We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel in the tranquil Aventine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #49 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in the tranquil Aventine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Beautiful, individually decorated rooms in a most peaceful position in Aventino, near some fabulous churches and basilicas and near a public garden with a superb view across Rome, but within walking distance of most of the major attractions. A most welcome complimentary afternoon tea with cake and biscuits in the gardens after a day's walking around Rome.
Staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Lovely touches like sweets put on our pillow and hand towels replaced in the evenings before we got back after supper.
We would most definitely go there again. Rome is a vibrant but tiring place and it was a joy to climb an ancient Roman path up to this haven.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Elisabeth.

Thank you for your beautiful words.

The special service to our guest and attention to details is our major priority.
We are glad that you enjoyed .
In fact the St’ Anselmo hotel has a very solid reputation, built in more than forty years of activity.
The Aventine hill with is ancient story going from the early Roman settlement to our days.

We will be very happy to have you back again, at the St’ Anselmo hotel for another wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    223
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
84
783
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Beautiful surroundings. After walking for miles exploring a city it was a joy to return to this haven. Beautifully designed and unpretentious this small hotel is set in a residential area but very close to a number of the attractions. The garden at the back serves breakfast in the shade. The staff were a joy, very helpful and honest. Sister hotels close by if you cannot get in here. Don't forget to see the 'magic keyhole' just around the corner, a medieval home of the knights of Malta, with quite a view. One comment...we could have done with a double duvet instead of two. Either way we will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purple_Basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Purle.

Thank you for the amazing review !

The Hotel San Anselmo is really an oasis of calm, in the center of Rome, and we are so glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
You did not miss the famous keyhole just walking distance from us
one of the special site of the Aventino Hill were from one spot you can admire St Peter dome through the Knight of Malta state.
We a sorry you missed the rose garden and the orange garden close by.
Next time we suggest you visit them.

Looking forward to see you again at San Anselmo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Tropez, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed in this lovely hotel about 6 month ago, it was around the end of October and beginning of November I believe.
Anyway, it was absolutely divine. My boyfriend and I (or should I say 'fiancé' since he had asked me a week before our little trip...) had a wonderful time.
Reservation was really patient and understanding- as it was a special occasion, I wanted everything to be perfect- the reservation agent (I believe his name was Alessandro) was helpful and very kind with my million questions and requests and it was greatly appreciated.
Arrival was a bit... complicated, the taxi that we booked through the hotel was 45 minutes late and I got a bit carried away (I'm a girl with temper..) BUT, as soon as we set foot in the Hotel, everything went perfectly.
The Hotel, located on the Aventi Hill is super cute and really quiet. Metro is not very far away, a 5 minutes walk or so- we didn't mind.
They let us choose our room, beautiful decoration with a canopy bed, huge bathroom and a beautiful balcony and we got a special welcome.
The whole staff at the front desk was always willing to help us out, to find our way around the city, to land an umbrella, or to advise on restaurants, etc.
I would definitely come back again. It wasn't my first time in Rome, I usually come with my girlfriends and we pick a place in Trastevere, but it was a first in Bellissima Roma for my fiancé and he quite felt in love with the city, and the hotel, which was perfect for this occasion !
Thank you :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma-Penelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Emma,
what a pleasant story!
Thank you so much for your words!
We are very happy and we always do our best to make the guests feel at home.
It’s nice to know you loved our location, our rooms with canopy bed, our services and the staff.
We are glad to know you discovered our hotel S. Anselmo and all the areas around and that you decided to come here instead of somewhere else.
Hope to see you very soon to enjoy our beautiful city with your fiancé for another romantic trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, in a fantastic room with balcony and a great view, lovely for sitting in the evening sun enjoying a pre dinner aperitif. The staff were all vey friendly, breakfast fine (this is continental Europe) and afternoon tea and cakes most welcome, sitting in the peaceful gardens. The hotel is a few minutes from the metro and in an area with good local restaurants. Driver pick up at the airport was arranged by the hotel, and worked very well. We hope to return with our teenagers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise1960_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive comment.
it’s nice to know you had a great honeymoon in our hotel S. Anselmo which is really much indicate for those special occasions!
We are glad to know you appreciate the service, the staff and the location of our hotel.
It will be a pleasure for us to show you one of our different rooms! So we hope to see you soon, maybe for your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I have been at the hotel for my honeymoon in Europ for a 5 night stay in room, and ever since I have been recommending it to all my family and friends. The location of the hotel was very convinient tho I was worried it would be too far, yet the bus station in 1 min walk and the metro is 5 min walk. Everything was accessible. The staff are very friendly and they helped us with everything. hotel rooms are gorgeous and matchingly artistic to the hotel. Breakfast has narrow options yet great. and by far they have the best coffee in Rome. I really loved my stay and willing to retun on my next visit to Rome. I think its money well invested.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiaenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive comment.
it’s nice to know you had a great honeymoon in our hotel S. Anselmo which is really much indicate for those special occasions!
We are glad to know you appreciate the service, the staff and the location of our hotel.
It will be a pleasure for us to show you one of our different rooms! So we hope to see you soon, maybe for your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Lovely boutique hotel in a quiet suburb of Rome, but within easy reach of the coliseum and other key sights. Many good and non touristy restaurants nearby. Friendly and helpful staff, chic rooms and beautiful courtyard for chilling in on a warm summer evening. Breakfast is a bit limited and they could vary the selection. There is also no restaurant or pool. But generally this is a really great little hotel with heaps of Italian charm.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for considering our hotel S. Anselmo a little gem!!
It fills us with joy and pride and all of us are thrilled to know you had a memorable experience in Rome!!
We really hope you will give us the pleasure in the nearest future to host you again in our cozy and charming villa on the Aventino hill!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Rome is a fanastic place to visit and this hotel is well placed for the tour buses at the Circus Maximus. We had high expectations of the hotel given the rating and photo's on the site and it didn't really deliver as much as it promised. No added facilities here, its a B&B and in our room you could just manage to shuffle around the bed and get a few clothes in the wardrobe, the rest stayed in the suitcase. Bathroom was nice and ornate but the shower didn't work properly and after two attempts of having them fix it we gave up, however my wife loved the spa bath. Breakfast was limited, basic and lacked inspiration. In the end we felt it was over-priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear guest,
the staff and I are so sad to know that our hotel didn't meet your expectations.
I'm really disappointed and I apoligize for any inconvenience experienced with us.
We serve only breakfast and some snacks at the bar, but just minute away you have plenty of restaurants in the tradional Testaccio neighbohood with excellent food at reasonable price in a typical roman atmosphere.
The rooms are different one another and therefore have different prices then the superior rooms which in high season have to be booked months in advance.
Hopefully you will give us the pleasure, next time, to accommodate you in a larger room so you can enjoy a real roman experience!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#92 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing