We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Rome”
Review of Hotel Farnese

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Farnese
Ranked #111 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Return to Rome”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Came back, a second year but this time with a larger family - son and 3 grandchildren. I was not disappointed. The hotel is really quite small, but with services equivalent to a larger place.
Who needs a swimming pool in Rome? But to find such excellent concierge advice, booking of transport, a cold beer after a hot day,even an umbrella when it rains,etc, is important. 10 minutes (with a 5 year old) walk to the Castel St Angelo and right on top of the Lepanto Metro station. And, as before, so quiet and comfortable. The whole area so safe and just right for restaurants and for children.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the excellent review about your stay with us. It has been a pleasure to have you again as our guests, and my staff and I are glad to know that you spent a wonderful time with the Hotel Farnese…again. We did our best to make your holiday as much pleasant as possible, and the result sounds good. I am looking forward to seeing you another time for the next roman vacation. Best regards,

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    265
    46
    16
    12
See reviews for
188
426
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel Farnese remains one of our favorite places to stay. The junior suite we take is spacious and very comfortable. The staff is accommodating and friendly. Breakfast on the rooftop is a treat. We would suggest the addition of granola to the cereal offerings. The residential nature of the location makes for a tranquil setting. Area restaurants are really terrific, especially Grotta Azzurra!
We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for the positive opinion you gave to our hotel. It is a pleasure to see that you had a great time with us from all points of view. We can only suggest to come back to Rome as soon as possible, we will welcome you again. Best regards,

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We just returned from a trip to Italy with our 3 daughters ages 16, 13 and 11. We stayed at the Hotel Farnese for two nights. The location was great for walking to Vatican City. There are many excellent restaurants within walking distance as well. The breakfast on the rooftop patio was very nice. Our only criticism was the laundry service we were sent to by the hotel was VERY EXPENSIVE and they did a horrible job. Clothes were not folded, just stuffed into bags. But, I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

We are pleased to notice your satisfaction of your stay in Rome, and we are glad to see that “almost” everything was worth the expectations. Of course, the laundry episode was a terrible mistake of ours, and we apologize for this. If you decide to come back again to the Hotel Farnese, I will make sure to fix the problem. Meanwhile, I send you my best regards.

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. We were looking for a well located, clean hotel and the Hotel Farnese exceeded out expectations. It was well appointed with a lovely lobby. The staff was very helpful, especially Loius. Our room and bath were beautiful. A wonderful breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace. This hotel was located in the vatican area near the metro. We found it easy to navigate our way around Rome from this location. There were also great restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive such a great compliment like yours. I am so proud of your satisfation. I will look forward to seeing you again for your next typical roman holiday. Kindest regards,

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

In May 2014, my Husband and I were spending 3 nights in Rome before leaving on a cruise from the nearby port. We choose the Hotel Farnese because of it's close location the Vatican but you can easily walk to the Spanish Steps, etc or take the Metro which is right on the corner.
We really enjoyed it's old world charm and the friendly, helpful service from the front desk staff. Even before our arrival we knew we had chosen the right place for our stay. We always received prompt responses to our emails and Marco was happy to take care of our transportation from the airport to the hotel which was great.
Andrea and Louis were most helpful with maps, directions and great local places to eat. The breakfast room is on the rooftop with lovely views of St. Peter's Dome. The buffet was a nice variety with cappucinos and lattes available. The china with sterling silverware adding an extra touch of elegance to an already charming setting.
Our room was on the 4th floor with a balcony. It was not large but had a king bed, quiet location (even though it was next to the small elevator) and very clean.
They arranged for transportation to the port for us and we were so pleased with the service that we used them to take us to the airport.
We enjoyed our stay and wonderful service!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marylou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for the wonderful opinion on Tripadvisor. My staff and i are so proud of the quality of your stay in the Hotel Farnese. I can notice from the review that you were very satisfied for everything about your roman experiencce spent in our hotel, and this makes me feel proud and glad of it. We did our best to offer you the best impression ( our usual policy ) and it worked well. Thank you very much again for having choosen our hotel; if you were planning to come back to Rome, we will wait for you and welcome you. Best regards,

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmetta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Face it, first time in Rome can be intimidating. There is so much to do in a surprisingly small area it can leave you feeling dizzy and overwhelmed. It helps to have a hotel that feels like home, with people who are knowledgeable about everything from the best places to grab a bite to the best times to see the sights (and skip the lines, oh those lines) Hotel Farnese helped make our trip to Rome all the more special. Whether it was lending us an umbrella because of predicted rain or explaining the ins and outs of the very nearby and essential metro system, Hotel Farnese opened up parts of Rome for us that we didn't know existed. The staff is friendly and trustworthy, and available 24 hrs. Rooms were clean, quiet and cozy, plus more spacious than we had expected, especially the private bathrooms.
The Hotel is located within walking distance of many of the most famous sights in Rome. The Vatican is closest but we walked to The Pantheon, Spanish Steps, and even the Colosseum and Forum and Trastevere district(little far but not a killer).
Breakfast every morning was beautiful, we never considered eating anywhere else. And when it was time to go, they arranged a car to the airport for us, leaving no worry for us. All in all, a great stay for a great price. Would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, right next to the lobby. I expected noise but it was surprisingly q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for the excellent review about your stay. It is a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful roman stay with the Hotel Farnese and its staff. As a 4 star hotel, we provide all the services and conforts we can to make your stay unforgetable. My staff and I are looking forward to seeing you again for the next visit to Rome, we will welcome you. Awaiting your visit, I send you my best regards.

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outaouais Region, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

PROS:
Stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014 -- and it was on a quiet street, but a convenient and easy walk to so much: Vatican City (15 min), Colosseum, Spanish Steps, etc -- If you don't feel like walking, the metro and bus stops are within a block of the hotel's doorstep. The front desk staff were excellent, Alessandra greeted us very professionaly on the 1st day and was also there to arrange our hotel transfers on the last day. She provided maps and directions with great patience! The front desk even loaned us an adapter for the electrical outlets so we could charge our devices in our room (a deposit is required, but returned to you when you return the adapter at the end of your stay). -- The included breakfast was more than just continental on the scenic rooftop -- they had a uniformed waitress who served cappucinos and lattes, even though there was a coffee machine. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of foods from croissants and chocolatines to scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, cheeses, cereal and fruit. The washroom was a good size with a bidet and bathtub (and shower within in) and has been remodelled in recent years. -- The rooms are old fashioned with high ceilings, crown mouldings, and darker decor. If you like modern, this won't suit your taste, but we enjoyed the novelty of being in a "period" hotel that was clean and well-maintained. The elevator might not fit you and all your luggage if you are more than 2 people in it, but that's part of its charm!

CONS:
The rooms are spacious by European standards, but not huge by North American standards. We were two women who managed to keep open our suitcases and not have to jump or crawl over them as in some other hotels. -- Can't really fault this hotel for anything -- it ticked all our boxes, and then some :-) -- We were at the top of the steps, 2nd floor, and you can hear people in the hallway but that's the same with many hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarneseRome, Direttore at Hotel Farnese, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for the excellent review you wrote about the Hotel Farnese. It is conforting to know that you spent a wonderful time with us in Rome. My staff and I are so glad to notice how much you enjoyed your stay, looking at all the aspects of it ( the staff kindness and cordiality, the fresh breakfast served on the topflof terrace etc…) I can under stand that European hotel rooms are different from the American’s, but as I just wrote, this is our European standard. By the way, I would like to invite you to come back to Rome whenever you prefer to spend another typical roman stay. Best regards,

Adele Pandolfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#114 of 1,256 in Rome
486 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#73 of 1,256 in Rome
1,144 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#222 of 1,256 in Rome
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#62 of 1,256 in Rome
1,487 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#191 of 1,256 in Rome
1,550 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#90 of 1,256 in Rome
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Farnese

Property: Hotel Farnese
Address: Via Alessandro Farnese 30 | Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Rome
#64 Family Hotel in Rome
#67 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#83 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Farnese 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient aristocratic residence that today houses Hotel Farnese. A luxury hotel blessed with a soft atmosphere of refined elegance and the efficiency of our friendly personnel. Its owners are pleased to personally welcome guests to the hotel, which has been in service for over 60 years, guaranteeing the courteous service with attention to detail that has come to distinguish Hotel Farnese from the 4 star hotels of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Farnese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnese Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing