Hotel Museum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Museum
Ranked #466 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rock Bottom Hotel Close to Vatican”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is close to alot of the most popular sites in Rome, which is a good thing because you wouldn't want to spend much time in the hotel itself. There are virtually no amenities and the staff doesn't help much. Once I made a simple request from the desk and the response was, "We don't do that here, we are only a 3-star hotel." I don't know how they got the 3-star rating, they probably don't even deserve that. Their website (and booking.com) say there is wi-fi in the rooms but there isn't. There are only 4 channels on the television. No restaurant, and frankly not much nearby.

Room Tip: There is only wi-fi on the first room, so if that is important try to get a first floor room, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YukiValdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    94
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
69
80
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

FANTASTIC city center hotel all in walking distance.just outside the Vatican.Shopping all around ,restaurants coffee places.Very clean hotel,very good breakfast and the best guy at the reception under the name Andreas.Clean and comfortable rooms.Dont miss out when in Rome

Room Tip: all rooms are soundproof and some view of the streets around
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nico k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at this family run hotel owned by Paolo Alimandi who also worked the front desk. He was very helpful in recommending nearby family owned restaurants. The front desk receptionist, Duny Avast, was very helpful and alert regarding the Gypsies around the neighborhood. She spotted the gypsies following us to the hotel. And thank you to Francesco, who make sure that we have hot breakfast buffet served at the rooftop. This great hotel is just across the Vatican Museum, a 10 minute walk to the Vatican City and St. peter's Basilica. I highly recommend this hotel when you go to ROME.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jojo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
308 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were here with a tour group, and loved the hotel, right near the entrance to the Vatican Museum. Our room was a gem of organization (almost like a dorm room), with shelves and drawers in just the right places. Lots of public rooms and a large enclosed breakfast area on the roof. Very helpful staff, and plenty of ice for my achy knees.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swl781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great location and fantastic little hotel. A street away from the Vatican makes it a great for St Peter's, Sistine Chapel, etc.. but also walking distance to many of Rome's other sights.

Friendly & helpful staff made our stay, with useful advise on getting round the busy tourist spots and recommending some superb places to eat & drink. Francesco serving breakfast was a blast and really made us feel welcome, even with New Year hangover!

I strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a Vatican based hotel and will hopefully return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilgore, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I booked a room at the Alimandi B&B but were upgraded when we arrived to stay in the Hotel Alimandi Tunisi, which was wonderful and a great experience in every way. We had a little trouble finding it after getting off at the Cipro metro stop, but after a quick call to the hotel with some good directions, we found it just fine. The front desk staff were always helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and quiet almost all the time. There are two elevators for those on higher floors (we were on the first floor somewhat near the lobby). The breakfast buffet in the morning is excellent with hot food, cereal, yogurt, cheese, breads (sweet and savory) and coffee, juice, and milk. All of this is served by the very friendly Francesco on their rooftop terrace. The hotel is located just a few steps from the Vatican Museum entrance and a few blocks from two metro stops and several convenient bus stops (#23 being our most used and favorite). Many stores and restaurants are also nearby along with two grocery stores and a laundromat. This was an exceptional value per night as well, and the rate included breakfast. We would recommend the Hotel Alimandi for anyone visiting Rome. The only issue is that it is not as convenient for walking to the historic city center, but the bus system is well connected to the area, and perfect for getting around.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigHilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Very good location to visit Vatican. Everything was very clean. Kind and friendly staff. Very helpful. I was glad they were flexible to adjust my booking.

Breakfast is rather poor, once we had cold scrambled eggs, cappuccino is not drinkable.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#52 of 1,257 in Rome
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Flower
The Flower
#713 of 1,257 in Rome
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sotto La Cupola Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#98 of 1,257 in Rome
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Spring House
0.1 mi away
Residence Candia
Residence Candia
#382 of 1,257 in Rome
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museum

Property: Hotel Museum
Address: Via Tunisi 8, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Alimandi Tunisi)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #466 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimandi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing