We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #42 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is gorgeous. Each room has a different decor & all are beautiful. Every morning we had breakfast in the garden, the food was simply delightful.
It's location was a little remote from the center but with the ease of public transportation, you can get there in minutes. Around the hotel there are lovely gardens which are open to the public & from there you have an amazing view of Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q_lmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Loukia Marie,
Thank you very much for your wonderful words.!
We’re so proud you appreciated our Hotel San Anselmo and also the charme and the elegance of Aventino hill. Your review give us the strength to continue our tradition, always dedicated to our precious guests, offering the best satisfaction with service and the quality of our Hotel san Anselmo.
Hoping to have you again in the future, for another unforgettable trip in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    224
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
87
790
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wonderfully elegant hotel. We couldnt find one thing that wasn't perfect about it. The staff were really friendly. The service at the hotel was without fault Breakfast was also very good fresh fruit and bread each day.
Defintely somewhere we will book again when in Rome. Testaccio was great for food ( just down the hill from the hotel) prices and food marvellous. The hotel was in a really quiet area though quite a walk to the top of the hill.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sushib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest,
this is a review we love to read.!!
Your words reflect the high quality of our Hotel San Anselmo.We're happy you enjoyed the fresh delicious breakfast and the perfect service.
We are very proud of our Hotel San Anselmo, placed in the quiet and elegant Aventinio Hill;
a short step to the beautiful archeologic sites such as Colosseo, Foro Romano and Circo Massimo.
We'll be waiting for you again in our Hotel San Anselmo for another romantic trip in the eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights before leaving on a cruise. We loved the beautiful residential area location. It is on top of a Roman hill, so, if you aren't a walker, you will need to call a cab. We had no trouble walking down (and back up) the hill to local restaurants and to use the subway. There are few restaurants that are on top of the hill. The hotel staff is very accommodating. As many reviewers have noted, the rooms are very different sizes, so make sure you book what you want. We asked for a quiet room and got one overlooking the leafy back area. Ours was one of the smaller rooms, but it was not a problem. We enjoyed the breakfast that was included and also went to the afternoon tea a few times. Our bed was very firm, which we prefer. The bathroom was updated and very nice. Good AC and wifi in the room. Also an in-room safe, which is nice in any big city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFC-Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review about our Hotel San Anselmo.
The vital reason that make us gratified is the pleasure of our guests during the period spent in our Hotel San Anselmo.
It enjoys a highly respected position, on the top of Aventino hill, one of the most elegant place, surrounded by the green and so beautiful especially during the good season.
The historical center of Rome is very wide, there are so many building, fountains and churches to admire .In every corner you can discover something special where you can be carried away in that evocative atmosphere..!
We’re so happy you appreciated the well decorated room, the very comfortable bed, included the delicious rich breakfast.
Hoping to have you again in our Hotel San Anselmo for another trip in Rome, full of satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Recently returned from a short but fabulous break in Rome. Spent three enjoyable nights at this superb hotel. Fantastic staff, lovely air conditioned rooms and free wifi. It is situated in a quiet area close to beautiful churches and the fragrant Rose garden, not far from the Circo Massimo, Palatino and Colosseum.

Will definitely return for a longer visit and shall make a point of staying at this hotel.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Beautifully decorated they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your special words..we appreciated so much!
We are glad that you are very well informed about the location so close to the main archeological sites and about the place of our beautiful Hotel San Anselmo, located in a quiet and elegant area as Aventino hill.
All your trip was perfect included all the days spent in our Hotel San Anselmo; we are so happy that this is what has happened!
We’ll be waiting you for another special trip in the eternal city in our Hotel San Anselmo but next time for more days, not only three!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Amazing location, professional and very kind staff, mixed with an elegant and exclusive atmosphere make this special hotel your perfect choice for a dream holiday or unforgettable weekend.

We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ODC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your emotion. We are glad you had a great and unforgettable experience with us.

Thank you again for your visit and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The San Anselmo is a beautiful hotel in very quiet and peaceful area. Having read reviews prior to our visit we were concerned that the location might mean a long walk to the centre however we did not use buses/taxis at all and enjoyed walking to all the attractions we wished to visit. Many thanks for the prosecco and strawberries on our anniversary- very nice thought. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others visiting the city of Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Audrey,

thank you for have given us the pleasure to host you in our “Roman Villa” on the exclusive Aventino hill.

We appreciated you share your experience with us in our romantic city of Rome…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This was our third hotel on our mammoth honeymoon travels across Italy, which we are currently half way through . We spent four nights here, and on arrival staff had kindly provided us with strawberries and prosecco on arrival and my husband had organised A giant rose to surprise me. This was lovely! We had the golden room and before arriving staff response meant promptly to any questions.

Internet connection was brilliant and as everyone else has said the location is fabulous. Rome is a very, very, very busy city with lots of traffic, however sitting on our large balcony all you could here was bird song.

Breakfast was divine each morning (with scrambled eggs and bacon as well as a large range of continently breakfast choices) and we ordered it in our room one morning, at no extra charge, which felt so special, we are not ones to order 'room service' and this added to our honeymoon celebration. We ate it on the balcony. This is a lovely option.

Staff, as per everyone else's reviews, were always exceptional, professional and polite, we felt looked after. They printed off our vouchers (tickets to get into Vatican museums and the colosseum we bought online to avoid the queues) and sent them to our room.

The only downside I have to give to this hotel and the reason I did not give it 5 stars is because of the lack of storage space in the bathroom and the quality of the shower. Whilst I understand the rooms are small and there is nothing anyone can do about that , a corner shelving unit (perhaps above the toilet?) and hooks would not go amiss, we struggled to find somewhere for our bath bags and ended up balancing them on the bidet or putting things on the floor!. We also had problems with the shower unit (quite complex system of facets) we ended up only using the hand held shower head and the pressure was not the best. However these are only minor niggles but for the amount we paid for four nights I would not expect to have them. I would still recommend this hotel but sadly could not give it 5/5.

Re Rome
Lots of things to see, and 'tick off', however it is incredible busy with hordes of tour groups at this time of year and this spoiled things for us. There is lots to see here but not much 'to do', if you know what I mean. London and paris are better for this i must say. Traffic is a nightmare for pedestrians, drivers here do not stop for zebra crossings, and you have to take your chances and just cross and will them to stop. Best place we visited was Palatine Hill (we arrived around 4pm on a weekday and it was relatively quiet) and the Trastevere area for dinner which is only 15 mins from the hotel. This is a lively area with what seems like hundreds of restaurants, bars and small market stalls, we stumbled across a restaurant called Meridionale on via Dei Fienoroli , FANTASTIC FOOD, so good we returned again, it did not disappoint and was one of our highlights. Also wear sensible shoes (saw so many women in sexy heels, no idea how they managed to get anywhere, lol!) this city is made for walking, it can all be done on foot, perfect to take in the real Rome.

Hope this has helped, Enjoy your trip

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Zoe,
Thank you to have chosen our Hotel San Anselmo for your romantic trip in the “Eternal City”.
We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and that the Hotel and the service met your expectation.
I apologize that you could use properly the shower unit which, as you say is sophisticated and complicate to use.
Thank you for your suggestion about providing more storage space in the bathroom, which we will definitely take into considerations.
Your suggestions are so important for us.
We love to take care of our Guests and make their experience in Hotel San Anselmo a memorable stay!
We are looking forward to your next visit, maybe for your first wedding anniversary!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#93 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing