We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”
Review of Homs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homs Hotel
Ranked #568 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel Homs in Rome is located near the Spanish Steps and upscale shopping. The hotel is nice but I feel that they lack amenities for the price point. I have stayed at other comparable priced hotels in the area that include breakfast and Wi-Fi.

The bathroom is decorated nicely but is not functional in the set up. The shower head is located in the middle of the wall and the glass only covers 1/2 the length of the tub. I was not able to use my own hair dryer even with a converter due to their wiring. I had to use the hotel hair dryer that demanded my hand on the button the entire time to run. The bed was hard and pillows flat. Lastly, only one English speaking channel - CNN.

To me, the Reception with their expertise and customer service were the best thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room above the reception (front of the hotel). I was unable to sleep due to the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca V, Direttore at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest, we are sorry that you had not a good time during stay in Hotel Homs. The next time talk with the reception about the problem with the room. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    223
    91
    49
    40
See reviews for
130
155
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We'd had yet another busy morning walking to the many attractions nearby..... It was warm and we were ready for a break. Came across this hotel and Vuda Bar in it. Sat outside to watch the world go by, the waitress was very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. I asked her to recommend a wine for me, which she promptly brought poured a snifter with the proviso if I didn't like she'd bring me another. It was perfect. My husband had a local draught beer all served with fresh olives, canapés and nibbles. Was a very pleasant interlude and we stayed for a couple of hours. If you are in this area try it, you won't be disappointed. Hostel inside was very smart and clean, very professional and polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Assonitis, Direttore generale at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review. We appreciate all you wrote about our Vudabar (wine, service and location) as well about our rooms. We do hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights last week. Very pleased with the experience. Located in a lovely spot in Rome with everything you need a couple steps away.

My room was a lot bigger than expected. Not sure if I just got lucky or they are all that size but very satisfied with the room. Only complaints I have are with the Wifi connection. They charge you 3 euro for 1 hr or 10 euro for 24 hours of Wifi which is robbery.

The customer service was not that great but when you are in Rome, you get used to that. All in all, I would definitely recommend staying here especially if the price is right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeYiZy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca V, Direttore at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest, the Wifi on the computer in reception is free. We are sorry if you had some problems with costumer services, next time talk with us about it. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is my 3d time at hotel homes . my room was very small but nice. the location great. the reception employee ok. after all you go to Rome for the city not for the hotel . just be glad to visit one of the most beautiful city in the world. our next visit will be with the family so we will stay in a 2 bedroom apartment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruno m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca V, Direttore at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest, we are pleased that you had a good time during your stay in Hotel Homs. We hope to have you as a guest soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had booked an executive dblb as described on line.The room we were given was nothing as the description as well as the posted pictures, The employee at the reception was unfriendly (I would fire him) and when we complained that the room was very small he told us that this is the standard room that we had booked (which he knew wasen't true) . Finally next day when we found our printout specifying that we had booked an executive dblb the lady on the morning shift was kind enough to change us to a room as specified.This is the worst hotel we ever stayed in Rome.
No value for the money with all the agravation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MARIA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca V, Direttore at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,we are sorry you didn't like the hotel and we would like to have a description or a name of the man receptionist that made you soo mad this way we can take measures.Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Whether you want to shop expensively or sightsee the location couldn't be better - just minutes away from The Spanish Steps and Dolce and Gabbana and their fellow designers with a vowel at the end of their name and just several minutes more to The Trevi Fountain and The Pantheon.

Although clean, the so called Executive Quadruple Room rooms was a lot smaller than we were led to believe.

When we booked, the website said that we would have one double bed and two single beds. which was why we chose this hotel (we've had some pretty bad experiences with rubbishy sofa beds in hotels in the past). When we arrived, we were given a room that had one double bed and one double sofa bed.

Mentioning this to the young lady at reception, she told us as far as she knew no rooms had two single beds as well as a double but if we wanted we could pay (a lot) extra and have two double rooms.

In itself not that big a problem because it was a comfortable sofa bed and both kids are boys but if it had been a teenage boy and girl that would have been a bit awkward.

On our return that same website still lists that room as having a double and two single beds. Slightly misleading I think.

All in all, a hotel that I would recommend, just hope they clarify the hotel description in future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sma2151791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca V, Direttore at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest, we are sorry for the misunderstanding. We hope to see you again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked online where the pictures were way different than the reality. once we got there, we found out that the rooms are very small. when I tried to use the bathroom the door handle fell. We decided to leave and informed the hotel reception that we would like to cancel the booking. they did not ask us why. they just informed us that we have to pay for two nights. we did and then left.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wafa_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Assonitis, Direttore generale at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for your time to review us. We're sorry that your stay in Rome didn't meet your expectations. Your comments will help us to improve our services. Regarding the photos, it's very difficult to represent every room since accommodations are very different from each other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#110 of 1,257 in Rome
829 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#284 of 1,257 in Rome
268 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#383 of 1,257 in Rome
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Prestige Guest House
Prestige Guest House
#742 of 1,257 in Rome
95 reviews
Campo Marzio
Daniel's Hotel
Daniel's Hotel
#419 of 1,257 in Rome
192 reviews
Campo Marzio
La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homs Hotel

Property: Homs Hotel
Address: Via della Vite 71/72, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#271 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Homs is a boutique 4 star hotel located in the heart of the historical center of Rome, on the fashionable Via della Vite in the the city's finest shopping area, just around the corner from Piazza di Spagna and the Spanish steps. From its long tradition, Hotel Homs offers its guests a combination of this Italian charm and modern amenities found in the newly remodeled Executive rooms. The Hotel's Vuda Bar is a great place to start your day with a rich buffet breakfast, in a unique and charming setting, before stepping out for a day of sightseeing and shopping (all found within walking distance). Our staff and impeccable service make Hotel Homs the perfect spot in Rome for your holiday or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homs Hotel Rome
Hotel Homs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing