We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - Bad breakfast ”
Review of Re Testa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Re Testa
Ranked #479 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very good, nice and helpfull personel at the frontdesk, cosy and clean rooms and a very Big balcony. The area was nice and near all the big must see sights in Rome.
The breakfast was not that good, that you have to go next door at a restaurant with very disapointing breakfast and even more disapointing service from the restaurant personel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mikkel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Re Testa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here during our first trip to Rome for 6 nights. After reading reviews I was worried about the amount of noise I would hear (being a light sleeper) so we emailed ahead and asked for an even numbered quiet room and I barely heard anything the entire time I slept there! All the staff were helpful; they gave us extra pillows and allowed us to leave our luggage there after we checked out. The room was great; air con, fridge, small shower but that was fine and we had a terrace balcony overlooking the air conditioners but we had no problem with this. The breakfast we received from the cafe downstairs was a croissant, toast and a juice and coffee and this was plenty for us! Although do be aware that breakfast finishes at 10.30 (we were caught out one day as no one told us, however we were still served).
Downsides to the hotel are that our bedding and towels weren't changed and floor wasn't swept until halfway through our stay and that was because we were there when the cleaner came in so made sure we asked! Also, we were faced with an air con tax of €24 at the end of our stay which we were apparently supposed to have been informed about but weren't so be aware! It's €2 per person per night to have the air con on!
Overall I would stay here again (in an even numbered room) and would recommend to anyone visiting Rome!

Room Tip: Quiet only in an even numbered room!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a room with a terrace over a long weekend in Rome - the hotel has everything you might need, including a kitchenette if you wanted to dine in. It is a 10min walk away from metro Piramide/Ostiense which goes to Fiumiucino airport.

All the staff were friendly and really went out of their way to look after us during our stay.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank KseniaZheltoukhova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a fraud, It’s not an hotel, it’s more like a motel, just for “adults”. No lobby or entrance space, feasibility access is by a small stairs leading to the hallway of the rooms.
No room for breakfast, you must go outside and cross the street to a snack-bar. Staff was very rude and didn't give any touristic help.
Large balcony overlooking the air conditioning machines, really disappointing and unsafe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Albano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LcrHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Re Testa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mr. Albano M.,

We are glad that you left your opinion. It is always important for us to improve although we do not agree with some of the points so we would like to leave our version of the facts.
To access our Hotel there are two options: a large lift (for max. 8 persons , total 630 kg) or a wide stairway (1,60m) to get to the 1st floor where rooms and reception are located.
Breakfast is served inside of the same bulding so we wonder where did you have your breakfast?
About the reception staff we work everyday to keep our high standards and positive comments by other guests regarding our service are the proof that we are in the right way.
Finaly, we did not understand what did you mean by "for adults" and we find this comment innapropriate.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice hotel with big rooms next to the Market in Testacio. The bathroom was surprisingly big, but needed a renovation due to dampness. Wi-fi is free. Our Twin room had a balcony too, but it is actually a part of big terrace.
The breakfast was in the next door restaurant - sandwiches or croissant with coffee/tea and juice. If the market is opened I'd suggest to go there for a breakfast. In the area there are amy nice restaurants and shops (Volpetti).
Piramide Metro station is 10 min by foot.
The lady at the Reception offered and arranged for us transfer to the airport at decent price.
In general I liked the hotel very much and I'd consider staying there and using the Metro daily in my future trips in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadiYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was business trip in Roma ,working In MACRO De Arte Contemporane, instaaling Finnis/Estonia Shifting Identities Show and staying 9 days in ReTesta hotel. Hotel is next to Museum and same building is big inside market. Market was great and I made nice local food dinners to my wife and some artist friend.Our room was street side and our balcony had nice wiev to bars,restaurant,and evening happenings. My collique have room to market side and it was more silent but that side balcony have more sun in afternoon to evening.Brakfast was down stair La Moderna restaurant,but it was boaring.Wlan works part time but it was free.
If you like made own food, use market,it is great but when you book hotel ask free coking staff,after arriving it is not free any more.
beat
jormaa

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jormaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

It is important to note the staff was polite and courteous. Other than that was suggested there was a restaurant with breakfast and room service. It ended up a voucher to an external restaurant with coffee and a croissant was it. There was no AC and when asked it was that it only got turned on in May. And finally, being there on business. There was no internet connection from the room. I ended up having to buy a Euro SIM card in order to get any work done.

Nice concept - just missed the mark.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LcrHotels, Manager at Re Testa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Scott, we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We confirm that unfortunately we were without internet wi-fi in half of our rooms for 3 days as our technician couldn't understant where the problem was and sort it out.
About the breakfast it is composed of a croissant, a fuit juice,a caffe/ cappucino/ milk or tea, toasted bread, butter and jam.
The ac is working perfectly but now it is still programmed for winter / spring season. From May we change it for spring/ summer season and it will be possible to have cold air in the rooms. This change always depends on the weather and each year we decide when will be the right period for the ac inversion.
Again Mr. Scott, we are very sorry and we hope we'll have the chance to change your opinion about the Hotel.

Best regards,
Vera Guerreiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Testaccio
Crossroad Hotel
Crossroad Hotel
#832 of 1,267 in Rome
14 reviews
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#804 of 1,267 in Rome
212 reviews
Ostiense
Abitart Hotel
Abitart Hotel
#302 of 1,267 in Rome
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence Candia
#384 of 1,267 in Rome
422 reviews
Hotel Versailles
#667 of 1,267 in Rome
179 reviews
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#276 of 1,267 in Rome
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Re Testa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Re Testa

Address: Via Beniamino Franklin 4, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #479 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £59 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Re Testa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and Dynamic lifestyle, a perfect synergy between comfort,privacy and all pleasure of Roman life. It’s one of the mostcharacteristic neighborhood of Rome. The Re Testa is the proud of the architectural project that isrequalifying the Testaccio area by redeveloping the local market,creating new restaurants and offices.This Residence is the ideal for medium-term stays, both for business and student approach and it guarantees a very high standard of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Re Testa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing