We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in lovely area”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #41 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in lovely area”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The San Anselmo is a beautiful hotel in very quiet and peaceful area. Having read reviews prior to our visit we were concerned that the location might mean a long walk to the centre however we did not use buses/taxis at all and enjoyed walking to all the attractions we wished to visit. Many thanks for the prosecco and strawberries on our anniversary- very nice thought. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others visiting the city of Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Audrey,

thank you for have given us the pleasure to host you in our “Roman Villa” on the exclusive Aventino hill.

We appreciated you share your experience with us in our romantic city of Rome…
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    227
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
89
805
37
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This was our third hotel on our mammoth honeymoon travels across Italy, which we are currently half way through . We spent four nights here, and on arrival staff had kindly provided us with strawberries and prosecco on arrival and my husband had organised A giant rose to surprise me. This was lovely! We had the golden room and before arriving staff response meant promptly to any questions.

Internet connection was brilliant and as everyone else has said the location is fabulous. Rome is a very, very, very busy city with lots of traffic, however sitting on our large balcony all you could here was bird song.

Breakfast was divine each morning (with scrambled eggs and bacon as well as a large range of continently breakfast choices) and we ordered it in our room one morning, at no extra charge, which felt so special, we are not ones to order 'room service' and this added to our honeymoon celebration. We ate it on the balcony. This is a lovely option.

Staff, as per everyone else's reviews, were always exceptional, professional and polite, we felt looked after. They printed off our vouchers (tickets to get into Vatican museums and the colosseum we bought online to avoid the queues) and sent them to our room.

The only downside I have to give to this hotel and the reason I did not give it 5 stars is because of the lack of storage space in the bathroom and the quality of the shower. Whilst I understand the rooms are small and there is nothing anyone can do about that , a corner shelving unit (perhaps above the toilet?) and hooks would not go amiss, we struggled to find somewhere for our bath bags and ended up balancing them on the bidet or putting things on the floor!. We also had problems with the shower unit (quite complex system of facets) we ended up only using the hand held shower head and the pressure was not the best. However these are only minor niggles but for the amount we paid for four nights I would not expect to have them. I would still recommend this hotel but sadly could not give it 5/5.

Re Rome
Lots of things to see, and 'tick off', however it is incredible busy with hordes of tour groups at this time of year and this spoiled things for us. There is lots to see here but not much 'to do', if you know what I mean. London and paris are better for this i must say. Traffic is a nightmare for pedestrians, drivers here do not stop for zebra crossings, and you have to take your chances and just cross and will them to stop. Best place we visited was Palatine Hill (we arrived around 4pm on a weekday and it was relatively quiet) and the Trastevere area for dinner which is only 15 mins from the hotel. This is a lively area with what seems like hundreds of restaurants, bars and small market stalls, we stumbled across a restaurant called Meridionale on via Dei Fienoroli , FANTASTIC FOOD, so good we returned again, it did not disappoint and was one of our highlights. Also wear sensible shoes (saw so many women in sexy heels, no idea how they managed to get anywhere, lol!) this city is made for walking, it can all be done on foot, perfect to take in the real Rome.

Hope this has helped, Enjoy your trip

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Zoe,
Thank you to have chosen our Hotel San Anselmo for your romantic trip in the “Eternal City”.
We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and that the Hotel and the service met your expectation.
I apologize that you could use properly the shower unit which, as you say is sophisticated and complicate to use.
Thank you for your suggestion about providing more storage space in the bathroom, which we will definitely take into considerations.
Your suggestions are so important for us.
We love to take care of our Guests and make their experience in Hotel San Anselmo a memorable stay!
We are looking forward to your next visit, maybe for your first wedding anniversary!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The San Anselmo Hotel is truly one of the most beautiful little hotels I have ever stayed in--and I will stay there again (after asking a few more questions about my room--see below). The hotel seems to radiate elegance--yet in a non-pretentious way. Located in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods of Rome, amongst mansions and embassies, you feel pampered just driving up. Our room: stunning. High ceilings, hand-painted walls, a bathtub that was more like a small swimming pool... BUT, I did not sleep well and hopefully the hotel will see this review and consider doing something about it... At least in our room, our "queen-size bed" was really two singles pushed together--but with one (beautiful) headboard. Result: waking up throughout the night as I fell into the "crack" between the two beds. And worse, rather than having a set of queen-sz sheets, each bed was covered in an individual duvet, with no sheets, If there had been sheets, the duvets wouldn't have been such a problem because you could remove them if you were too warm and still have the sheets...One other petty criticism that I hope the hotel will consider changing after seeing this review. The orange "Tang" like drink they serve at check in is meant to be a nice touch but it just looks cheap. Suggestion: either serve a nice (inexpensive) glass of prosecco or water or don't serve anything. Artificial orange drink just does not match the elegance that the rest of the place exudes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Heidi,
We are so glad to know you appreciated the elegance, the location and the special atmosphere you can feel in the Hotel and in the neighborhood. We are proud to be considered ‘the most beautiful little Hotels where you stayed before’. For me and the staff it is really the best compliment!!!!
We are very sorry for the inconvenience occurred in your room and I really sincerely apologize that you didn’t have a good night sleep!!
Thank you for pointing out this problem to our attention.
We will definitely consider your suggestions and advice that are so precious for us in order to provide always better service to our valued guests!!!
Hope to see you again in the eternal city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have just got back from our Fantastic holiday in Rome. San Anselmo hotel on Aventine Hill was the perfect location, perfect hotel, just perfect. The staff were very helpful, full of information which was always spot on.The breakfast was plentiful, the waiters very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms maybe slightly on the small side, but beautifully decorated every one individual, and very romantic, always spotlessly clean and well replenished
The afternoon tea (especially for us Brits) was very well coming after a long day sight seeing.
Would defiantly recommend this hotel and we will be back.
The flowers on our anniversary were a lovely touch....keep up the good work....and we will see you sooner rather than later.....

Thankyou for making our stay memorable ......xx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Loraine,

what a wonderful review about the Hotel San Anselmo.

Thank you so much!

It was a real pleasure for all of us to take care of you and to pamper you with a very special touch for your wedding anniversary. We are so glad to know you had such a fantastic and romantic stay, and that you found the perfect location to celebrate this special event.

We really hope to see you soon again with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

If you're bored with the bland beige of 'big name' hotel chains, you should enjoy this hotel. Courteous and helpful staff.
It is up a hill from the bus / metro stops, so wear comfortable shoes (or be prepared to pay for a taxi when you return to the hotel)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Guest,

The staff and I are thrilled to know you had a unique experience in our Hotel San Anselmo, different from the standardized chains Hotels, where you can enjoy a special Roman boutique Hotels atmosphere in a very exclusive area of Rome.

We would love to take care of you in your next visit to the eternal city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hotel San Anselmo last month and we found our "oasis in Rome", away from the crowds, noise and congestion that is part of seeing Rome. This is a great location: As it is far from the crowds, yet close enough to get to the sights of Rome. And the staff is outstanding, quick to offer assistance and suggestions. Special thanks to them for letting me use an electrical adapter, as I had left mine in Budapest. And what a treat being able to walk to Volpettu(best gourmet food store in the world! Also, make sure you try Spirito Divino for dinner, great restaurant! Hotel San Anselmo is my new "home" when visiting Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time dedicated to write such wonderful review about our property!!!

We are all so glad you had a satisfactory experience with us.

We are looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had our first honey moon night at this hotel. And it couldn't be better! The staff was so attentive that sent us strawberries and prosecco - very gentle touch! More than this, it is a true small and sophisticated hotel: tastily decorated bedrooms in the style proposed and the bathroom was big and had a great jacuzzi. The location of this hotel is incredible! Aventino is a very special district with a lot of green, beautiful buildings, small churches and gardens. So nice to have a walk around. The hotel is very close to Via Marmorata (Testaccio) and there you can find non tourists places to have a snack or buy cheese, Pasta, wine, etc... You can also get inside Testaccio or get the Piramide Metro (Line B). The breakfast was one of the best we had in our two weeks Italian trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for the time you spent to write a review about our hotel San Anselmo. We wanted you to enjoy an unforgettable honeymoon..!! And we're so happy you chose a very special place as Hotel San Anselmo for this special occasion.
We are all so glad you appreciated our service, the elegant well decorated bedroom with the confortable jacuzzi bathroom and the delicious breakfast...the right way to start well your day..!!!!
We'll wait you for another romantic holiday in Hotel San Anselmo, for another pleasant walk in the our gardens of Aventino hill.....
Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,258 in Rome
950 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#84 of 1,258 in Rome
1,364 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,331 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing