We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved our stay!”
Review of Hotel Farnese

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Farnese
Ranked #113 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved our stay!”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I can't wait to make another trip to Rome just to stay here again. The staff are fabulous. The location is great. The rooms are clean. The included breakfast is first class and the best one we had during our entire Italy trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sw4454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    265
    46
    16
    12
See reviews for
188
427
22
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC, NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

this hotel was fantastic.
i booked it on the day i arrived and was able to get an amazing last minute deal, 110 euros for one night.
the hotel is convenient to get to by metro, literally a 2 minute walk when you get out of the subway.
the location is somewhat residential but it is a 15 min walk to the vatican (purpose of my trip) and a 15-20 min walk to the center (i walked it alone at night and felt safe).
there is a complimentary included breakfast which was fantastic, taken on their rooftop terrace with really nice views.
the hotel concierge was extremely helpful and even helped me plan a walking route to see the sights.
the rooms are clean, larger showers than i have seen elsewhere in europe, and really comfortable beds. free wifi and a safe in the room as well.

Room Tip: book late if you have the luxury for the best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oohahambulance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Our recent stay at the Farnese was excellent, no other word for it. Fabulous staff, lovely hotel, great breakfast (which isn't a buffet as it said on the site). It's within walking distance of many of the sights that you want to see in Rome, Vatican and Piazza del Poppolo to name two. Also within walking distance of very good restaurants, cafes and a superb street of shops. Definitely recommend this hotel it was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
235 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have stayed at the Hotel Farnese three times in the last year and each time we have experienced the most gracious courtesy and help by the staff. The rooms are comfortable. The breakfast is excellent and the breakfast hostess an absolute jewel. It is located about a block from the metro and bus lines that take you almost to any place you want to see in Rome in minutes. So we find the hotel extremely convenient and we have come to prefer being a little out of the center and living in a real neighborhood away from the hawkers and hustle and bustle of tourists. The arrangements made to pick us up at the airport or the train station have been totally reliable and with terrific drivers. We'll be back and thank you all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewMexicans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We've been in Rome for a week end with some friends...we had a wonderful time, Farnese Hotel is very close to the centre (we've been going around on foot, as a maximum ten minutes from Via del Corso), nontheless the area is very quiet.
It is very clean, the staff is really polite and...most of all...you'll have a wonderful view while having your breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momoechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We just can't say enough about this charming hotel. We started and finished our Mediterranean holiday in this hotel and absolutely loved every minute of it. We sampled two different rooms, each with comfy beds, well appointed closet space and roomy bathrooms. We slept like logs. Our feet were happy to settle in to the slippers left by our beds. The breakfast was fabulous, everything your heart desires followed by endless cappuccinos and espressos made by the wonderful woman in charge of breakfast. The view was stunning and the rooftop garden beautiful. The staff were extremely welcoming and were kind enough to organize all of the transportation for our stay. I can't remember her name but we so enjoyed the company of the girl who prepares the breakfast feast and the desk staff made us feel right at home. The hotel is but a few steps from a Metro station so we easily hopped all over Rome and were only a short walk away from the Vatican. The area around the hotel is relatively quiet and it was such a nice getaway after our mad dash around Rome. Would absolutely recommend this hotel without reservation and hope we can come back soon.

Room Tip: 23 has large bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnabysm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We have just completed a most satisfactory one week stay at the Hotel Farnese in Rome.

Our room -- number 21--was average in size for a European four star hotel and adequately appointed. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Cleaning service was prompt and effective. The bathroom was quite large and had a large sink and a modern oversized tub with shower. Very, very comfortable and soothing after a long day of touring. The A/C was silent and quite effective, well above average for vintage European hotels in our experience. We like our room very cool for sleeping and couldn't help but think the Farnese would be an excellent choice for visitors in the broiling Roman summer. Also, while our room fronted on busy Viale Giulio Cesare, the double-paned windows were quite adequate to shield us from any street noise.

The breakfast buffet, which included eggs and ham, cold cuts and cheese, cereals, fresh and prepared fruits --including the best baked apples this writer has ever tasted-- a variety of breads, juices and coffees was far better than just OK, and was served in a lovely enclosed "roof garden" with a view of the dome of Saint Peter's Basilica.

The desk staff were helpful: most of our encounters at the reception were with the thoroughly charming Louis. We arrived at the hotel in a small taxi which charged us the stipulated E45 rate from the airport. Louis arranged a limousine service to return us to the airport for E50. The comfort of a Mercedes was certainly worth the extra E5.

The location of this hotel was absolutely perfect! Just two blocks from the Tiber in an attractive mixed business and residential section of Prati. The Lepanto metro stop is one short block from the hotel, providing rapid access to the Piazzas di Spagna and Barberini, the Colosseum and Forum, Testaccio and the Vatican (next stop on the A line). At the same intersection, the 30 bus gets you to the Piazza Navona in 10 minutes and the 280 gets you toTrastevere/ Isola Tiberina in 15 minutes. All this and you can stroll to fine Prati restaurants like L'Arcangelo and Da Cesare in the evening after a glass of wine in the hotel lobby or its pleasant adjoining terrace.

In sum, we found the Hotel Farnese to be a very good value indeed for a Roman accommodation. Our one grievance with the hotel is that not one of the many channels available on its TV offered English language news programming. I strongly recommend that the hotel provide access to CNN and/or BBC for guests from North America, the UK, Australia and other places where English is the mother tongue.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouSDelrayBeach_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#107 of 1,257 in Rome
489 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#73 of 1,257 in Rome
1,148 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#220 of 1,257 in Rome
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#61 of 1,257 in Rome
1,490 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#192 of 1,257 in Rome
1,554 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Farnese

Property: Hotel Farnese
Address: Via Alessandro Farnese 30 | Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Rome
#64 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#83 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Farnese 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient aristocratic residence that today houses Hotel Farnese. A luxury hotel blessed with a soft atmosphere of refined elegance and the efficiency of our friendly personnel. Its owners are pleased to personally welcome guests to the hotel, which has been in service for over 60 years, guaranteeing the courteous service with attention to detail that has come to distinguish Hotel Farnese from the 4 star hotels of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Farnese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnese Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing