We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY NICE AND COSY - GREAT LOCATION”
Review of Hotel Farnese

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Farnese
Ranked #109 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Blangy-sur-Bresle, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“VERY NICE AND COSY - GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel in MARCH 2014 from the 3rd till the 6th and it was very nice
The bedroom is cosy and clean - breakfast buffet with a lot of choice - and served on the 5th floor terrace - ideal when it is nice and sunny day
The hotel is located in the neighbourhood of VATICAN CITY and also not far away from plaza del popolo - about 15mn walk

Ideal stay in ROME - beautiful town full of history and romance

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PORCHER N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to know you had a great vacation here in Rome, and that you had this fantastic esperienze with us. Thank you very much for you high-level ranking on Tripadvisor. I hope to see you againt here in Hotel Farnese. Best regards,

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    263
    46
    15
    12
See reviews for
187
424
21
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just got back from 3 night break in Rome at Hotel Farnese and as previously reported 'no praise is enough'. Room was superb and completed the romantic weekend I was for and with an amazing bathroom ..........huge bath! . Breakfast served on the rooftop terrace was delicious and with everything you could wish for and the rooftop view amazing. A wide choice of fresh coffee , cooked or continental ...fresh squeezed juices and a lovely setting . The staff were extremely helpful and the location was excellent....... 30 metres from Metro .......but in a quiet area where you could always see a parking space (if you drive in Rome) and away from the City noise for a quiet night with the window open. It was a 5 minute walk to the shops and 10 minutes to the river and the start of the sites or the Vatican. We bought a Roma Pass but barely used it as you could walk to the riverside restaurants.......and places of interest ...........and it was lovely to come back to the Hotel and have a quiet nights sleep.
Great value and a true 4 star experience Superb !

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such a positive review on Tripadvisor. We are Pleased to see you enjoyed your vacation in the Hotel Farnese, and also that you were satisfied with our cleanliness, sliping quality, location, and breakfast quality standards. I really hope to see you again for another typical roman stay with us. Kindest regards,

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Farnese and no praise is enough for the facilities, the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff and the quality of the service. The breakfast served on the rooftop terrace was sumptuous topped by the fantastic view of the dome of St Peter's Basilica. The location was ideal for both the Vatican as well as the historic centre of Rome and most of the sights were within walking distance of the Farnese.
We would like to especially thank Andrea for all his input and help even before we got there and Agostino, Alessandra and Louis at the reception desk with their helpful tips on day trips in and around Rome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roux72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful opinion you put on Tripadvisor. We are so glad to have made your stay such a lovely experience. We did our best to leave you a good memory of us, and now i guess we did it. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the Hotel Farnese to enjoy another experience. Best wishes

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

we stayed at this 4 star hotel last weekend for 5 nights.
excellent room & large (we had junior suite) & not too expensive.
very good location mainly for the Vatican City,though little far from other tourist attractions.
breakfast a little poor compairing to other 4 star hotels(from my experience).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roro1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the good review on Tripadvisor. My staff and I are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It would be nice for curiosity to know where did you find a larger buffet and what was the difference compared to ours, in order to improve breakfast service. Awaiting your next visit, i send you kindest regards.

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We staying here for two nights in late September 2013 and would love to stay longer next time we visit Rome. Hotel staff prearranged a driver and car from the airport which made our arrival hassle free and we were made welcome the moment we entered the reception. Our room was very comfortable with a beautiful bathroom and lovely fittings throughout. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace ( with wonderful views) was excellent with a particularly pleasant staff member who was always helpful. We chose Hotel Farnese for its location relatively close to the Vatican and away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist centre, and it worked very well for us. We are happy to recommend it to anyone wanting a stylish and well run hotel in a quiet location in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele482014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the excellent review about the Hotel Farnese. I can notice that you appreciated basically all the aspects of your stay, and I am proud of it. My staff and I are also pleased to know that you will recommend our hotel to anyone who wants to spend a typical roman stay. Awaiting your next holiday in Rome, i send you best regards.

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed five nights at the Hotel Farnese up to Christmas day. Would stay again and again. The hotel is 20 meters from the Lepanto metro, great value and breakfast terrace has view of St Peter's dome. The area is residential and quiet. That makes it more affordable for drinking and dining nearby, and conducive to decompress after a busy day sightseeing. One stop beyond Lepanto metro is Occtaviano which is used to access Vatican City and its museum.

Fourth floor room small but comfortable. We had a lovely terrace through a door that was unexpected. Bathroom was a good size, well appointed but the shower was *very* small for our American frames. It sits in the corner and has rounded sliding doors that makes the available space even smaller.

Staff was terrific. They were always happy to make site and dining recommendations, restaurant reservations and explain bus/metro routes. Breakfast was good, fresh and included oranges and juicer for a great self-serve fresh juice. Service at breakfast (for cappuccino, etc) was prompt and always friendly. Breakfast note: Served on 5th floor terrace only accessed through elevator. Wireless note: Wireless was free but constantly needed to be reconnected with the user and password every time you left the property and possibly if your were inactive on your device. It got a little tiresome to enter the credentials so often during our 5-day stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for the positive review published on tripadvisor. We are proud to know that you enjoyed a lot your stay in our hotel. Unfortunatelly, I can explane that the shower type you found in the bathroom is a standard one everywhere in Italy, so It is difficult to find a larger one. Just to let you Know, sometimes wifi connections need new login processes to guarantee user preference, this is common in many structures. I am glad you had a wonderful time in Hotel Farnese. I hope to see you again for your next holiday. Best regards,

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights . The advance care from the hotel in arranging airport pick ups and restaurant bookings was excellent . When we arrived we were welcomed and this was really genuine . They recommended a local restaurant for lunch and were just so friendly. The room was superb with a nice sitting area a huge bed and a really well laid out spacious bathroom . The breakfast room on the roof terrace had a lovely view of the Vatican and the waitress was very pleasant and helpful. All the food was freshly prepared and lovely
The hotel is located in a quiet residential area and about 15 minutes walk from the Vatican , its not central but close bye are lots of nice shops and lovely walks , really safe area
Each morning as we were leaving the staff enquired if we needed any assistance or directions , they just could not have been any better
Thank You Hotel Farnese and we look forward to staying here again

Room Tip: upgrade to a junior suite , well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidnorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#124 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#221 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#58 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#93 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#198 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Farnese

Property: Hotel Farnese
Address: Via Alessandro Farnese 30 | Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Rome
#64 Family Hotel in Rome
#65 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#83 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Farnese 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient aristocratic residence that today houses Hotel Farnese. A luxury hotel blessed with a soft atmosphere of refined elegance and the efficiency of our friendly personnel. Its owners are pleased to personally welcome guests to the hotel, which has been in service for over 60 years, guaranteeing the courteous service with attention to detail that has come to distinguish Hotel Farnese from the 4 star hotels of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Farnese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnese Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing