We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Marcus
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Rome
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 939(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
4
16
11
14
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
16
11
14
28
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Had a 5 day stay here in June. were assured there would be a pick up at airport (we were prepared to pay) but alas no pick up! our flight had been delayed, but I did phone from Scotland to let them know and was assured there was no problem! taxi from airport did not know location, but fortunately had a good map. Staff on duty not very helpful. there were obviously large renovation works going on so no dining room but we were given a ticket for cafe across the street for drink and croissant. this was closed on Sunday but no alternative was given. I hope the renovations mean that the hotel has upgraded as the location is perfect for all the sights. would consider using again if this was so, room was clean as were bathroom fascillities,shame about the upheaval (which we were not informed about) and lack of tourist info.(night reception could tell us nothing about visits to Vatican infact it seemed to belong to another country!).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2007

This hotel is beyond a dump and should be closed down. There were six of us travelling in Italy and we booked three rooms at the Marcus via the on-line booking option. Nothing that exists on the hotel website actually exists in reality. Although the entry is a good sign of what is to come, we were tired and agreed to check in. That process, which requires that you pay ahead for your 2 night stay, should have been another warning of what was to come. We were showed a room that was not awful, but, of course, not available. The rooms we did get were tiny, filthy, without hot water, a toilet that did not flush, and dirty linens. One room even had pidgeons in it! The staff was rude and not at willing to help with any problems. Although the rooms come with a continental breakfast -- not one of us wanted to drink a cafe latte from the disgusting cups! Luckily we were only committed to a 2 night stay and we mananged to escape the Marcus without harm or disease. Do yourself a favor and don't stay at the Marcus Hotel. If you do -- bring your flip-flops so you can take a cold shower!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank floodwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2007

...but, excellent location (half-way between the Spanish steps and the Piazza Navona) for a lads weekend away in a great city. The cheap price meant that we didn't care about the hotel's shoddiness. Who sits around in their hotel room all day anyway? You should be out seeing the sites and only use the room to pass out in at the end of the night. This place is basically one step up from a hostel - at least you get your own bathroom. The room was clean if rather scruffy and cramped. The service was fine from the various people at reception. We didn't have any problem at all. Besides you are staying in the best area of Rome for a fraction of the price you would normally pay. One more thing... don't be too surprised if the toilet flushing mechanism, is somewhat eccentric! Don't expect much and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! The toilet seat broke, the curtains fell down when I pulled them across and the bed sheets were filthy! We were given another room but the air-conditioning did'nt work and the 'phone was dead. In the end we went to another hotel, despite having paid 6 nights in advanace. This place was so bad that it was allmost funny! Basil Faulty eat your heart out! Australian Visitor to Rome

Stayed: July 2006
Thank RowlandMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Our stay at the Marcus Hotel was terrible!! The location was very good but we dreaded going back to our hotel room. There was an unbearable smell that would come form the drain pipes in the bathroom. We old management about it and they didnt care...they just said its common in souch old buildings.
The shower was too small and you can hardly move (i am a thin person) The overall cleanliness of the hotel was not good!! Very dissapointing for the price we paid. i would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mickey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews