We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel - don't expect too much”
Review of Locanda Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Locanda Carmel
Ranked #625 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Budget hotel - don't expect too much”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked this hotel purely for it's location (about 1 mile from the Vatican) having read the reviews on tripadvisor, I was expecting a bit more, we were checked in quickly and with ease, Trastevere is a peaceful area with a sprinkling of restaurants nearby, the hotel itself was very tired and the room small with really old furniture, we possibly had the worst breakfast we've ever had in Europe but we saw the funny side of it although the coffee was decent, Rome itself was an outstanding city and at the end of the day, who goes to Rome to stay in your hotel, I wouldn't say to anyone not too book this hotel but be aware it is very basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzbubble_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    48
    15
    14
    14
See reviews for
18
75
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great value for money! Settled in the quite and beautiful Trastevere on the west side of the Tiber river. Clean and big rooms, nice balcony.
The only minus is a poor Wifi reception in some of the rooms and the typical breakfast you can usually find in Italy's B&B's.
Other than that, there are nice pubs aroung, good ice-cream and local trattorias just around the corner.
All the highlights of Rome are a walking distance away.
This place is just fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amirthebrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were looking for two rooms (5 adults) at a reasonably priced hotel in a central location. This small hotel was recommended for our pre-cruise Rome stop.

The staff at the hotel was exceptionally friendly and accommodating since we arrived from our international flight long before check-in. We lugged our suitcases up the staircase and waited in the dining area. We were provided one room as soon as it was cleaned. Our rooms were very small, simply appointed, and clean. The bathroom in one room was tiny. It was smaller than the cruise ship's bathroom. We were able to walk to several attractions and there were many restaurants nearby.

After 8 pm, the front desk was unmanned. Fortunately, no issues occurred that warranted anyone's assistance. Our windows faced a cafe that was open late. There was considerable street noise. A modest breakfast was provided in an adjacent room that had a delightful attached garden. Free WiFi was available in the dining area.

The hotel advertises itself as a kosher hotel. The staff knew little about the nearby Jewish Quarter. The other guests in the hotel were non Jews and came from European countries. We appeared to be the only Americans.

It was a basic hotel that satisfied our pre cruise needs. If we were staying longer and had a larger budget, I would have considered a hotel with more amenities.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sandyB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The positive: Clean, cosy, quiet, comfortable bed, excellent rooftop terrace, 5 min walk from the charm of Trastevere's restaurants and bars, simple breakfast with good coffee(easy start:-)and welcoming personell. And- I like things simple and not posh.
Down side: small rooms. But ,hey, your'e not in Rome to dance in your room, are you? It's a place to put your suitcase and sleep during the battles.
TV, fridge and private bathroom in a one star hotel? Say no more...Be aware that the reception closes early, so don't expect staff to be present to assist you in your search for Roman culture.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litenluring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had 4 nights in this hotel. While it was adequate, we wished we'd spent more money for better accom. The air con was incredibly noisy and the heat in August that week required it's use consistently. Rooms are fine as are the bathroom facilities - but they are old and rundown. Clean and comfortable but only adequate. Small rooms but that is the way. We liked the location and enjoyed walking to most attractions. We really liked the area. The breakfast was also ok... as long as you don't expect a full cooked breakfast... you got coffee/tea, cereal and toast with jams. It is what I would consider a budget hotel - and fine if you're prepared for that.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I decided to organise my first trip to Rome last month as a dream finally becoming true.. after a bit of search i discovered this lovely hotel in a perfect central location which allowed me to basically walk to my favourite historical attractions.. I was so amazed at the lovely assistance by the staff, who showed me my room and suggested the best itinerary routes around the city. As a keen traveller I have been in many hotels and this one really got me for its warm welcoming, its delicious breakfasts and the availability in assisting my needs. Although my trip in Rome was short I am already planning a longer trip through Italy and I'll make sure that when i'll go through Rome I'll book in advance for Carmel Hotel! Safe Travels!

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Me and my husband went to Rome for a weekend and spent a lovely time in this fantastic city. We choose the right hotel to have our second and short honey moon. situated in the middle of the city , in one of the best neighborhoods that I never see. So intimate, confortable and cozy. For sure we will lodge again in the Carmel Hotel.Compliments for the service and thanks to make happend our perfect week end!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chantal i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#478 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#524 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#283 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte
Villa della Fonte
#537 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#504 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Carmel

Property: Locanda Carmel
Address: Via Goffredo Mameli 11, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#199 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Locanda Carmel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Locanda Carmel situated in Rome's charming Trastevere area. Look no further for superb value budget accommodation in a great location in Rome. A small and welcoming hotel in the medieval allure of Trastevere on the west side of the River Tiber, Hotel Carmel offers top quality service at affordable rates. With a variety of cheap Rooms available, we can cater for most types of guest, from travellers to couples or small families enjoying a break in Rome. All rooms are tastefully decorated and are fitted with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing