We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with a few drawbacks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #46 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
641 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a few drawbacks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

The San Anselmo is certainly a nice hotel. We had booked Room 829 which was a good size with nice bathroom and spacious Terrace overlooking the rooftops towards Rome. On arrival, the room seemed very dark but on opening the curtains and windows wide it was airy and well decorated with a large comfortable bed. A small table and two chairs would have been better being replaced with a comfortable chair or sofa to relax but as the weather was very warm we made plenty of use of the Terrace. There were two chairs and a table but it adjoined the next room with just a flimsy trellis and hedge so somewhat lacked privacy.
Towels and shampoo/shower gel were generously provided and I liked the fact that the lockable wardrobe contained a safe so valuables were secure.
Breakfast was fine but after five days became a little monotonous. However, the coffee was strong and tasty and there was a good selection of cheese, meats, fruit, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, croissants etc. so all in all, it set you up for the day.
The staff at the hotel were, without exception, helpful and polite. This was in contrast to the surly and unhelpful waiters we came across in most of the restaurant we visited in Trastevere or Rome in general. Is it just that they didn't particularly want our custom in their restaurants or is this the normal reception people get when dining out in Rome - it didn't do tourism any favours although there was no lack of tourists!
If it was our first visit to Rome we would have preferred to stay in a hotel nearer to the centre as it was a bit of a trek back after a day visiting the sites. This was our second visit to Rome though and for a repeat visit, the hotel was perfect. It encouraged us to see the real Rome and most nights we went to Trastevere to soak up the atmosphere in the narrow and atmospheric streets and sit in lovely, dimly lit squares and watch the world go by.
To get into the Colosseum, we found the best bus from the bottom of the hill on Marmarata was the number 75 as this stopped right outside the Colosseum. Make sure you know which direction you are travelling however as the Number 3 tram caused us directional headaches!
To get to St Peter's or to Trastevere we always caught the Number 23 from the same stop at the bottom of the hill and this stopped at several bridges from where you could stroll into the heart of the area - a real Rome experience. It also stops outside St Peter's and the Vatican City.
We preferred the atmospheric Rome to the tourist Rome but the hotel does enable a mix of each, sightseeing in the day and eating.drinking in reasonably prices bars and restaurants at night.
In short, a very good hotel, we booked a superior room and would do so again; the location gives an authentic taste of Rome; the staff and ambiance of the hotel were excellent - however the climb up the hill was always a bit of an effort. A most enjoyable five nights in Rome and at the San Anselmo!

Room Tip: Book a superior Room as they are more spacious and have a balcony/terrace - at least most seemed to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Bob,
thank you very much for dedicating your time in explaining so clearly, honestly and straight forward your first roman experience and for giving advise to other guest about transportation, on how to get around in Rome easly and all the different and charateristic neighborhoods and archeological sights.
We are happy to know you appreciated your "Room with view", the ambiences and the staff in general of our hotel S. Anselmo but I'm sorry to know that the service received in the local restaurants in Rome did not meet your expectation. Unfortunately it's a real pity as most of the restaurants in Rome are not very service oriented and tourism is very important for us. I wish you could find an improvement in that in your next visit.
Hopefully you will give us a pleasure to host you again in one of our properties in the Aventino hill when visiting the eternal city again.
Thank you again for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    223
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
84
783
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

beautiful neighborhood, quiet very green and convenient to the sites.
beautiful rooms, very clean, very well decorated and confortable! also very large for rome standards.
beautiful lobby and outdoor seating area!
loved this hotel
the only thing which was not so great was breakfast! we had breakfast in our room which was decent but I understood from friends that also stayed at the hotel that the buffet breakfast offered in the garden was a much better choice!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michu555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for finding some of your time to post your beautiful comment on trip advisor.
You gave a faithfull description of the beauty of our Hotel as well as our rooms. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the service during your stay.

We are a little disappointed though that breakfast served in the room didn’t meet your expectations.
Our buffet has such a variety of products which is impossible to serve them all in one single tray when breakast is preferred in the room. Of course a larger selection is available when our clients enjoy our buffet breakfast served maily outdoor in our garden expecially during this nice and pleasant season

Thank you again and we hope you to be our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We first came to San Anselmo in 1998 and this was a return trip for our wedding anniversary. Since our last visit the hotel has been substantially refurbished but has lost none of its individual character. Rooms are charming, well presented and furnished and immaculately clean. Breakfasts - eaten in the garden when weather permits - are much improved; we found the buffet generous and imaginative. All staff were friendly and helpful, with beautiful English (and a tolerance for our much clumsier Italian). Very good value considering the location. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandMichael_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Sarah and Michael,
we are thrilled to read such a wonderful review about our hotel S. Anselmo and we loved your enthusiasm in describing your second experience with us.
We are glad you have chosen to return to the Hotel S. Anselmo for your romantic getaway to celebrate your wedding anniversary and that the service received met your expectations.

Thank you again for your visit and we are looking forward to see you in our “eternal city”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We spent the last week of August at the Hotel San Anselmo and would strongly recommend it if you wish to stay somewhere that felt safe, comfortable and away from the bustle of the city centre. The hotel is small and well presented, with all guest rooms individually decorated to a good standard (we'd recommend checking out the hotel website before you book and requesting a room that suits your tastes). The public areas are nicely finished and comfortable.

The staff were generally friendly - and when we needed help or directions they went out of their way to be as helpful as possible. The breakfast staff were always warm and friendly. Breakfast was fairly basic: fruit, bread, cheese, cold meat, pastries. However in the higher temperatures of Rome in August, we didn't feel that a cooked breakfast was necessary.

We walked from the Circo Massimo when we first arrived and although this is possible, we'd suggest a taxi. The Pyramide metro is closer but a slightly steeper hill climb on the way back and a busy roundabout to negotiate. Walking to the Palatino and Colosseo 15 and 20 minutes respectively but with heat and busy roads you might prefer to jump in a taxi at the bottom of the Via di Saint Anselmo. Taxis cost about 6-7 Euros to the centre of town (check the driver has a meter and ask for a guide price before you commit). Taxi to the Vatican was 11Euros.

We decided that we wanted the extra space and so booked Double Deluxe. This gave us a dressing area and balcony, which ensured we didn't feel cramped and therefore represented value for money. The bed was extremely comfortable, air conditioning worked well and there was no noise from outside.

Room Tip: Check out the website and speak directly to the hotel, they all speak excellent English.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for sharing, with the trip adviser community, such a clear, appropriate,accurate description of the Hotel S.Anselmo, the staff and the location.
Looking foward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights the last week of July. We arrived around 7 pm at night and were quite impressed with the beauty of the hotel at night. Lovely lighting and outdoor seating area...
Upon our arrival we were given an upgrade which put us into room 806...a room separated from the rest of the hotel. The room was comfortable but odd. It was like staying in a converted garage with a bathroom in the basement. The bathroom was as large as the bedroom but was accessed by walking down about 10 stone steps into the basement. The entire bathroom was tiled in white and burgundy mosaic tile. Kind of cool but a bit outdated... The bath fixtures, mirrors and cabinetry probably should be updated to modernize the room a bit.
As for the location...In agreement with the review regarding the neighborhood.. Beautiful neighborhood but we wished we had stayed closer to the central action of Rome. Given the heat in July...the extra 10 mins to walk to the hotel (after you have been walking all day) wasn't very convenient for a midday rest before a 2nd round of sightseeing. Although with this said, we would probably stay on the hill again in cooler weather.
All in all a memorable stay at the hotel but it might not be our 1st choice for a future visit. The service was OK but could have been better...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DearAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Glad to know you had a memorable stay in the S.Anselmo, and that you appreciated the design and the cosy and romantic outdoor sitting area. Disappointed though you didn't like so much the "stravaganza" of our Vanity room. Secluted in the garden with a private entrance and specifically designed on two levels with a huge mosaic bathroom on the lower one inspired by the antique Roman baths enriched with luminous leds on the ceiling to evoque an unforgettable roman night on the most romantic hill of them all: the Aventine.
Hopefully you will give us the pleausure to host you again in a different room with a different style and feeling as each room is caratherized by "ad hoc" enterior decoration
Thanks again for you visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights total. We stayed in two different rooms both unique and pleasant. For the most part the staff was helpful. the bell boys were great. always there with some juice or a coffee. Breakfast was great but you want to get there a bit early before all the fruit gets taken. Close enough to the main tourist area that you can walk there easily. It was also close to trestevere streets and some major bus routes to the vatican. I will always remember this hotel as it is unique and beautiful. I will stay here again the next time I am in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for posting such a beautiful review about Hotel S.,Anselmo and we are so glad to know you will not forget about us!!! The eternal City is waiting for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Lovely, clean, stylish room overlooking the piazza, friendly staff and great breakfast. Good value for money. Location is quiet and away from the bustle but easy to catch a cab or walk into the centre. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Sir,
We really appreciated your wonderful review about our Hotel S.Anselmo, We are waiting for your next visit in the eternal city, a big change from the ultra modern Australia !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#91 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#28 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#49 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing