We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, amazing location”
Review of Hotel Arenula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arenula
Ranked #699 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our room was very clean and felt very secure. This is not a luxury hotel nor is it very large - but if you don't plan to waste too much time in your room, this hotel is perfect. The location is amazing, walking distance to all the major sites in Rome and easy access to public transportation. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Excellent value!

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Location couldn't have been better, within walking distance to all the main sites. We didn't use any public transport but do remember to take comfy shoes.
Hotel was better than we expected, help was offered to carry bags upstairs, breakfast was reasonable (nice crossiants) and room was average 2 star (quite small and decor a little aged).
I would definitely stay here again, as its a great base for exploring Rome and very close to lovely restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HGM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Location, location, location. Easy access to main attractions even on foot. Average rooms, rather small. Breakfast - just bread, jam and coffee. No elevator - difficult to carry luggage to upper floors. Place quiet for sleep.

Room Tip: Choose second floor to save your legs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmandasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Location is excellent. You can walk to most of the tourist attractions. Great selection of good eating places around.

The staff is friendly. The room was excellent for the money - large room (in fact two rooms) with one double bed and two single beds was given to us as a double room. Very clean, the furniture was a bit old, but ok for the price. There is a safe in the room. The bathroom was small, but clean and tidy. Lots of towels provided, shampoo, shower gel, toothbrushes, toothpaste, shower caps, even shaving gear.

The only real problem was WiFi. Although hotel declares that there is free WiFi, in fact it is very unstable. I couldn't get my iphone to connect in the room most of the times. Ipad was better, but sometimes it couldn't connect either.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alex_sashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I am usually a positive, chirpy person... Not in the practice of berating hotels/people in general. But there isn't really a silver lining to this REALLY DARK CLOUD. This hotel, by far, has been the VERY WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE! And yes, I have been fortunate enough to have travelled all over the world.

SERVICE IS ABSOLUTELY PATHETIC. On arrival, the front desk made us feel like they are doing us a favor by checking us in - gave us the most grouchy, grumpy expressions (and SNORTS!!! Can you believe that...?!) The two people on the desk kept sniveling... and gave us the impression that they were mocking us in Italian! Not at all the welcome you expect! I have heard in general that Italians are racist, and Arenula most definitely made me feel like "brown skin" is not welcome!

We were given a room on the 4th floor, and yes! No lifts! So lug your luggage all the way to the top floor! I didn't encounter a single smiling staff member throughout my stay! All through the horrifying 4 days, coming back to the hotel was one thing I dreaded! Breakfast was again a torture with the person serving us literally screaming at everyone! (Who wants to start a day like that...?!)

Yes! The hotel is at an advantageous location, since you can kinda walk to most of the sites like Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Piazza Navona etc. The Tiber is a 5 minute walk (And yes!!! you must go to the banks of The Tiber at night - wonderful, wonderful vibe with an incredible assortment of street shopping and cafes!)

Apart from its location, Arenula has nothing speaking for it! Please splurge a little extra and find a place where you feel welcomed, coz no matter what - when you are tired after a long, long day and want to come back to your hotel and crash... You most definitely do want to be greeted with a smile!

(Also a good way to judge if the hotel staff/management care about you is to observe their responses on TripAdvisor - do they respond to a bad review, do they apologise for almost having ruined your holiday, do they care? If you notice, Arenula Management HAS NEVER EVER POSTED A RESPONSE. Which goes to show that they don't really care! Why would you want to stay in a place, where THEY ACTUALLY DONT KNOW THE MEANING OF THE WORD HOSPITALITY?)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ambili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

If you are a girl, don't go there!Dangerous place!I am a girl and I was at Arenula as student in January 2014. Rooms are not properly cleaned. Breakfast very poor. Girls be carefull! The receptionist Mr. Dom.. is a stolker! Every time I passed by the reception he found a reason to stop me, come next to me, put hands on me and be too close to me for no reasons... When my boyfriend came to visit me, regularly registered, one day he was jealous and told him to not come back again.. unbelievable!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank cellfiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_24266, Proprietario at Hotel Arenula, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are absolutely sorry and surprised to read such a review.

Regarding the above mentioned receptionist, there is to say that it is now 14 years that he is in charge of our hotel, having always been a very serious and professional employee and we have never received complaints but compliments on his seriousness.

Therefore, we never had disciplinary or customer care issues with this person.

Politeness and discretion are, as a matter of fact, one of our defining features.

About the guest who was not authorized to visit the customer, we had just invited to exhibit his identity card in conformity with our law procedure.

Upon his refusal to do so, we could not allow him to enter the rooms but we invited him to spend time in our lobby, where other clients clearly witnessed the event.

Anna Grande
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The location is perfect, close to everything, in a quiet street, and the guy at the front desk was always helpful and reliable. Yet the bathroom was cleaned in a superficial way (hair on the floor and in the sink), the blankets are old and worn beyond belief, there was an ashtray in the (nonsmoking) room and it was clear that someone had been smoking. Very basic. Ideal for backpackers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pomezia
Hotel Pomezia
#982 of 1,268 in Rome
334 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#428 of 1,268 in Rome
261 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#658 of 1,268 in Rome
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Domus Ester
Domus Ester
#890 of 1,268 in Rome
258 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Locanda Cairoli
Hotel Locanda Cairoli
#681 of 1,268 in Rome
23 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenula

Address: Via di Santa Maria De' Calderari 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #699 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £95 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arenula 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Arenula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenula Hotel Rome
Arenula Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing