We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location. The best for this price!”
Review of Hotel Marcus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marcus
Ranked #1,057 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location. The best for this price!”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

It was our extra fast honeymoon trip and to be honest, I was afraid of what will we see after arriving in Rome, mainly because of the terrible reviews some travelers have posted. We were actually very surprised!!!
I did upgrade the room from the standard one and I think it was a good decision.
The room was still very tiny, but just enough for the two of us.
Air conditioning worked great (we had record high temperatueres!!!), the room was renovated, clean and comfortable.; same to the bathroom.
If you want to complain you will find something to talk about, BUT for this price and this location, you will not find a better hotel!
If you are on a budged, do not want to stay near Termini, want to be close to everything, and you don't care about luxury, then you will be satisfied!!!
You will find here everything you need. If you want luxury and elegance go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdaG1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    11
    14
    28
See reviews for
8
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We had a lovely time at this hotel.The room was clean, recently renovated with air condition and tv, very comfortable beds. Bathroom was very clean...The staff was friendly and helpful, specially Mrs. Aurora- she will tell you what to do and see in Rome!!!
Breakfast was good - roll, coffee, tea, butter, jam, croissant...
We would recommend this hotel to every one, nice rooms for good price!
Iva & Nina, Croatia

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

the room was small, and the bathroom even smaller but the ac worked well, it was clean en very well placed. if you are only there to sleep, it s a good place for the price. don t expect too much and you ll be satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petite Fannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

You really should be looking for something else... it's too expencive, for what is returned....
Breackfast.... HA ??? dry bread.. and coffe from a maschine..

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PederH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

After reading all these messages bellow I was a bit afraid of booking it but it was so cheap and I m a person who really spends all day out eating and drinking when I m travelling.

I arrived to the hotel and I ve been greeted and checked in by this lady called Aurora, she is just fantastic! She helps with tips what you should and shouldnt do, she s very caring and I think 90% of my staying in this hotel was pleasant due to her customer service.

The hotel is a little bit noisy but not all the time and not every day only friday/saturday night (of course you are in Central Rome the best spot ever for a little party in the weekend).

My room was spotless clean and spacious. I higly recommend this hotel fro travellers and people willing to explore Rome. The location is very safe the police is around all night.

I ve been to five stars hotels before and I felt bad because of some staff arrogance, so I rather go to a warm , clean place with nice staff than going to a 5 stars spot where people shows no respect for customers!

And guess what: INTERNET FREE AND FAST! any other hotel you would have to pay for internet at least 5 euros a day!

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We stayed in Hotel Marcus in November 2009. It was really reasonably priced, and seemed from the map to be in great location, we arrived and I would agree with a previous reviewer that the gates don't look welcoming, but there is a very simple intercom system. We stayed in room 13, which I wouldn't describe as beautiful, or indeed spacious, but it did the job! The location was perfect, a stone's throw from anything you might want to see, we walked everywhere. The receptionist was incredibly helpful and friendly, if a little eccentric. She talked us through all the tourist attraction in detail, we were both really impressed, it was exactly what we needed. Night receptionist was grumpy, but it didn't detract from our enjoyment.

We had a great time, I would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget who wants a great location. Don't go with high expectations, if you want a massive room, in a gorgeous hotel then go somewhere else and pay the premium for it!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesliptrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel 939
Hotel 939
#897 of 1,261 in Rome
166 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#368 of 1,261 in Rome
417 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,163 of 3,688 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,736 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,261 in Rome
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marcus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marcus

Property: Hotel Marcus
Address: Via del Clementino 94, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,057 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marcus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcus Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing