We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms and breakfast not good, staff kind and helpfull”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Domus Aventina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Aventina
Ranked #669 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rooms and breakfast not good, staff kind and helpfull”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

The rooms are tiny (a prison cell might be larger). Hot water took 10 minutes to reach my room. Heating did not work. Room was very dark. Only cold breakfast was served, but the coffee was great. Internet connection did not reach my room. But ... for the price and if someone likes freezing, it is ok.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domus-aventina, Responsabile reception at Domus Aventina, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Sir, regarding your review I'd like to inform you that every room has its own heating which is well working if swicthed it on with a remote controller; if you had any problem with it or with hot water you should had reported to the receptionist, which is on duty 24 hours/day and we would have solved it as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    91
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
27
94
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Very average. Needs total refurb. Some black mould in bathrooms. Room i had very gloomy.
Tired. 90euros a night in feb/march. Staff were very pleasant and helpfull, although we did speak a little italian, which goes a long way. Rooms appear clean as do bathrooms. Breakfast, adequate, but if you want full cooked, go out.
Location is good on aventina hill, very quiet and walkable to the cetral sights.

Room Tip: Facing the rear courtyard, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philiusfogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I arrived in the evening at the hotel and was bearly greeted by a gentleman at the reception. It seemed like he wasn't really happy to be there. I did my check-in and expected the receptionist to show me the way to my room or at least which way to go. I had a suitcase and had my room on the top floor. Unfortunately I had to carry it on my own as there was no elevator and no one to help.
Breakfast was terrible, service as well and I regret staying there whilst on my first trip to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSabPar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domus-aventina, Responsabile reception at Domus Aventina, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
We'd like to inform that the breakfast served in the hotel has a wide range of choice between cereals, brioches, yogurt, fruit, eggs, cheese and of course italian coffee and the staff is always ready to help the guests with luggage or other requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

If it weren't for the lovely terraces on some rooms the experience here would be desultory. We opted to pay for breakfast elsewhere rather than partake of the hotel breakfast which was included in the price we agreed to. Yes, the coffee is not good, which in Rome should be capital offense. They rent rooms by the single night. If you stay a long time as we did, 8 days, it increased the odds that you will be subject to noise, lots of it, in adjacent rooms. They rented our adjacent room to 3 single men with predictable results, drinking, noise, carousing, deep into the night and the slightest of noises comes clearly into neighboring rooms, even the sound of quiet speech. Our room had fabric bulging and gapping away form the walls, and the effect was one of dreariness and overuse. Black areas in the shower peek through the grout and are disconcerting. I am sorry to say that the over all effect here is one of decline. Bottom, line, I would not dream of staying here again, especially for the 180 Euros a night that we agreed to and paid. I really wish I could in honesty recommend it more highly, but I cannot.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace or do not get a room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanbowersnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed a week in 2012. Been there before in 1998 and was in better shape then. For it's price and level it is an OK hotel in Rome, a little above average but not great by any means. Most positive is the area--it is quite and peaceful yet close enough to many of the important sites of Rome or transportation. Negative: although everything works it needs renovation; staff is responsive but never willingly--has to be proded into action. Also they said the garden didn't belong to the hotel but I see it in their promo photos! Frankly I think they lied about this. Overall--affordable but decent and quite hotels in Rome are hard to come by so this gets an endorsement but anywhere else it would a thumbs down without some serious discounts. Allso seemed to be a lot of folks on business staying at the hotel so don't expect fun and games at breakfest which by the way is only so-so but then again it is in Rome...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramram77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Nice, quiet hotel in a calm, leafy part of the city. It really isn't far to the Piazza Argentina, Trastevere and the other sights - about a half hour's walk if you walk down the cobbled path to the Tiber and along the bank. You can also get the tram 3 to the Colosseum and eventually end up at the zoo in Villa Borghese. The range of things on offer at breakfast wasn't enormous, but the croissants were freshly baked and the coffee was excellent. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. The only minor drawback is that there aren't many restaurants in the immediate area - you need to walk down to around Piramide and surrounds for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

Quite old hotel in a quite good location. In many websites it is rated +8 out of 10, which I do not understand at all. It is not really clean in the corners and in general everything is worn. Breakfast is also OK for Italian standards, however the cappuccino's are very milky; I am not sure whether this is done for the tourists?

All in all an OK hotel, but nothing to pay extra for!

Helpful?
Thank garfieldpbj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Major Aventinus Hotel
Major Aventinus Hotel
#896 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#92 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Santa Prisca
Hotel Santa Prisca
#608 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#49 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Testaccio
Re Testa
Re Testa
#405 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Aventina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Aventina

Property: Domus Aventina
Address: Via di Santa Prisca 11/b, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #669 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Aventina 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domus Aventina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Aventina Hotel Rome
Domus Aventina Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing