We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart and trendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Re Testa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Re Testa
Ranked #408 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smart and trendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is in an up and coming area of Rome in the Testaccio district. It's clean, smart, trendy and easy access via buses/Metro/walking to the main centre of Rome. The reception staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful showing you were things were via their maps, printing bus timetables, finding out information in general really.
My room was lovely, I had wanted to stay somewhere a little more modern than the traditional chintzy-type B&B's you can end up in and boy did I hit the jackpot. The décor was black, red, white and very modern. I loved having a (very large!) balcony and the kitchen area was a lovely option I just chose not to purchase it as I wanted to make the most of being in Rome and eating out. The bathroom was clean and tidy also, perfectly large enough. No squeezing round the sink to get to the toilet. In fact the entire hotel room, well, suite as there was a sitting/dining area too was a wonderful size.
Breakfast was served in a restaurant downstairs that had not long opened (on the website it still said that breakfast was served in your room so I was a little confused upon arrival to be told to collect my ticket for breakfast downstairs as there isn't a downstairs to this hotel, all first floor!) Come the morning though the receptionist cleared it up for me. I personally thought the breakfast was lovely. A choice of croissants followed by toast and biscottate served with jams/butter and of course Nutella. Coffee or tea and fruit juice. The staff in the restaurant were also friendly and helpful.
Upon leaving I was allowed to leave my luggage with reception which was a great help as I wasn't flying till that evening.
All in all would I recommend this hotel? Yes
Would I stay here again? Definitely!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, you definitely want to request a room on the inside of the hotel. As it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuttyrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    113
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
51
100
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very good, nice and helpfull personel at the frontdesk, cosy and clean rooms and a very Big balcony. The area was nice and near all the big must see sights in Rome.
The breakfast was not that good, that you have to go next door at a restaurant with very disapointing breakfast and even more disapointing service from the restaurant personel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikkel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here during our first trip to Rome for 6 nights. After reading reviews I was worried about the amount of noise I would hear (being a light sleeper) so we emailed ahead and asked for an even numbered quiet room and I barely heard anything the entire time I slept there! All the staff were helpful; they gave us extra pillows and allowed us to leave our luggage there after we checked out. The room was great; air con, fridge, small shower but that was fine and we had a terrace balcony overlooking the air conditioners but we had no problem with this. The breakfast we received from the cafe downstairs was a croissant, toast and a juice and coffee and this was plenty for us! Although do be aware that breakfast finishes at 10.30 (we were caught out one day as no one told us, however we were still served).
Downsides to the hotel are that our bedding and towels weren't changed and floor wasn't swept until halfway through our stay and that was because we were there when the cleaner came in so made sure we asked! Also, we were faced with an air con tax of €24 at the end of our stay which we were apparently supposed to have been informed about but weren't so be aware! It's €2 per person per night to have the air con on!
Overall I would stay here again (in an even numbered room) and would recommend to anyone visiting Rome!

Room Tip: Quiet only in an even numbered room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a room with a terrace over a long weekend in Rome - the hotel has everything you might need, including a kitchenette if you wanted to dine in. It is a 10min walk away from metro Piramide/Ostiense which goes to Fiumiucino airport.

All the staff were friendly and really went out of their way to look after us during our stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KseniaZheltoukhova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto District, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a fraud, It’s not an hotel, it’s more like a motel, just for “adults”. No lobby or entrance space, feasibility access is by a small stairs leading to the hallway of the rooms.
No room for breakfast, you must go outside and cross the street to a snack-bar. Staff was very rude and didn't give any touristic help.
Large balcony overlooking the air conditioning machines, really disappointing and unsafe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LcrHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Re Testa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mr. Albano M.,

We are glad that you left your opinion. It is always important for us to improve although we do not agree with some of the points so we would like to leave our version of the facts.
To access our Hotel there are two options: a large lift (for max. 8 persons , total 630 kg) or a wide stairway (1,60m) to get to the 1st floor where rooms and reception are located.
Breakfast is served inside of the same bulding so we wonder where did you have your breakfast?
About the reception staff we work everyday to keep our high standards and positive comments by other guests regarding our service are the proof that we are in the right way.
Finaly, we did not understand what did you mean by "for adults" and we find this comment innapropriate.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice hotel with big rooms next to the Market in Testacio. The bathroom was surprisingly big, but needed a renovation due to dampness. Wi-fi is free. Our Twin room had a balcony too, but it is actually a part of big terrace.
The breakfast was in the next door restaurant - sandwiches or croissant with coffee/tea and juice. If the market is opened I'd suggest to go there for a breakfast. In the area there are amy nice restaurants and shops (Volpetti).
Piramide Metro station is 10 min by foot.
The lady at the Reception offered and arranged for us transfer to the airport at decent price.
In general I liked the hotel very much and I'd consider staying there and using the Metro daily in my future trips in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadiYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was business trip in Roma ,working In MACRO De Arte Contemporane, instaaling Finnis/Estonia Shifting Identities Show and staying 9 days in ReTesta hotel. Hotel is next to Museum and same building is big inside market. Market was great and I made nice local food dinners to my wife and some artist friend.Our room was street side and our balcony had nice wiev to bars,restaurant,and evening happenings. My collique have room to market side and it was more silent but that side balcony have more sun in afternoon to evening.Brakfast was down stair La Moderna restaurant,but it was boaring.Wlan works part time but it was free.
If you like made own food, use market,it is great but when you book hotel ask free coking staff,after arriving it is not free any more.
beat
jormaa

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jormaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Abitart Hotel
Abitart Hotel
#307 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#875 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Residenza Villa Marignoli
#765 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#274 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Hotel Apogia Lloyd Roma
#283 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Monteverde
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#522 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Re Testa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Re Testa

Property: Re Testa
Address: Via Beniamino Franklin 4, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Re Testa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and Dynamic lifestyle, a perfect synergy between comfort,privacy and all pleasure of Roman life. It’s one of the mostcharacteristic neighborhood of Rome. The Re Testa is the proud of the architectural project that isrequalifying the Testaccio area by redeveloping the local market,creating new restaurants and offices.This Residence is the ideal for medium-term stays, both for business and student approach and it guarantees a very high standard of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Re Testa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing