We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - Great value for money”
Review of Domus Aventina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domus Aventina
Ranked #710 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I stayed here in February for my boyfriends 21st. It is situated in a quiet mainly residential location but there is a metro stop 5 min walk away, which ran late into the night and we soon found a good route to walk to the Colluseum which only 20 mins. The room was small but really nicely decorated with gorgeous fixtures and the bathroom was wll equipped. The hotel is situated in a beautiful old buliding with a chapel next door and has a lovely small outside patio full of oranges trees (it was shut when we visited but i assume it opens in the summer.) Breakfast was minimal but fine for what we wanted.
I wanted to write a review becasue we enjoyed our stay so much, a really lovely hotel and very good value for money.
Sophie, 20, London.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophierose26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2010

Located on the Aventine, a green and leafy residential neighborhood outside the Centro Storico, this hotel is sandwiched between a church and a grammar school. The rooms are large by Roman standards. My "single" was a king-size bed with a couch, a desk, a private terrace and a large bathroom. The breakfast room is large and well stocked. I have stayed there twice (2004 and 2010) and would stay there again.

Only drawbacks were a moderately uncomfortable bed and pillow. Also, I have heard that there is no elevator, but on both occasions, I was on the first floor (which is up about 6 steps from the lobby).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

This was my fourth stay at Domus Aventina and I was extremely happy. The staff is friendly and helpful, the man who runs the breakfast room, Reynaldo, is super. He even remembered that I drink English tea with milk. They replaced the carpeting and the airconditioning/heating and the hotel is quiet, clean, and roomy by Roman standards. I love the place and hope to return next year again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytrails555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The hotel is a nice 3 star hotel and for the price i paid i couldnt have asked for more! Ok so its not smack bang in the city centre but anyone who claims its "too far" is either lazy or has expectations way too high. The hotel is set in a lovely residential part of the city, literally a few minutes walk from the tube station where you can hop on and off for something like a euro per day! Although it is easily within walking distance to everything- particularly the coliseum and the circus maximus which are approx a nice 10/15 minutes on foot from the hotel.
The hotel itself is good, the rooms are a decent size for a hotel in Rome and we had the loveliest little balcony overlooking the garden and an old Roman church. Breakfast was nothing special but satisfactory for us, eggs/toast/cereal/yogurts/fruit and hot and cold drinks every morning.
My only negative remark would be i didnt find the staff overly friendly, apart from the man serving breakfast who was lovely. All in all though i had a wonderful holiday and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good quiet hotel for a relaxing break in a beautiful city :-)

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xsinead25x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We stayed here together with a group of friends. The hotel hadn't really understood we were a group, but that's probably because we'd made individual reservations online. We eventually got all the help we needed. Still, if you need a lot of service from your hotel (finding addresses, restaurants etc.) you should look elsewhere. Also, if you're looking for undisturbed comfort in your hotel room, this may not be your choice, as walls are paper thin. But if you're looking for a very reasonable priced hotel in the Aventine, this is a good choice. The location is also very good for visits to the Palatine and Forum Romanum/Colosseum.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skrubbetusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Been here for 3 nights. Lovely, clean,nice hotel. Great room and helpful staff. Thanks to it we had a great stay in Rome. I wholeheartedly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We were very very very disappointed with Domus Aventina. Our trip to Rome was amazing, the sights, art, culture and food were incredible, we ate and ate and ate! The hotel was a long walk away from all of the attractions, shopping and food. The worst thing about the hotel was our room, the fabric covered walls were stained and musty, the bathroom was super small, breakfast was lousy, the staff were lazy, they didn't even offer to help us carry our bags to our room. Rome is a great city, I am sorry I had to stay in this dump while I was there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roma2009Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Sourire Hotel
Sourire Hotel
#641 of 1,270 in Rome
15 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#67 of 1,270 in Rome
980 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#42 of 1,270 in Rome
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Major Aventinus Hotel
Major Aventinus Hotel
#977 of 1,270 in Rome
34 reviews
Aventine
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Kolbe Hotel Rome
#117 of 1,270 in Rome
1,502 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#77 of 1,270 in Rome
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Aventina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Aventina

Address: Via di Santa Prisca 11/b, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #710 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £59 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Aventina 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Aventina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Aventina Hotel Rome
Domus Aventina Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing