We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very sweet hotel”
Review of Hotel Gerber

Hotel Gerber
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gerber
Ranked #360 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“very sweet hotel”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

very clean and nice hotel , good service and good breakfast , located 2 min walk from lepanto metro station . 15 min walk to the vatican . stayed for 4 night had a real good time . most recomanded the balcony and all the pizza joints around

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    146
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
73
96
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
quito
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Its.easy to get there u just have to get to metro, its close to the vatican city about 15min walking but its not so close to the coliseum its like 15.min but in metro, that.is easy to understand.
The room is cleam n cozy a romantic decoration, and altought i got a shared bathroon it was really clean all the time
Some times they dont hear the ringbelll in the front door so u have to be insistent
But the recepcionist are really nice and helpfull
And the breackfast is good

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabi444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We have just arrived back from the beautiful eternal city of Rome. We had a fantastic time and what makes any holiday for us is a good Hotel.

The Hotel Gerber, a family run hotel is a ten minute stroll from the Vatican, 2 minutes from the Metro and 2 minutes for loads of buses, perfect location. The Hotel is very clean, our room was spacious, lovely bathroom, comfortable beds. fresh clean linen, towels changed every day, just wonderful. The staff are so so nice, particularly the gentleman who has worked there for 22 years or so in the Breakfast Room and of course Pietro, the Owner who is most welcoming charming and friendly. We have been to this Hotel 3 times and would not go anywhere else in Rome. Fantastico. George and Jean

Room Tip: We had a side room which was nice and quiet but the front rooms have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

If you are looking for the pulse of Roma don't stay here - it's boring. If a reprieve from the hordes at the Spanish Steps, The Vatican, and Colliseum, etc. is what you want, then the Hotel Gerber is ideal. Two minutes from Lepanto Metro (A Line), 15 minutes walk down the exact street Hotel Gerber is located on to the Vatican Museum, with a fabulous upscale sushi restaurant next door and La Griglietta's (perfect mom and pop Italian bistro) a couple of blocks away, the Hotel Gerber is super easy and relaxing. Breakfast was a little light, even for Italy, but the owner is there in the morning to greet you with a smile. The rooms are updated, very clean and comfortable. Free wifi. the only issue we had was that the desk clerks are a little unhelpful. We asked for a travel agency and were sent to Playlife and few blocks away - which is a travel clothing store. Then we sent to Termini station, only to find the agency unhelpful. Oh well, we figured it out online so no worries - just a few frustrating and futile hours that could have avoided. When we asked for the nearest ATM, the clerk sent us one block down and to the left - but didn't mentioned to other four blocks to get to the banco. Oh well, if you don't expect too much from the two desk clerks, then you will be fine. We plan to sty again at the Hotel Gerber.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurebuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

For a 3 night stay in Rome, this was the perfect choice a stones throw from Leopanto Metro. Our room was on the 4th floor a lovley modern room for all to use, great shower, staff were friendly, breakfast is good. No food at night but you dont need this when in Rome.

Staff service was great and friendly and also a cheap taxi ride on the Monday back to Rome Ciampino airport.

Will be using Hotel again If I return to Rome which is highly likley after this weekend!!!!!

Thank you Hotel Gerber.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICO673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel near to everything very clean, very nice place to stay calm in middle of the center and far from any disiturbing. few minutes walk from the vatican, few minutes walk from the city piazza navona... and from the shoping center. Dont forget also that the hotel in itself make u feel relax. the only issue is the internet sometimes get slow.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilien3973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This was our first visit to Italy and Hotel Gerber helped us start it out well! Through them we arranged to have a shuttle pick us up (travel weary!) from the airport. Our driver was awaiting us the minute we stepped through customs and he took us directly to the hotel where we were warmly received and efficiently checked in.
Our room was lovely. (and ready for us at 10:00 in the morning!) We had everything we needed in our two day stay there. Lovely breakfast room with a delicious variety of food and attentive wait staff.
Situated in a quiet neighborhood, it was an easy location to walk to the metro and to just about any other popular sights. We highly recommend Hotel Gerber!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room close to the back terrace - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
The B Place
The B Place
#577 of 1,258 in Rome
73 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#267 of 1,258 in Rome
584 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#548 of 1,258 in Rome
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#217 of 1,258 in Rome
626 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#103 of 1,258 in Rome
874 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#218 of 1,258 in Rome
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gerber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gerber

Property: Hotel Gerber
Address: Via Degli Scipioni 241, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#275 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gerber 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gerber is located in the heart of the Eternal City. This three star Hotel is the perfect reference for unforgettable holidays. Hotel Gerber offers first quality service with all comforts. The elegant lobby, the spacious breakfast room, the silent courtyard and the panoramic terrace grant a pleasant and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gerber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerber Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing