We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hell No!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arenula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Arenula
Ranked #687 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Hell No!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Oh god!!!
No way in hell am I ever going back to this hotel!!

Unlike my other reviews I will list points about this hotel in terms of pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Great location. You can walk it to the Colosseum, Spanish Steps, the Tiber, Alter of the Fatherland
(That's all!!)

Cons:
1. Small rooms
2. No elevator
3. No WiFi in rooms. Only in the reception area
4. You have to carry all your luggage to your room even if it's on the 4th floor!
5. There is no view worthwhile
6. The breakfast spread is as long as your arm (see photo attached to review)
7. Most rude and inhospitable staff I have ever (and ever will) come across in my life
8. EUR 90 a day for all the above cons definitely not worth it

My suggestion if you don't care about the cons then go for this hotel.
My note to myself is I don't mind walking an extra mile or paying an extra euro or so for a better hotel.

Room Tip: The only tip is don't book a room here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prattyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    176
    116
    30
    26
See reviews for
69
150
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wantage
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We chose the hotel so we could walk everywhere. The location was the most important aspect: we wanted a walking holiday in a city and that is exactly what we got.

The hotel is greatly in need of updating, deep cleaning and decorating. Our room had a broken curtain rail, strange doors with metal shutters out to a flat roof and a poor bathroom behind a folding door.

Once we had got used to it the hotel grew on us and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was good and portions plentiful.

If you want a great central location and don't mind basic accommodation you could do worse!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraWantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just come back from a great visit to Rome. This hotel is very centrally based in reaching all the main attractions. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would book it again when I plan to return.

I did a 4 day/3nt trip it's not enough to really take in the beauty Rome has to offer but we gave it a good try and managed to visit all the main places we wanted to see, Piazza Novono, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Colosseum/Roman Forum, Vatican City, Sistine Chapel, St Peters Basilica. I would say you need at least 5 days to explore Rome without rushing.

Please note that rucksacks in the Museum at the Vatican are taken off you and placed in a cloakroom so please ensure you don't put too many valuables in your bag as you will end up carrying them around with you. Take a drink because the museum leading to the sistine chapel is 7km long. Remember it's a holy place so take something to cover your shoulders and don't wear shorts. Don't pay any more than 3 Euro's for a scarf if your shoulders are uncovered as many street sellers will try charging you 10 Euro.

Most places you can reach by foot but we used the hop on buses frequently after the first two days and the Metro. The gentleman on the reception desk at The Arenula hotel was helpful with providing bus numbers to where we wanted to go and which side of the Largo Argintina Ampitheatre to catch them from. Remember that each day you have to tell the receptionist what time you think you will be down for breakfast so they are aware in advance.

The hotel was great value for money and we were very pleased with our choice. There are a few restaurants round the corner from the hotel to the right, this road leads to the Jewish Ghetto area and we had a meal at a restaurant next to Nonna's, this restaurant serves Gluten Free Pasta which was superb. We often had a drink at the Irish bar round the corner from the hotel which had a nice atmosphere just don't order a Martini and Lemonade because that costs 12 Euros the other drinks/local drinks are far cheaper though.

One last thing, once you get to the shopping area within the airport be aware of the queues for the 2nd passport control checks. The lines were huge and we weren't expecting a second check. We almost missed our flight back as there are 19 gates in the H section and it was certainly more than a 9 minute walk.

We had a fantastic trip because we planned it in advance, just remember to pack suitable trainers, a light rain jacket (just in case) and drink plenty of water because you will be on your feet all day and night taking in the breathtaking views. I will definitely return to Rome and the Arenula very soon.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Print a map off the internet and plan which attractions you wish to see in advance. Our room had go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolley7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Location alone is worth rebooking the Hotel Arenula for our next revisit to Rome. Situated in the charming Largo Argentina area, the Arenula is in easy walking distance to most sites in the historical center of Rome (Colosseum, Pantheon, Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, etc.)

The neighborhood is lovely and the street is quiet, even at night.

The room is small and "no frills" (more like a guest room in a home than a typical hotel room), but the bed and bathroom were clean and in good repair.

Toiletries were very small and not consistently restocked, so bring your own shampoo, conditioner, body wash, etc. Towels were thin and small.

There is no wi-fi and the complimentary breakfast was lackluster at best.

The staff was average: friendly enough but not particularly warm, welcoming or helpful.

Bottom Line: if you're planning busy days and late nights touring Rome and just need a "crash pad", this perfectly located hotel is all you need. If you're looking for a luxurious hotel experience, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor, since there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leco731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The room is small and simple but the location is great, right on the 8 tram line that takes you right into piazza venizia.

This hotel is walking distance from many of the great piazzas or Rome and is truly "central".

Note: hotel had no elevator so if you have problem with steps it's not the hotel for you but we only had to walk up one flight so I would stay here again, no doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyEco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hotel Arenula was a positive surprise, I wasn't expecting much but it was really a good value for money.

Only downsides were the lack of wifi (although there is a computer in the lobby you are free to use) and that there was no elevator. These were no biggies for us but I realize they might be a dealbreaker for some. Our room was spacious, clean and unexpectedly quiet and the breakfast was ok, better than in some other hotels I've stayed in Rome (where it's been only coffee and croissant). Best thing about the hotel though has to be the superb location: within walking distance from most of the important sights and easily reachable from Fiumicino airport.

All in all, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a decent hotel in a decent price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeswereblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Arenula is a very simply hotel, but the rooms are relatively spacious, very clean and have good-sized bathrooms and air conditioning. Breakfast is also included. Most importantly, the location is unparalleled. You're a five minute walk to the Pantheon, Colloseum and Forum and maybe a 20 minute walk to the Vatican. It seems like there are very few hotels in the ancient centre of Rome but the Arenula is certainly among those few. It's also inexpensive (for Rome).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pomezia
Hotel Pomezia
#877 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#557 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Domus Ester
Domus Ester
#816 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#484 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Migdal Palace
Migdal Palace
#708 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#289 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenula

Property: Hotel Arenula
Address: Via di Santa Maria De' Calderari 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #687 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arenula 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arenula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenula Hotel Rome
Arenula Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing