We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb from beginning to end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finestra su Trastevere
Ranked #1,661 of 3,711 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked these apartments as a party of ten visiting Rome for the Six Nations rugby, but I would to hesitate to recommend them to anyone regardless of the purpose of your stay. In the heart of the funky Trastavere district, our whole experience could really not be bettered. Even though we arrived late evening, our welcome was warm and formalities completed with a minimum of fuss. Natascia gave us the lowdown on local eateries, but to be honest, in this area you're spoilt for choice and away from much of the tourist main drag, you're not gong to pay and arm and a leg. The owners leave you to get on and enjoy Rome and showed great flexibility in allowing us to use a room well after check-out.

The five rooms themselves are spotlessly clean, modern and stylish, each with an en suite bathroom with shower and toilet. An unexpected bonus is the use of the large sun terrace on the roof of the building, which even in March was an absolute delight. There's nothing negative I can say about this place - for the cost it's an absolute steal and we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonPhilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Finestra su Trastevere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at this guesthouse in December for four nights (a birthday long weekend!) and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for quality accomodation in Rome. We were looking for something in the Trastevere area and stumbled across it on the internet, and were really thrilled with the service, location, and quality of the accomodation. Cristian was a wonderful host and very, very accomodating, allowing us to have both an early check in and late check out, which was really wonderful. Our room was spotless and clearly newly renovated (the beautiful bathroom in particular was a welcome surprise after having stayed in other guesthouses in Rome with very average plumbing over the years!).

As other reviews have noted, the location is ideal with all major tourist sites being in close walking distance, while the guest house itself is located in trendy Trastevere, with its winding medieval streets, a wide choice of bars and restaurants, and a great vibe. Cristian upgraded us from the small room we had originally booked to a larger, beautiful room overlooking a small square. Perhaps because we stayed at a quieter time of the year we didn't experience any noise issues at all and we just loved waking up and looking out onto the typical, quaint Roman square. Another plus is the lovely rooftop terrace, again being there in December we couldn't make the most of it, but still braved the chill for an early evening vino looking over the rooftops and smoking chimneys of this charming part of Rome. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and look so forward to returning this spring.

Amelia & Vincent
Paris, 3 February 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this five-bedroom apartment with a shared kitchen.

Our room had a high-spec en suite and what the room itself lacked in size it made up for in value for money and convenience. We were in the heart of the Trastevere neighbourhood, with plenty of good restaurants, coffee shops and bars nearby. We were also a 30-minute walk from the Vatican City, a 20-minute walk from the Coliseum and a 15-minute walk into the Centro Storico, which meant it was in a good location without being in the midst of the touristy areas too near the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, etc.

The only negative (which wouldn't be an issue for rooms on the other side of the apartment) is that our window overlooked a square, which meant that over the weekend the bar noise didn't die down until well past midnight. Fine if you're out late yourself and/or relatively deep sleepers (as we were/are), but probably not ideal for families.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the square would probably be quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkkkaimook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Despite the overall review being average my fiancee and I were happy with this accommodation. It is basic and that is exactly what we needed.

Our room overlooked the Piazza and most nights it can be noisy until around 1am although the window shutters did help somewhat. Families with small children it is worth mentioning here that the windows open fully with no protection guard.

The owner was very friendly and provided a map of the city which was easy to follow. After our initial meeting we didn't see much of him for the duration of our trip however, we could get hold of him via mobile for any problems but didn't need to.

The area around the apartment is vibrant in the early evening and it is worth having a walk through the picturesque cobbled streets that are filled with eateries, shops, bars and of course places of worship.

The room is basic with a good clean bathroom, small fridge, TV and Wi-Fi. There is also a communal dining area with 2 gas hobs, kettle and microwave...anyone going in the next few days, you are welcome to help yourselves to the corn flakes we left in the cupboard :-)

Distance:
25 mins walk to the Colosseum
35 mins walk to St Peter's Basilica
20 mins walk to the Pantheon

My partner and I are fairly fit so these are just rough guides.

We managed to find a good deal on these apartments and were slightly shocked to see the normal price which was much higher. Had we paid full price then we would've expected more.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Piazza are best reserved for those who don't mind a bit of noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank markguitars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

After doing some reading about the areas of Rome, we decided to stay in the Trastevere section. This guest house is in an older building but they have done a wonderful job of remodeling a portion of it. We were flying in and out of Rome for this 3week vacation so we stayed the first 2nights and the last 2 nights here. They can arrange for a car pick up at the airport so we used their service coming and going. It is a set price and cheaper than some and so much easier than flying internationally and then trying to hassle with transportation. There is no breakfast but there is a kitchen that you can use for minimal cooking but more importantly for that first cup of espresso in the morning. There are plenty of nearby places to grab a delicious pastry and coffee and if you stand at the counter it is really cheap! Remember that you have to let the owners know when you are arriving so that someone can be there to give you keys - this is not owner occupied. We would stay here next time we visit Rome!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice in 3 months and found the staff very accomodating and helpful. They even sent a vehicle to pick us up from the airport. The rooms are clean, simple and modern and situated right in the part of town where the local life takes place. There are loads of bars, restaurants and shops in close proximity but beware it can be a little noisy in the square into the early hours of the morning. The rooftop terrace is superb and looks over the whole area and all in this is now our hotel of choice when visiting Rome

Room Tip: Rooms away from the square at the back are quieter. e.g the Pantheon
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgauntlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We arrived slightly later then expected and when we tried the buzzer of the guest house there was no answer. Panicked I checked my emails for a contact number or other address but no avail. Luckily a couple who had been staying there returned to pick up something they had forgotten and managed to contact the owner who arrived in 10 minutes. There is no reception as it is a guesthouse but the owner gave me his number in case of any problems which there weren't.
Once inside, the room was perfect it was very clean, spacious great shower, comfy bed. We got given a map with good places to eat highlighted and were to avoid!! On the roof was a terrace with bar, between 6-9 was 'happy hour' where we ended up having a bottle of wine as the aperitifs kept on coming! We chatted to the owner who recommended us to walk up to Fontana dell'Acqua Paola. It was beautiful with great views of city. The area is fantastic for dining out and late night drinks without being noisy. It had a fabulous atmosphere all over Trastevere and I would definitely recommend this hotel/Guesthouse to anyone staying in Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#518 of 1,267 in Rome
170 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#516 of 1,267 in Rome
262 reviews
Trastevere
Trastevere Luxury Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hip Suites
Hip Suites
#228 of 3,711 in Rome
269 reviews
Trastevere
A Trastevere da M.E.
A Trastevere da M.E.
#138 of 3,711 in Rome
194 reviews
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#134 of 1,133 in Rome
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finestra su Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finestra su Trastevere

Address: Piazza Giuditta Tavani Arquati 113, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,661 of 3,711 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £75 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Finestra su Trastevere” is a luxury guest house, on the second floor of a building in the heart of old Rome, in Piazza GT Arquati, a short walk from Piazza S. Maria in Trastevere. It consists of five rooms - four doubles and one single room - comfortable and refined, in which every detail has been carefully considered. All rooms have private facilities, satellite TV, air conditioning, mini bar and ADSL. The house also features a common area with kitchenette, table and chairs, where guests can entertain themselves, prepare and eat snacks together and spend time relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Finestra su Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing