We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domus Aventina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domus Aventina
Ranked #655 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
san francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed a week in 2012. Been there before in 1998 and was in better shape then. For it's price and level it is an OK hotel in Rome, a little above average but not great by any means. Most positive is the area--it is quite and peaceful yet close enough to many of the important sites of Rome or transportation. Negative: although everything works it needs renovation; staff is responsive but never willingly--has to be proded into action. Also they said the garden didn't belong to the hotel but I see it in their promo photos! Frankly I think they lied about this. Overall--affordable but decent and quite hotels in Rome are hard to come by so this gets an endorsement but anywhere else it would a thumbs down without some serious discounts. Allso seemed to be a lot of folks on business staying at the hotel so don't expect fun and games at breakfest which by the way is only so-so but then again it is in Rome...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramram77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    91
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
27
94
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Nice, quiet hotel in a calm, leafy part of the city. It really isn't far to the Piazza Argentina, Trastevere and the other sights - about a half hour's walk if you walk down the cobbled path to the Tiber and along the bank. You can also get the tram 3 to the Colosseum and eventually end up at the zoo in Villa Borghese. The range of things on offer at breakfast wasn't enormous, but the croissants were freshly baked and the coffee was excellent. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. The only minor drawback is that there aren't many restaurants in the immediate area - you need to walk down to around Piramide and surrounds for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

Quite old hotel in a quite good location. In many websites it is rated +8 out of 10, which I do not understand at all. It is not really clean in the corners and in general everything is worn. Breakfast is also OK for Italian standards, however the cappuccino's are very milky; I am not sure whether this is done for the tourists?

All in all an OK hotel, but nothing to pay extra for!

Helpful?
Thank garfieldpbj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We found nothing not to like about Domus Aventina. It is attractive and very convenient located in a quiet residential area, but within walking distance of some major attractions including the Carracella baths (and therefore ideal for the open air opera) and of useful transport links. We loved our room with its terrace and décor, wi-fi etc were all just fine. Staff were unfailingly courteous and helpful and breakfast, though basic, was OK - and exceptionally pleasantly served - you wouldn't want anything more substantial at the start to long hot days of sightseeing. Highly recommended and we'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have stayed at the hotel for 4 days. The location of the hotel is very good as it is on a quiet area and just 5 minutes from the circo massimo metro station. Depending on the room you may also have a balcony and a nice view at the hotel's yard.

Rooms are of a good size, but they need a renovation since they seem really old and dirty. There is also a very unpleasant smell probably coming out from the dirty carpet.
The hotel has free wi-fi connection, but the connection is awful and it is impossible to do your work, especially at peak time where everyone uses it.

Breakfast is limited and it was the same every day, but you can have a very nice coffee prepared by a very polite employee

In general i believe that this hotel is on a nice location,but it needs a renovation.

Room Tip: Request for a room with balcony If you use their puck up service from the airport have in mind that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just checked out from this hotel yesterday. While I was out of my room, with the Do Not Disturb sign on the door, an employee entered my room and stole my laptop. When I asked the front desk person he couldn't care less and didn't try to help me or show any sympathy.

He finally agreed to open up the doors to the maid's closet ... where my agenda book (removed from my purse) was sitting nicely on the shelf. I still never got my computer back but I will NEVER stay here or recommend this to anyone coming here again.

It's a shame for the because I live in the neighborhood of the hotel (was just staying there w a friend as a "treat") so I have sent tons of guests their way, not anymore.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ash7789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domus-aventina, Responsabile reception at Domus Aventina, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear madam,
I'm really concerned reading your review, the things are actually different: nobody entered your room with the sign Do not disturb and please note that we have electronic locks and no entrance has been registered before your check out; when you checked out, you didn't report to the receptionist about your laptop or mention anything about what you suppose was happening. Only later you call the hotel again to ask if you've left your laptop in the room, but the maid has only found an agenda which has been stored and returned to you. So, your laptop has NOT BEEN STOLEN in the hotel, maybe you forgot or lose it somewhere else!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#92 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Aventine
Major Aventinus Hotel
Major Aventinus Hotel
#902 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#62 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#611 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#49 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#428 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Aventina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Aventina

Property: Domus Aventina
Address: Via di Santa Prisca 11/b, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #655 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Aventina 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Domus Aventina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Aventina Hotel Rome
Domus Aventina Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing