We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect welcome”
Review of Hotel Farnese

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Farnese
Ranked #103 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect welcome”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights . The advance care from the hotel in arranging airport pick ups and restaurant bookings was excellent . When we arrived we were welcomed and this was really genuine . They recommended a local restaurant for lunch and were just so friendly. The room was superb with a nice sitting area a huge bed and a really well laid out spacious bathroom . The breakfast room on the roof terrace had a lovely view of the Vatican and the waitress was very pleasant and helpful. All the food was freshly prepared and lovely
The hotel is located in a quiet residential area and about 15 minutes walk from the Vatican , its not central but close bye are lots of nice shops and lovely walks , really safe area
Each morning as we were leaving the staff enquired if we needed any assistance or directions , they just could not have been any better
Thank You Hotel Farnese and we look forward to staying here again

Room Tip: upgrade to a junior suite , well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidnorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    266
    46
    16
    12
See reviews for
191
432
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here in mid November 2013. Recommended to us by a friend who has lived nearby for several years. It is incredibly convenient being just yards away from the Lepanto metro stop and buses. Great when it rains!! The area is residential but there are lots of excellent eating places within 4 to 6 blocks. You can walk to Castel St Angelo and Vatican in 10-15 minutes and across the Tiber to the Piazza del Populo in 10. It is a small, boutique hotel,- don't expect a swimming pool or health centre - but with the kind of knowledgeable concierge services one would expect from a much larger hotel. Staff were all fully understanding of, and speaking good English and were smiling and helpful. There is an excellent breakfast, both American and Continental but no restaurant - which is no problem since there are so many good places nearby.But a comfortable lounge for a glass of anything when you come home at the end of the day. Above all, it is so amazingly quiet and tranquil for the central position of a major tourist City. ,

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Rooms on the 4th floor on the via Farnese have nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We chose to stay in the Hotel Farnese based upon previous Tripadvisor reviews and other research. It was our honeymoon so we did want something a little special. We were not disappointed. Prior to our arrival I was in touch with Andrea, one of the front office staff, who organised our airport transfers and a bottle of chilled Prosecco when we checked in. Our room was ready when we first arrived, and was just the job. We were on the fourth floor, just by the lift - I feared it might be noisy, particularly since said lift had a video on loop that had Andrea Bochelli warbling his best at all hours - but far from it. Our room was spacious, clean and well-appointed with a bedroom, lounge and well-equipped bathroom. The beds were twin, pushed together and made up into a double, but that is a minor detail. The hotel has no bar or restaurant as such, but it does have a very pleasant rooftop terrace for breakfast. It can be opened up or sealed from the elements and provides a good view out over the rooftops of Rome, including the dome of St Peters in the near distance. The Hotel Farnese is just a few yards from the Lepanto metro station, and a short walk from restaurants and bars in the evening. During our stay, Andrea also organised a tour of the Vatican - one guide for just the two of us - which is highly recommended if you want to make sense of the place. Our only very minor gripe - the water was tepid on the first evening, making showering unpleasant - was sorted by the following morning. Overall therefore a very pleasant stay. Our expectations were high, and we were not let down. We would stay again, without hesitation - there is so much more of Rome to enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I went in the end of August to this hotel. Very comfortable rooms and nicely decorated. The toiletries are basic - shampoo, soap, hygenic wipes and a shower cap. Do not look for hair conditioner or body lotion in Italy, except if you stay in a 5 star hotel, then you might get them. The location is excellent (bus, train) and so are the front desk personnel. We took their advice for dinner and were not disappointed at all. Very quiet and safe for walking at night. THe only negative is a service lady at breakfast - one day she was OK and the other day very slow. Otherwise, a great stay for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legalstar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel, primarily for the complimentary parking, although in hindsight, there were plenty of other options with a hefty enough parking charge but a more reasonably priced nightly rate.

Our room was in the basement level. The shower needs to be re-tiled. It is not dirty but it is not as clean as a 4-star rated hotel should be.

Our "window" looked out into the window well of a parking lot level area. One morning, workers of the hotel were working right in the well, although it was still early and we had the window open.

The breakfast room is nice but smoking was allowed on the roof terrace and the smoke smell was very prevalent in the dining room. Our only greeting with the manager or perhaps owner of the hotel was when he came to our table (and several others at 10:01) tapping the face of his watch reminding us that breakfast ended at 10 and then he promptly directly everyone out through the Emergency Only exit stairway (otherwise the access is via a small elevator to the room which would have needed 3 or 4 trips to vacate the room.)

We passed this same manager the morning of our departure and instead of greeting us, he just walked into his office and shut the door. He seemed like all business.

Another note is that in the breakfast room there is a permanent framed sign that says it is strictly forbidden to remove any food or drink from the room. So if you've arrived from the United States or Canada late and awake with jet lag at what otherwise is about 2-4 a.m. your time and rush up to grab something to eat, don't think of taking a cup of coffee or tea or juice or a piece of fruit back to your room. This hotel is not inexpensive. I found the manager's watch-tapping, without so much as a good morning or greeting in addition to signage like this and a lack of a bowl of fruit or access to a cup of tea or coffee at just about any time negative enough but upon checkout, I mentioned the watch-tapping incident to the desk attendant as I paid our bill fully in cash saying it was enough to reduce a rating for us by a star. Our bill was 392 euros for the 36 hours we were there so I paid her with 4 100 euros and a 2 euro coin, that had been part of change we'd received at dinner the previous evening. She returned the 2 euro coin saying it seemed fake because it was a little worn and I was just flabbergasted. There was nothing fake about it--it just wasn't shiny and new. Then she added insult to injury by saying she saw another 2 euro coin in my hand and why had I chosen the tarnished coin to give her. Basically she was accusing me of trying to cheat her out of 2 euro with a bad coin. (The coin was accepted by a toll booth operator later that morning.) This owner clearly imparts his "all business-no welcome" attitude through his staff. I have never left a 1 or 2 star review and have waited over a week before leaving this one. The hotel is in a safe area and does provide parking but it is not welcoming. This owner should spend some time with the owner of Hotel David in Florence and learn a thing or two about being welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThankxgivingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Owner at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Client ,
We regret that you did not remain satisfied with your stay at our hotel but some clarifications are definitely needed to make objective criticism possible.

1 ) The parking lot of the ' hotel is free of charge and as such, in the center of Rome it is definitely a considerable added value , mainly because the other structures charge about 25 € 30.00 per night, which would in any case have an impact on room price . It is up to our customers to choose freely according to your esigenze.Evidently if you have chosen us there is a reason .

2 ) It ' true that some workers were present during your stay in our parking lot , but this has surely happened after 9:30am , and the fact that you had the window open , for which reason you heard them working , I do not think it is our fault.

3 ) In all areas of ' hotel , smoking is strictly prohibited by law and all the customers are reminded with signs clearly visible. Just to please those customers who smoke , we have a small terrace on the roof where you can smoke safely . We do not understand how you could feel the ' smell of smoke in the breakfast room , if it is strictly forbidden to smoke inside.

4 ) Regarding the breakfast room, a collaborator of the hotel approached your table, gently reminding you ( as per our use ) that the breakfast room would close at 10:00 ( as reported everywhere in the hotel and reminded at the time of arrival by our receptionists ) , but that day it was already 10:15 , and not 10:01 as stated and we had to proceed with some urgent maintenance . In the breakfast room at that time there was only one other couple who very kindly apologized for the delay and immediately left the breakfast room.

5 ) On the day of your departure , the same collaborator , who did not even know you were departing , because he deals with other matters , and not with the arrivals and departures of customers in the Hotel , as this is the receptionist’s job to deal with it .

6) In the breakfast room , unfortunately , we were forced to put a note ( for the most " unruly " ) remembering not to take away food or drinks from the room , as not infrequently happened that some customers , after breakfast , go near the buffet preparing sandwiches and taking away all sorts of products for their journey .For those who wish drinks and food in the room there is our room Service, just ask ask our staff , also to prevent damage to our environment and furniture , spilling drinks and food which has happened many times.

7) Now we come to the issue of € 2. No one ever accused the customer to want to give us fake money .
We have only asked , as the coin was not valid because it was damaged, if you could give the other coin in your hand .

I believe that all our customers have the right also to criticize , but I am firmly convinced that the entire staff really do everything so that every guest feels at home and always and absolutely welcome in my hotel , as is shown in all the previous reviews .
Obviously with the client in question this FEELING WASN ‘T THERE FROM THE START .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I loved staying here. We especially enjoyed the breakfast every morning. Our room was lovely. The staff were very helpful. It had secure parking, wi fi, and very easy access to public transportation especially the Metro.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

An excellent boutique hotel that was quiet & clean throughout. Our room (No. 16) was spacious & well decorated. Breakfast was very good, plentiful & well presented in a nice setting. Staff were friendly, helpful, & speak English. There are some good restaurants nearby - ask at reception. The hotel is situated in a relatively peaceful location on the other side of the river to the hurly-burly of many of the main tourist spots, but the metro station Lepanto is 2 minutes walk away - buy a travel card. The Vatican is one metro stop & 5 minutes walk away (or a 15 minute stroll). We would happily stay here again & equally would happily recommend it to you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
No photo provided
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#92 of 1,258 in Rome
497 reviews
Prati
No photo provided
Hotel Isa
#72 of 1,258 in Rome
1,164 reviews
Prati
No photo provided
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#218 of 1,258 in Rome
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
No photo provided
Hotel Dei Mellini
#63 of 1,258 in Rome
1,498 reviews
Prati
No photo provided
Twentyone Hotel
#201 of 1,258 in Rome
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Farnese

Property: Hotel Farnese
Address: Via Alessandro Farnese 30 | Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Rome
#63 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#64 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Farnese 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient aristocratic residence that today houses Hotel Farnese. A luxury hotel blessed with a soft atmosphere of refined elegance and the efficiency of our friendly personnel. Its owners are pleased to personally welcome guests to the hotel, which has been in service for over 60 years, guaranteeing the courteous service with attention to detail that has come to distinguish Hotel Farnese from the 4 star hotels of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Farnese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnese Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing