We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marcus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Marcus
Ranked #1,076 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Horrible experience.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Room size was misleading. Staff was very misleading and not very friendly. Internet slow! See picture of rest room. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hphp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    11
    14
    28
See reviews for
8
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Quiet, Comfy, Cozy hotel. Yes, the room was small, but who goes to the center of Rome to hang out int he hotel. Perfect location and the price is right. Would definately stay again in the future. Hotel staff could share basic information, but gave us all we needed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cella65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I booked through the website of Hotel 939. Do not be tricked by this website. When I arrived, they did not have any renovated rooms available and we were given room 13. It was dark, dank, and so very small. There was no room for our luggage, the toilet ran, and the shower leaked. But the location was really great, so we just stayed away all day long and only slept there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris60922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stayed for 4 nights, Oct 8 to 12, 2010. The hotel has been totally renovated since some of the earlier reviews. Rooms/bathrooms were very clean, small compared to N.America (but average by European Standards). The beds are a little stiff, some sort of foam mattress but overall comfortable. AC worked great, still needed in October.
No safe in room, despite being advertised. Staff speaks english well.
Breakfast (depending on who you book through it may or may not be included) pretty simple, croissant, bun, and coffee, but a great way to get a quick start in the morning.

Sorry, forgot to take pictures of the inside.

New windows help keep out the street noise. Weekend was a little noisy but not enough to keep you up.
Free wireless Internet, signal was pretty low but only cut out once during our stay.

Staff is at the front desk 24/7.

Location, Location Location.

If you look down the street from the front door you can see the Spanish Steps.
5 min walk to the Pantheon
5 min walk to Piazza Navona/Campo di Fiori
15 min or less walk to the Colosseum/Forum
15 min or less walk to the Vatican/St.Peters

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bchrist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

It was our extra fast honeymoon trip and to be honest, I was afraid of what will we see after arriving in Rome, mainly because of the terrible reviews some travelers have posted. We were actually very surprised!!!
I did upgrade the room from the standard one and I think it was a good decision.
The room was still very tiny, but just enough for the two of us.
Air conditioning worked great (we had record high temperatueres!!!), the room was renovated, clean and comfortable.; same to the bathroom.
If you want to complain you will find something to talk about, BUT for this price and this location, you will not find a better hotel!
If you are on a budged, do not want to stay near Termini, want to be close to everything, and you don't care about luxury, then you will be satisfied!!!
You will find here everything you need. If you want luxury and elegance go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdaG1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We had a lovely time at this hotel.The room was clean, recently renovated with air condition and tv, very comfortable beds. Bathroom was very clean...The staff was friendly and helpful, specially Mrs. Aurora- she will tell you what to do and see in Rome!!!
Breakfast was good - roll, coffee, tea, butter, jam, croissant...
We would recommend this hotel to every one, nice rooms for good price!
Iva & Nina, Croatia

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

the room was small, and the bathroom even smaller but the ac worked well, it was clean en very well placed. if you are only there to sleep, it s a good place for the price. don t expect too much and you ll be satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petite Fannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Lilium Hotel
Lilium Hotel
#224 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#105 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Prati
Casa Valdese
Casa Valdese
#530 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel 939
Hotel 939
#827 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#346 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#180 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marcus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marcus

Property: Hotel Marcus
Address: Via del Clementino 94, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,076 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Marcus Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing